Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Canned Tuna


  • Please log in to reply

36 replies to this topic

#16 GlutenFreeManna

 
GlutenFreeManna

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,887 posts
 

Posted 25 August 2010 - 02:32 PM

Just to clarify, because I'm confused: I thought that mustard was considered NOT safe for celiacs? My jar of Kraft Miracle Whip has mustard in it. :unsure:


This is a really old thread from 2006, but are you talking about mustard the spice or mustard the condiment? Either one *could* have gluten but most are safe. I have seen a mustard powder (spice) mentioned here that had gluten (the brand name eludes me right now) and I have seen people post that their mustard condiments contained wheat. However, most of the mustard I have found is safe. I use mustard (in both forms) in my homemade dressings. As far as the Miracle Whip goes, Kraft has a stated policy that they will not hide any form of gluten on the label so if you don't see wheat, barley, rye or malt on a Kraft product it's likely gluten free.
  • 0
A simple meal with love is better than a feast where there is hatred. Proverbs 15:17 (CEV)

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#17 Cheryl_C

 
Cheryl_C

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
 

Posted 25 August 2010 - 03:06 PM

This is a really old thread from 2006, but are you talking about mustard the spice or mustard the condiment? Either one *could* have gluten but most are safe. I have seen a mustard powder (spice) mentioned here that had gluten (the brand name eludes me right now) and I have seen people post that their mustard condiments contained wheat. However, most of the mustard I have found is safe. I use mustard (in both forms) in my homemade dressings. As far as the Miracle Whip goes, Kraft has a stated policy that they will not hide any form of gluten on the label so if you don't see wheat, barley, rye or malt on a Kraft product it's likely gluten free.


I meant either one. I was under the impression that mustard, period, contained gluten. I wish I could find the website where I read that, as it was a while ago and is no longer in my history. I've been avoiding things with mustard in them (like Heinz original baked beans, honey mustard, mayo, etc etc) because I thought they weren't safe.

Just when I thought I was finally getting everything figured out :blink:
  • 0

#18 Skylark

 
Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts
 

Posted 25 August 2010 - 03:31 PM

When "mustard" is listed on an ingredient list in something like mayo, they mean ground mustard seed. It's a spice, with no gluten. If you buy a bottle of yellow mustard or honey mustard for sandwiches or hot dogs, you do need to check all the rest of the ingredients because sometimes they do have gluten (usually flour for texture).
  • 0

#19 Cheryl_C

 
Cheryl_C

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
 

Posted 25 August 2010 - 03:33 PM

When "mustard" is listed on an ingredient list in something like mayo, they mean ground mustard seed. It's a spice, with no gluten. If you buy a bottle of yellow mustard or honey mustard for sandwiches or hot dogs, you do need to check all the rest of the ingredients because sometimes they do have gluten (usually flour for texture).


Skylark,
Thank you for the clarification. So for something like mayo or baked beans, the mustard included in the ingredients is ok, but I have to check yellow mustard/honey mustard for wheat? wheat starch?
  • 0

#20 Cheryl_C

 
Cheryl_C

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
 

Posted 25 August 2010 - 03:47 PM

Skylark,
Thank you for the clarification. So for something like mayo or baked beans, the mustard included in the ingredients is ok, but I have to check yellow mustard/honey mustard for wheat? wheat starch?


To follow up on my last post...I went to the Heinz website and found a list of ALL their products that are gluten-free in Canada. I have to say, they have the absolute best website I've seen. It's so organized and clear!

Anyway, I guess I misunderstood what I originally read about mustard!

Also, French's claims all their mustards are gluten-free, so that's good as well. I checked my Kraft Miracle Whip again and did not see anything at all pertaining to anything gluten-y so that appears to be safe as well.

Whew! Thanks everyone for the help, sorry to hijack a thread!
  • 0

#21 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,049 posts
 

Posted 25 August 2010 - 04:47 PM

This old worry is about vinegar.

Prepared mustard (the yellow stuff in a jar or squeeze bottle) usually has vinegar. Unless it is malt vinegar, the vinegar is gluten-free. I have never seen a prepared mustard with malt vinegar. Vinegar was once thought to be unsafe for celiacs (affecting almost every condiment imaginable), but we have known for years that vinegar is safe, except for malt vinegar, which will always be labeled as "malt vinegar."

When mustard is an ingredient in a product, it is, as previously stated, ground mustard seed which is definitely gluten-free.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#22 Skylark

 
Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts
 

Posted 26 August 2010 - 11:08 AM

Thanks for the info about vinegar and the old gluten-free lists. I wanted to add that I have seen wheat flour occasionally in specialty gourmet mustard. It's just a case of "read the label". :)
  • 0

#23 T.H.

 
T.H.

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,816 posts
 

Posted 26 August 2010 - 06:56 PM

Vinegar was once thought to be unsafe for celiacs (affecting almost every condiment imaginable), but we have known for years that vinegar is safe, except for malt vinegar, which will always be labeled as "malt vinegar."


