5 replies to this topic

#1 CindyK

CindyK

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 22 July 2004 - 06:38 AM

Hi There! I am new to the world of gluten intolerence and to message boards. I am 35yo and have just had the gluten intolerence blood work. My results were psoitive for gluten intolerence and I have been gluten-free for two weeks. I feel so much better. I could go on and on about that but I'd be preaching to the choir! I am wondering if I really must have the biopsy? My PCP who did the blood work has not even mentioned it. She simply told me to avoid gluten. I have to say I have had symptoms for as long as I can remember. I have had an IBS diagnosis since I was a teen. I was diagnosed with Hypothyroid this year. I bring that up because I was suprised to learn there is a relationship between thyroid idease and Celiac. Anyhow, I really don't want to have the biopsy. I had a colonoscopy 6 years ago and don't want to do anything like that agian unless I really, really have to. Any suggestions?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 catfish

catfish

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts

Posted 22 July 2004 - 07:29 AM

Wow, your situation sounds exactly like mine two moths ago except for the thyroid and the fact that your PCP hasn't mentioned the biopsy yet.