Posted 19 January 2004 - 08:09 PM
I'm wondering if the Forbidden List has in mind, however, not the Kal brand, but the Brewer's Yeast that is a by-product of the brewing process--that certainly
would have gluten--and not what one is most likely to find today in health food stores. It is confusing for manufacturers to call this yeast a brewer's yeast when it is usually made from sugar beets grown for this purpose. (I suppose they don't want to lose "brand recognition" built up over time with the other name.) I don't know how they are able to get around the "truth in labeling laws." There must be a grandfather loophole here that allows this to happen.
I guess my concern is that I would not like to give up this food supplement since it is very rich in B vitamins, and good quality protein, both of which are needed in abundance by CDers, according to several posters on this board. Being self-diagnosed, and only two months gluten-free, and without a doctor--the way I like it--I depend on this board in making my decisions on what to do in handling my condition. I know I'm responsible for these decisions and that no one else on this board is-- no matter how knowledgeable they are (and so many of you are). In short, I trust this board, that is, the sum of information contained here (more than
I would any doctor), believing that the give and take on this board, with the sharing of experiences, will show me, as I do my daily read (much better than doing my daily bread, especially if not gluten-free)) how best to deal with my own condition. I'm hopeful. The board, which means all of you, have already made a difference on how I am feeling. I know the improvements will continue. I am grateful to you all. --Aldo
Posted 19 January 2004 - 09:22 PM
I think you are right about the forbidden list referring to the brewer's yeast that is a by-product of the brewing industry. Primary-grown yeast (often called nutritional yeast) should be gluten-free unless a gluten-containing ingredient is added to the formulation. I personally use KAL brand yeasts, both fortified ("Vegetarian Support Formula"--for when I want lots of vitamins) and unfortified ("Imported"--for when I want lots of protein). I have not noticed any celiac disease-like reaction to them, although I will occasionally get a nasty but harmless hot flash from the large amount of niacin in the fortified yeast, if I get a little too much or if the mixture wasn't homogeneous enough (which of course, I can't tell by looking!).
My bet is that nutritional/brewer's yeast is considered a nutritional supplement, rather than a food, and so is unregulated and not subject to any "truth in labeling laws" at all! I think it's excellent stuff, though, for anyone who can tolerate dietary yeast.
I'm glad to hear that you are feeling better, and gratified that we all have been instrumental in bringing this about. May you continue to improve daily!
gluten-free since November 1, 2003
Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:11 PM
I am brand new to all of this and had some questions about the KAL nutritional yeast also. I started eating it and did not have a RXN. I called them anyway just to check on the product and they said that the yeast may or may not be processed through the same machine as a gluten containing product ... but that they take the machine apart and clean it so thoroughly that they guarantee that it is gluten free.
I don't know about this... I mean there is always room for human error with cleaning so I don't know what to trust...
what does anyone think??
Posted 28 February 2008 - 03:30 PM
Now both my friend and I tried the Kal Nutritional yeast and both had adverse reactions... so I think that it is NOT gluten free
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users