I must admit, I had known too many people who have reacted to vinegar to feel safe with it. NOT because of the processing, however - I am aware that it has been determined that the processing involved in making vinegar eliminates the gluten. As I understand it, that was the original worry, wasn't it? That the processing might not remove all gluten?

But it seems to me that if you have a facility that is using wheat to make its product, then that means that it contains the same risk that any other company has if it makes a gluten free product in a gluten filled environment: contamination. I think that's a risk that seems to get ignored. Probably it seems less of an issue amidst the frustration of scientists trying to educate someone on what the science behind vinegar actually is.

I'm sure some companies do a much better job of keeping their vinegar gluten free and eliminating potential contamination situations, of course. But I'm pretty sure some don't do such a stellar job, either, especially when they are not trying to get a gluten free label for their product.
  • 0

T.H.

Gluten free since August 10, 2009.
21 years with undiagnosed Celiac Disease

23 years with undiagnosed sulfite sensitivity

25 years with undiagnosed mast cell activation disorder (MCAD) 

 

Daughter: celiac and MCAD positive

Son: gluten intolerant
Father, brother: celiac positive


#24 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,049 posts
 

Posted 26 August 2010 - 07:31 PM

Of course, many companies make many products, and some of them contain wheat.

When evaluating the risk, consider these factors.

Do you allow any products which contain gluten anywhere in your home? If you do, then your home is a "shared facility."

Do you have specially designated cutlery and plates, and a separate dishwasher for them? If not, then you have lots of "shared equipment."

Do you ever eat at a restaurant? If so, it is a shared facility with shared equipment.

Decide for yourself what risks you will take. If I have an adverse reaction to a food, I stop eating it. If not, I realize that I take "shared" risks on a frequent basis.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#25 Cheryl_C

 
Cheryl_C

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
 

Posted 27 August 2010 - 07:28 AM

This old worry is about vinegar.

Prepared mustard (the yellow stuff in a jar or squeeze bottle) usually has vinegar. Unless it is malt vinegar, the vinegar is gluten-free. I have never seen a prepared mustard with malt vinegar. Vinegar was once thought to be unsafe for celiacs (affecting almost every condiment imaginable), but we have known for years that vinegar is safe, except for malt vinegar, which will always be labeled as "malt vinegar."

When mustard is an ingredient in a product, it is, as previously stated, ground mustard seed which is definitely gluten-free.


Peter, thank you for clearing this up. I was so confused and really missing mustard :( Is mustard seed, in its natural state (not ground) also gluten-free?
  • 0

#26 Skylark

 
Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts
 

Posted 27 August 2010 - 10:47 AM

Peter, thank you for clearing this up. I was so confused and really missing mustard :( Is mustard seed, in its natural state (not ground) also gluten-free?

Mustard seed in its natural state is gluten-free. Mustard plant is in the crucifer family, along with broccoli and cabbage. The seeds are totally unrelated to wheat, or even other grains. If you run across them, mustard greens are also safe.
  • 0

#27 Cheryl_C

 
Cheryl_C

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
 

Posted 27 August 2010 - 11:39 AM

Mustard seed in its natural state is gluten-free. Mustard plant is in the crucifer family, along with broccoli and cabbage. The seeds are totally unrelated to wheat, or even other grains. If you run across them, mustard greens are also safe.


Thank you Skylark! I love this place, you guys are so WISE and helpful for us greenhorns :P
  • 0

#28 MelindaLee

 
MelindaLee

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 375 posts
 

Posted 14 September 2010 - 05:51 PM

I vaguely remember seeing someone on this board complain about the vegetable broth in canned tuna. I can't remember if it was because of the soy, or if there is actually soy sauce in the vegetable broth? I guess we need to check with the manufacturer....sigh :angry:



I just read that one, too. They were talking about Starkist Tuna. I think the conclusion was that Soy was the concern, with multiple sensitivities. I was looking closely as I think I glutened myself the other day and was trying to figure out where I went wrong. Glad to know I can still safely have my tuna. (Unless my problem was acutally soy, which both the mayo and the tuna have <_< )
  • 0

#29 gfquestion

 
gfquestion

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
 

Posted 17 October 2010 - 07:07 AM

I ate some store brand tuna and got very sick to my stomach - how can I know for certain if the tuna is gluten free. What exact name brands only have water and salt in them. I'm trying hard but seem to eat something that is contaminated with wheat at least once a week - my stomach seems to be getting more atuned or sensitive the more I am on this diet.



I had the same reaction, I think it is from the soy in the broth. I don't really eat soy usually, so I was not aware that this was a problem, but I am sure considering it now.
  • 0

#30 CamaroGirl

 
CamaroGirl

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 16 May 2014 - 06:47 AM

I tried eating Starkist and Bumblebee, but I can't. It makes me sick. I decided to find out why.i looked up the ingredient I wasn't sure I could have. Soy. It turns out, soy grows in rotation with wheat crops. The farmers also use the same combine for the wheat and soy crops. Therefore, the soy is being contaminated before it ever even gets packaged. So I haven't found a single canned tuna that does not have soy in it. I'm also trying to stay safe and eat only what says "Gluten Free" on the package.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: