Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Australians And New Zealanders Hellooooooo :)


  • Please log in to reply

956 replies to this topic

#946 weluvgators

 
weluvgators

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 362 posts
 

Posted 30 September 2014 - 08:28 PM

My family has coeliac and gluten/wheat allergy.  I am suffering from an allergic reaction after exposure to someone who is using hairspray with wheat in it.  It seems the most obvious place to start - find a gluten/wheat free hairspray (found wheat in hairspray when I was trying to figure out what was causing my allergic reaction that is customary to my airborne gluten/wheat exposure - hairspray is from USA, but we are in Australia).  In addition, the accommodations are not spacious, and the hair spray is used in a bathroom that is close to eating and food preparation areas.  While not ideal, it will most likely be a common occurrence as we travel around in holiday accommodations.  I hope the coeliac society can broaden their vision in helping ALL people with gluten issues find safe and applicable information about living gluten free in Australia.

 

I just don't shop for hairspray (don't use it ever) and was hoping someone here could tell me a good gluten free brand to get - thanks!  Perhaps there is no gluten in hairspray here, but after my experiences looking at shampoos and conditioners here. . . I assumed that it would be common in hairspray here.


  • 0
My super silly red siren is my guiding light. She has been a tremendous lesson for me in how gluten affects different people in very different ways. She is a super duper silly girl that was simply born that way. I have no idea why I am so blessed to have her guidance.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#947 weluvgators

 
weluvgators

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 362 posts
 

Posted 01 October 2014 - 12:25 AM

It turned out to be pretty easy to find a gluten free hairspray here.  Most of the ones that I looked at (not that many, but a few) did not list gluten ingredients.  Bedhead (what family member had from USA, and it was available in the shop here) had wheat in it.


  • 0
My super silly red siren is my guiding light. She has been a tremendous lesson for me in how gluten affects different people in very different ways. She is a super duper silly girl that was simply born that way. I have no idea why I am so blessed to have her guidance.

#948 Saz

 
Saz

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 362 posts
 

Posted 05 October 2014 - 04:08 AM

Might have glutened myself. I bought some of the Jamie Oliver branded beef burgers from Woolworths. I checked the allergen statement when I bought them and it says soy and sulphates. After eating I realise breadcrumbs is listed as an ingredient, however in brackets next to that it only says contains soy. Nowhere else in the ingredients list does it list wheat/rye/barely/oats and I have checked the allergen statement again and the rest of the packaging and can't see any type of gluten or may contain gluten statement. 

 

What I want to know is that if the breadcrumbs are from wheat/gluten then at least legally,  they should be declaring this either in brackets next to it or they should list wheat/gluten in the allergen statement? 


  • 0

#949 amber

 
amber

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 224 posts
 

Posted 05 October 2014 - 12:19 PM

That's quite strange. If it had gluten in it you would think they would have it in the contains statement.  I will go an have a look today when I am at the supermarket.  Maybe the breadcrumbs were made of soy if that is what it had in brackets.  Legally if a product contains an allergy causing ingredient such as wheat, milk, nuts, eggs etc. it must be listed.   Does it say gluten free on the packaging at all?  It if does say gluten free than you are fine as they are not allowed to state gluten free unless it is gluten-free. 


  • 0

#950 Saz

 
Saz

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 362 posts
 

Posted 05 October 2014 - 05:18 PM

It doesn't say gluten free. I haven't had a reaction but I'm not very sensitive so even if it was wheatcrumbs I might not react from just one. I am hoping you are right about them been made from soy!


  • 0

#951 Sammykins

 
Sammykins

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 39 posts
 

Posted 06 October 2014 - 04:06 PM

Might have glutened myself. I bought some of the Jamie Oliver branded beef burgers from Woolworths. I checked the allergen statement when I bought them and it says soy and sulphates. After eating I realise breadcrumbs is listed as an ingredient, however in brackets next to that it only says contains soy. Nowhere else in the ingredients list does it list wheat/rye/barely/oats and I have checked the allergen statement again and the rest of the packaging and can't see any type of gluten or may contain gluten statement.

What I want to know is that if the breadcrumbs are from wheat/gluten then at least legally, they should be declaring this either in brackets next to it or they should list wheat/gluten in the allergen statement?


I'm interested in knowing this too, so have sent a product enquiry to Woolworths.

Legally they are meant to declare any of the top allergens in the ingredients panel, which includes those containing gluten. Mistakes do happen, though. Woolworths has had a number in the past week: a stack of their Macro brand nut spreads were recalled due to a failure to declare potential traces of peanuts and tree nuts, and some beef mince was recalled as it contained food grade blue plastic!

I'll let you know how they respond.
  • 0

#952 Sammykins

 
Sammykins

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 39 posts
 

Posted 06 October 2014 - 04:07 PM

PS: What is the deal with alcoholic cider? Are they all gluten free or not? I'm reading conflicting things on the Internet... seems like barley etc. is sometimes added in the brewing process?
  • 0

#953 Sammykins

 
Sammykins

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 39 posts
 

Posted 07 October 2014 - 07:12 PM

I heard back from Woolies. The burgers are indeed gluten free.

"Thank you for contacting Woolworths with regards to the ingredients of the Jamie Oliver Beef Burgers Mexican Style.

I can advise you that this product does not contain gluten products and does not cross contact with any other ingredient that contains gluten."
  • 0

#954 Saz

 
Saz

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 362 posts
 

Posted 08 October 2014 - 12:24 AM

Thanks Sammykins! 

This makes happy as I found them really tasty. I've tried  and looked at a few other products in the range and noticed they seem to use rice flour  or non wheat/gluten based sauces in alot them (some have wheat, but they are clear). I wish more companies would do this, gives me more options and I'm sure no one will notice a gluten free taste.  I'm going to visit family this weekend and one night we are going to have a roast- they were shocked when I said to them they will need to buy a plain roast as most of the others have wheat in. They had assumed the prepared one would just have some herbs on them . 

Whenever I have bought something with breadcrumbs it is either labeled gluten-free on the front or they note in brackets they have used gluten-free ones, so I just wasn't sure with burgers.

 

I'm not sure about the cider as I thought all were ok. Tried to google, the sites I saw that had lists of gluten-free ciders or suggested some aren't seemed to be mostly from the US... So I wonder if it is something different in the brewing process there? I really don't know but I just thought it was interesting. 


  • 0

#955 Saz

 
Saz

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 362 posts
 

Posted 17 October 2014 - 04:01 AM

Me again. 

Just thought I'd let everyone know that Coles has expanded their own brand range. They now include wraps- someone bought these for me, I was a bit worried as they have that plastic look, but I found them really soft and tasty if heated slightly. They also didn't fall to bits, although I didn't stuff them. 

I also found rice noodle cups in beef and Mi goreng flavour. I've only tried the Mi goreng ones,  they are bit spicy, the flavouring tastes like the one from the noodles you buy in the Asian section with the red and yellow packaging. The noodles that Coles use are thick brown rice ones. Much nicer that the glass ones in the Fantastic version and they don't clump as much. 

The third thing I found is the most exciting for me. A box of individual packets of flavoured rice porridge! The flavours are vanilla, blueberry, honey. I haven't tried them yet. 

 

As much as I feel a bit sorry for some of the gluten-free companies that Coles has stopped stocking since bringing out there own range, I have to say that it is fast becoming one of my favourites. I really like the way they have some different things like Banana bread and quinoa cups. Even of the things they have that other companies do like sweet biscuits, I sometimes find I prefer Coles brand. All personal taste of course but makes me a happy little English Marmite. 


  • 0

#956 amber

 
amber

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 224 posts
 

Posted 17 October 2014 - 10:43 PM

Just warning you all that Cheezels are not longer gluten free by ingredient.    My daughter has eaten them for years with no problem as they were gluten free by ingredient.   They did have a may contain statement but we often buy products with a may contain and have had no negative reactions whatsoever.   Today I just happened to look at the ingredient listing on the Cheezels box which I haven't done for a long time and noticed it contains barley!   This is just wrong as there would be many people who don't check the ingredients each time they buy the product. Why would they change the formulation and add another allergy causing ingredient?  I am going to complain of course.  The lesson to be learnt here is to regularly check ingredients on products that were previously gluten free.


  • 0

#957 Saz

 
Saz

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 362 posts
 

Posted 18 October 2014 - 05:10 AM

I never realised that they were gluten-free by ingredient, I have avoided them for years thinking they have gluten in them. Obviously that is irrelevant now. I think that if a product has been free of an allergen and a company changes the recipe, I think they should have to put at least a new recipe sign on the front of the packet, regardless of it was advertised as free from or not.  I think I posted a while ago about weight watchers adding wheat to one of their frozen meals and me nearly eating it.

 

 If it is helpful Woolworths used to do a gluten-free cheese tubes, which were like cheezels, I haven't bought them in awhile but I'm failry sure they still do them. Also both Coles and Woolies under their own gluten-free brand have versions of Twisties in chicken and cheese flavour. 

 

I saw an ad for Natural chip company chips today that says they are gluten free- I think this might be new as I think I have checked packaging before only to find they contained gluten. 

 

On another note had a frustrating experience with someone recently who suggested we get a bbq chicken for dinner. I politely explained that I can not eat that due to the seasoning/basting. Their reply was "oh it will be fine, we can take the seasoning/basting off for you" Me: Unfortunately all the flavouring goes through, so it doesn't work like that. Them: But surely if you take off the seasoning it is ok? There won't be much gluten left? Me: No . What I really wanted to say was No it is not OK. If it was ok I would have said so, because I would actually really like to have a store bought bbq chicken.

 

I tried the coles Blueberry rice porridge this morning- I love it. Tomorrow I will try the honey one. I usually hate breakfast and have to force something down but between the porridge, gluten-free weetbix and Genius Pan Aui Chocolates I just might look forward to it, at least on the weekend. 


  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: