Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Does Wine Have Gluten In It?


  • Please log in to reply

18 replies to this topic

#16 mythreesuns

 
mythreesuns

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 204 posts
 

Posted 16 August 2006 - 04:28 PM

you can also make your own wine, too. we do that.

Or you can just stick to vodka and cranberry juice. :D
  • 0
Toni

Casein free since June 2006.
Gluten free since August 2006
Egg and Soy free since October 2006.

Diagnosis of IBS May 2006.
Diagnosis of Fibromyalgia September 2006.

Negative biopsy and blood tests.
EnterLab results:
Gluten intolerance
Egg intolerance
Soy intolerance
HLA-DQ 2,1 (Subtype 2,5) which means I have one celiac gene and one sensitivity gene.


Mother of three special boys. (and not just because of their dx's)

Married 13 years to a guy who wishes we weren't all so "special!"

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#17 jnclelland

 
jnclelland

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
 

Posted 16 August 2006 - 05:17 PM

you can also make your own wine, too. we do that.



Really? Sounds interesting, but it also sounds like more of a project than I'm likely to take on for as little as I drink it. But geez, with everything I can't eat when we go out, now I can't even order a glass of wine with my gluten/casein/soy-free dinner? Phooey.


Jeanne
  • 0

#18 lorka150

 
lorka150

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,476 posts
 

Posted 16 August 2006 - 05:18 PM

count your blessings, becuase one day, you won't be able to drink anything :)
unfortunately, that happened to me at a ripe, young age.

i still don't drink the casein/gluten free wine, but that way, my mom can when we make it. i can't have sulphites. or alcohol, in that case.
  • 0
Gluten-free, Vegan

#19 jnclelland

 
jnclelland

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
 

Posted 16 August 2006 - 06:54 PM

count your blessings, becuase one day, you won't be able to drink anything :)
unfortunately, that happened to me at a ripe, young age.

i still don't drink the casein/gluten free wine, but that way, my mom can when we make it. i can't have sulphites. or alcohol, in that case.



Well, alcohol's not exactly good for me, and I don't drink that much anyway (my dad is a pretty extreme alcoholic, and I've always been VERY careful not to go there), so it's not that big a deal, really. It's just One More Thing I Can't Have ™. And since I'm still adjusting to being soy-free, PLUS South-Beaching, my food world is starting to feel awfully restricted. I know it's worth it, and I'm feeling healthier than I ever have, but it sure does feel like a lot of effort sometimes!


Jeanne
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: