5 replies to this topic

#1 hjkmatthews

hjkmatthews

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 20 July 2004 - 03:43 PM

Hi everyone. Well, it has been 6 months since my daughter was dx with Celiac, and she has a check up with her GI doctor next Friday. I was just wondering if she will be having another endoscopic procedure and biopsy scheduled to determine whether or not the gluten-free diet is helping her intestines to heal. If it is normal to have a second biopsy, when and how often? Thanks for any info you have!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lisabarella

lisabarella

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 20 July 2004 - 08:34 PM

I have heard 6 months to a year for the 2nd one. I had the first July 18 03 and the second May 25th 04. It is helpful since they can see if the gluten free diet is working. I am not an expert, but that is what my dr advised.
Lisa
Lisa A. Barella, PhD
Reno, NV
Confirmed Celiac by biopsy - July 18th 2003
4 people in family with Celiac Disease (mom, two brothers, me)
lisabarella at hotmail dot com

#3 JsBaby_G

JsBaby_G

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 24 July 2004 - 01:58 PM

After my initial biopsy I had two more, one a year later and the other 2 years later. They just wanted to make sure I wasn't inadvertantly ingesting gluten.

Hope that helps!!
Crystal

#4 Guest_shar4_*

Guest_shar4_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 August 2004 - 09:26 AM

Hi all, I haven't been here in a while, but I had a 2nd biopsy yesterday, and I was told this morning that there are still findings of inflammation consistent with sprue. I was very disappointed, since I am as gluten free as I know how to be, but I am thinking that this still may be an improvement, since the first EGD showed a tremendous amount of damage. I was told at that time, that everything she touched with the instrument caused me to bleed.