Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Cider Vinegar


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 HeatherMelissa

HeatherMelissa

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 22 July 2004 - 08:31 PM

apple cider vinger? That is all I seem to be able to find. I am just not sure if it is the same. And what do I need to look for when buying vinegar?

Thanks!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 flagbabyds

flagbabyds

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,345 posts

Posted 23 July 2004 - 04:51 PM

Just don't but Malt vinegar, that is the only one that is not gluten-free and also wheat vinegar isn't gluten-free, but cider vineagr and apple cider vinegar are the same(i think)
  • 0
Molly

#3 HeatherMelissa

HeatherMelissa

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 23 July 2004 - 07:19 PM

thanks! I figured out what vinegar was ok, and I went shopping again today and all I saw was apple cidear vinegar, so that's what I got!!
  • 0

#4 crc0622

crc0622

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 80 posts

Posted 24 July 2004 - 04:35 AM

What is your experience with balsamic? I had some Heinz balsamic vinegar on a salad the other day and then I read the Heinz gluten-free list and it wasn't on it. I had some tummy trouble and the vinegar was all I could figure it was (unless it was just the roughage from the greens). Anyone else tried it?
  • 0

#5 flagbabyds

flagbabyds

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,345 posts

Posted 24 July 2004 - 07:14 AM

I've always been fine with all balsamic vinegars
  • 0
Molly

#6 randbrod14

randbrod14

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 10 August 2004 - 02:04 AM

Balsamic vinegar and distilled vinegar are ok. If it just says vinegar then wheat could have been used in the distillation process. That particular ingredient would have to be checked out.
  • 0

#7 Boojca

Boojca

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 10 August 2004 - 05:34 AM

Also be ware of Apple Cider FLAVORED Vinegar (Heinz has this and clearly makes the distinction on their gluten-free list as the flavored vinegar is NOT gluten-free)

Bridget
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: