Jump to content





   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Are These Foods Okay To Eat?


  • Please log in to reply

7 replies to this topic

#1 Raditch

 
Raditch

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
 

Posted 23 July 2004 - 08:10 AM

My Mother was diagnosed with this disease a few weeks ago, and I'm trying
to help her determine what she can and can't eat. She love's to eat popcorn
but is not sure if it is allowed on the diet. Is microwavable popcorn okay?
Also, is shrimp okay, the ready-to-eat store bought variety?
Some of the books that I've looked at concerning the diet are rather
confusing and seem to contradict one another. Can you recommend
a really good book that covers the subject completely?
Thanks in advance, and forgive my ignorance --- I'm kind of caught
in the middle of this thing and still have a lot to learn.

Best.

Rad
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 j9n

 
j9n

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
 

Posted 23 July 2004 - 10:00 AM

There is another post here (maybe someone can help me find it?) that has a list of gluten free mainstream foods in a pdf file. I downloaded it to my palm and take it with me when I go shopping. It has helped alot.
  • 0

#3 Guest_jhmom_*

 
Guest_jhmom_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 23 July 2004 - 01:49 PM

Hi Rad, welcome to the board. It is very sweet that you are trying to help her cope and learn with this diet!

Here are a couple of gluten-free food list, I hope they are helpful to you:

gluten-free Food List

http://homepage.mac..../GFfoodlist.pdf - *you must have Adobe in order to view this link*

Here is a link that list all the safe and forbidden foods and ingredients:

http://www.celiac.co...-22104125868.dc

To answer your specific questions, yes most pop corn is ok (Pop Secret), fresh or frozen shrimp is ok, just check the seasonings you may add to it and the cocktail sauce.
  • 0

#4 crc0622

 
crc0622

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 80 posts
 

Posted 24 July 2004 - 04:32 AM

As for the shrimp seasonings -- I checked and Old Bay is okay (made by McCormicks) and of course you can easily make homemade cocktail sauce with Heinz ketchup, Lea & Perrins worchestershire, lemon juice (fresh preferably - or ReaLemon is gluten-free) and tons of horseradish if you're game for that! In my opinion, the more the better! :) We never buy sauce.
  • 0

#5 flagbabyds

 
flagbabyds

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,345 posts
 

Posted 24 July 2004 - 07:19 AM

Oriville Redenbacjers popcord is gluten-free
  • 0
Molly

#6 Raditch

 
Raditch

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
 

Posted 30 July 2004 - 08:03 AM

[SIZE=7]THANK YOU ALL FOR THE GREAT INFO -- WE ARE PUTTING IT TO GOOD USE !!!!

Best Regards,

RAD
  • 0

#7 Thomas

 
Thomas

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
 

Posted 30 July 2004 - 12:43 PM

Orvilled Redenbacher Ultimate theatre style with bar-b-q flavour is not gluten free... But all the other flavours are.-doublecheck with the company
  • 0

#8 Donna F

 
Donna F

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 222 posts
 

Posted 01 August 2004 - 06:03 AM

All Act II popcorn is also gluten-free. don't know if you have it in your area though.

The Celiac Sprue Association's gluten free product listing is another good reference for the names of manufacturers of gluten-free products. It lists the popcorns and all sorts of things from A-Z.

-donna
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: