Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Carnation Instant Breakfast


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Gluten Slayer

Gluten Slayer

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts

Posted 26 August 2006 - 08:24 AM

Does anyone know if these are gluten-free. It looks like the chocolate malt flavor gluten in it but what about the other flavors?
Thanks
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 SueC

SueC

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 160 posts

Posted 26 August 2006 - 09:43 AM

The only powder with gluten are chocolate malt and no sugar ones.
The ready mixed strawberry has barley extract, the others I think are ok.
  • 0
Sue

Diagnosed April 2005 via bloodwork and endoscopy

4 year old daughter diagnosed March 2006 via bloodwork and endoscopy
She was completely asymptomatic

4 year old also diagnosed with Graves disease Sept 2006

#3 VydorScope

VydorScope

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,364 posts

Posted 26 August 2006 - 11:07 AM

The only powder with gluten are chocolate malt and no sugar ones.
The ready mixed strawberry has barley extract, the others I think are ok.



Actaully the No Sugar ones are fine, we have some.

here is updated info from thier site...

7.Do NESTLÉ CARNATION INSTANT BREAKFAST products contain gluten?
The flavorings used in NESTLÉ CARNATION INSTANT BREAKFAST Ready-To-Drink contain barley extracts, which contribute less than 1 part per million of barley gluten in the final product. We have recently added a statement to the label indicating the existence of barley in these products. The products have not changed, but, as a service to our consumers, we chose to disclose all sources of gluten. The degree of sensitivity to gluten varies among individuals, please discuss with your physician if you have concerns.
For our Powders, the only variety containing gluten is Classic Chocolate Malt, which has wheat flour and barley extracts. All other Powder varieties do not contain gluten.



So stay away form the ready to drink and Classic Chocolate Malt and you will be fine. :)
  • 0

- Vincent -


#4 Gluten Slayer

Gluten Slayer

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts

Posted 26 August 2006 - 12:35 PM

Thank you so much!
  • 0

#5 tiffjake

tiffjake

    Life is good....

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 800 posts

Posted 26 August 2006 - 12:43 PM

I have the Rich Milk Choc ones all the time, love em!
  • 0
EnteroLab test positive for gluten intolerence and 2 gluten intolerence and celiac genes
DQ2 and DQ3 sub type DQ7 in December 2005
Gluten-free since Enterolab test, December 2, 2005.

Lame Advertisement Test positive for gluten intolerence in Sept 2005.
THEN found out that my fathers mother had nontropical sprue, she passed away at 40 from (stomach) cancer, had holes in her intestines when they caught it. I had no idea....

#6 SueC

SueC

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 160 posts

Posted 27 August 2006 - 07:57 AM

Clan Thompson's recent update included the no sugar ones along with the chocolate malt... <_< .
  • 0
Sue

Diagnosed April 2005 via bloodwork and endoscopy

4 year old daughter diagnosed March 2006 via bloodwork and endoscopy
She was completely asymptomatic

4 year old also diagnosed with Graves disease Sept 2006


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: