Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Multivitamin That's Gluten-free, Dairy-free And Soy-free?
0

20 posts in this topic

I need a multivitamin, which used to be such an easy thing to find but now that I've learned I shouldn't be eating soy or casein in addition to gluten - Yikes! Is there such a thing as a gluten-free, CF, soy-free multi?

EDITED to add: While I"m at it, I also need to find a calcium citrate / magnesium supplement...

Thanks for your help :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
http://www.freedavitamins.com/ I would call to ck, but Freeda sells an SCD vitamin which should be free of what you listed.
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
http://www.freedavitamins.com/ I would call to ck, but Freeda sells an SCD vitamin which should be free of what you listed.

Thanks so much - And they're vegetarian and kosher! Wow. I will definitely bookmark that site.

They don't claim to be soy-free but two out of three ain't bad (for now). I'll contact them to see if they actually use soy ingredients in the multi.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm also soy, dairy, and gluten free, and I use GNC's Solo Day (a multivitamin) without any problems and have for months. Plus, it's only about $6/bottle; GNC's website will tell you what the vitamins are free of, too, if you want to check out other ones.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I take Yummi Bears multi-vitamins. They are the only vitamin I've found that don't give me a stomach ache. They are free of: yeast, wheat, milk, egg, soy, gluten and salt. You can buy them at drugstore.com.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




most vitamins I've checked out tend to be gluten and dairy free... soy is more what you have to watch out for out of the 3 foods you listed... anything with vitamin E (either a vitamin or food) I'd check with the company to make sure it is not derived from soy...

I have a multi-vitamin from Pure that is free of gluten, casein, and soy... as for cal-mg, there's a calcium-mg citrate powder from Thorne that is free of the above as well..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In case anyone is interested, I just verified that Freeda's vitamins are all soy-free!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
In case anyone is interested, I just verified that Freeda's vitamins are all soy-free!

Nice! I figured they probably were... very allergy-friendly brand :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the info on Freeda. I've been taking their prenatal but since I'm eating meat now, figured it was too much iron now. I was looking for something else but maybe I'll just go with another of their products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, check out the hypoallergenic vitamins on www.kirkmanlabs.com. Even I can take them!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I LOVE Freeda vitamins! I am taking their prenatal because I was low iron, but I also take their CoQ10 and their sublingual B12. My dietician gave me an entire PACKAGE of information about them . . . she recommends them because they are free of so many irritants. I have had no trouble with them whatsoever . . . also, they're having a 20% off sale because of their anniversary year, I think . . . . I also had a coupon that was in my packet for $5.00 off, I believe. Ask them about any specials they are having. They are great to work with, as well.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think that the reason many people are unsure about ingredients in vitamins (gluten, soy, etc.) is because only until recently did vitamin manufacturers provide that info. For example, my husband and I used GNC brand and in 2004 we asked a GNC store manager and called GNC to find out if they were gluten-free and of course we got the "we can't guarantee cross contamination - we do not know if the individual ingredients, which we buy from others, isn't gluten-free" statement.

Hence we stopped buying GNC and purchased Freeda from then on.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have you looked into "NATURE MADE" vitamins?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://www.freedavitamins.com/ I would call to ck, but Freeda sells an SCD vitamin which should be free of what you listed.

Can't thank you enough for posting this information!!! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

\

Have you looked into "NATURE MADE" vitamins?

Hi... I would like to share a website with everyone that I found to be extremely helpful. The vitamins and supplements are free of everything. No gluten, no binders, fillers, and the best form of b12 (methylcobalamin). I have purchased the Emerald Labs supplements from this website with great satisfaction. I have found I am allergic to so many things every other brand I've tried in the past year has failed until I found this one. Happy to pass on the information.

https://www.shopnaturalproducts.com/index.php?route=common/home

Songbird

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For anyone looking at Freeda vitamins, many are NOT soy and corn free. I used this thread to find the information, but after a wicked reaction to the vitamins, I contacted Freeda directly. Many of their vitamins are made with soy and corn, though they state the manufacturing process rremoves most of it.

But they do state if you are intolerant or allergic, you may have a reaction to many of their vitamins.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For anyone looking at Freeda vitamins, many are NOT soy and corn free. I used this thread to find the information, but after a wicked reaction to the vitamins, I contacted Freeda directly. Many of their vitamins are made with soy and corn, though they state the manufacturing process rremoves most of it.

But they do state if you are intolerant or allergic, you may have a reaction to many of their vitamins.

 

Generalbrock,

 

Unfortunately you used information that was from 2006.  Companies change formulas all the time.  In the Celiac/Intolerant World you have to read each label every time.   Hope you find some vitamins that work for you.

 

Colleen

 

 

 

 

 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I take Vitafusion gummy vitamins. They're very specific in their labeling: "Contains no wheat (gluten), milk eggs peanuts, shellfish, or soy. The facility that manufactures this product also produces products that contain soy."

 

I take a multivitamin and a calcium-with-D. They also have a B complex, a B12, a C, a D without calcium, prenatal, mens' and womens' specific multis, and several other types.

 

The store-brand knockoffs of these that they sell a lot of places (I've seen variations on them at Meijer, Wegman's, and Target) have the same label, and appear to be exactly the same product in a different bottle, usually a few dollars cheaper. You can also get them online.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,636
    • Total Posts
      921,533
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Did your doctor check for SIBO, H. pylori, ulcers, etc. when he was obtaining biopsies to check for celiac disease?  
    • Oh, and as I mentioned in my own post on pain, xanax. I swear. I tried it just to deal with the occasional panic I had at weird scary symptoms and clueless doctors. I am not a fan of long term use. But I recently found that .25 mg seems to aid with the neuropathic pain. It does not go away, but it helps. 
    • It does sound like a Glutening and you are just a few months into the diet.  It might help if you read our Newbie 101 thread under the "Coping" section.   Here is some information about rice milk: https://www.verywell.com/is-rice-dream-gluten-free-562354 Many, many celiacs are often lactose intolerant temorarily or permanently if you are naturally genetically inclined.  When I am glutened, I lose the ability to digest lactose for a while.   Salad?  Great but it can be rough on a sore gut!  Think soups, stews, easy-to-digest foods that you prepare yourself until you feel better.  Did your folks give you salad after a bout of flu?  Or did you stick with jello and broth?  I am intolerant still after three years to garlic and onions (the lactose resolved, thankfully).  You have a leaky gut (Google zonulin and Dr. Fasano who is a leading celiac researcher to verify that this is true) and that means you can become intolerant to anything (hopefully, just temporarily).   If you are 100% sure that you have had no access to gluten....did you eat out lately?.....then see your doctor.  Remember, celiac disease symptoms can change.  And here is the biggie.....it can take weeks, months or years to heal from celiac disease.  Two months in is nothing, really.  Why?  It takes time to figure out the diet and time for antibodies to come down.  celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder triggerEd by gluten.  once triggered it can go on and on damaging your gut especially with repeated glutenings (accidental or through cross contamination). I hope you feel better soon!  
    • I concur! I literally feel your pain as well. Like, at the moment, lol. Did you have an endo to see inflammation or damage? I am close to begging my GI for carafate or something to coat and protect. How about testing your antibodies to see if they are still rising? I read somewhere here rice milk may not be a good option.  Folks here have also suggested to me to stick with whole foods. Limit processed. Especially stuff that is not certified gluten-free, like chex. I think small amounts of gluten are in processed foids and can add up. I too reacted to lettuce the other day like I was ingesting glass. My sibling  had a food sensitivity panel done and it came back positive for a few things he had been eating a lot of. He can now eat them, but had to cut them out of his diet. Lettuce is probably on mine.  I have been drinking carrot and pomegranate juice,  dandelion root tea with hiney, aloe water, lots of squash, fish. Mild, no garlic, no onions or hot sauce. No coffee. It sucks.  Inflammation can tick off other organs, you mention a "Pain below". Not exactly sure which side, but certainly call your doc Monday. Sooner if the pain increases.
    • You should see a GI specialist before you go gluten free.  They should do a upper endoscopy to check for celiac damage.  Colonoscopy won't show anything related to celiac.  Also no you should not feel worse on gluten free, you should feel better.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,639
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    NickyW_UK
    Joined