Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Silk Soymilk: Gluten Free?
0

8 posts in this topic

Hi,

Does anyone know if Silk soymilk is gluten-free? The ingrediants list contains "Natural Flavorings".

A friend brought a dessert over today that she thought I could eat but there was "barley and wheat extract" in the description of the soymilk it contained. This led me to look at the ingredients on my own soymilk container.

Thanks for your replies.

Alex

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Silk products are gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep; Silk's gluten free. (My favorite is the unsweetened soy milk.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank goodness it is! I still love a bowl of cereal. I like the plain unsweetened Silk Soy milk in the red box. I tried other brands and they just didn't cut it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the ones that we have in our house say gluten free right on the carton

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Thanks, all.

Natural Flavorings is a confusing one. I guess sometimes its ok, sometimes not. Merely a red flag.

I looked it up too on their website:

Are Silk products okay for people with wheat and gluten allergies?

Much like those folks with dairy allergies, there are people who have a hypersensitivity to wheat or wheat products – like gluten. There is no wheat, wheat gluten, rye, oats, barley or malt in Silk Soymilk, Silk Live! Smoothies, Silk soy yogurt or Silk Creamer including the natural flavors.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thank goodness it is! I still love a bowl of cereal. I like the plain unsweetened Silk Soy milk in the red box. I tried other brands and they just didn't cut it.

The unsweetened silk is in a teal container. The red one is the plain flavor, but has been sweetened a bit. The teal boxed one has even less sugar.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Tarnal, I don't think I've seen the teal one at my Kroger, but I'll look this next shopping trip. I try not to eat too much sugar, so I'll have to try the unsweetened plain. I thought the red box was unsweetened, oops! My husband has even said he doesn't mind the soy milk for cereal, and he can drink milk with no problems... I've found since I am gluten free, if I dink more than a sip or two of regular cow's milk I get a tummy ache.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0