Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Starbucks Confused?
0

29 posts in this topic

I've read plenty of times that the only non-gluten-free drinks at Starbucks are:

"Any frappachino with "chips" (Java Chip and Double Chocolate Chip)

Vanilla Bean Cream

All other beverages are gluten free (as long as they don't have any of the "chips"). "

BUT...how do we know they don't look for the not so obvious things? Like malt, barley, flavorings (do they talk to their sources? As in the people they get ingredients from),...anything else I've not thought of...

Sorry, I'm just really paranoid, obviously. I hate getting sick, but I really want a NF Iced Vanilla Latte! I'd like for them to just send me the ingredients, but I read that they don't do that because they change their list all the time...which isn't a good thing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
I've read plenty of times that the only non-gluten-free drinks at Starbucks are:

"Any frappachino with "chips" (Java Chip and Double Chocolate Chip)

Vanilla Bean Cream

All other beverages are gluten free (as long as they don't have any of the "chips"). "

BUT...how do we know they don't look for the not so obvious things? Like malt, barley, flavorings (do they talk to their sources? As in the people they get ingredients from),...anything else I've not thought of...

Sorry, I'm just really paranoid, obviously. I hate getting sick, but I really want a NF Iced Vanilla Latte! I'd like for them to just send me the ingredients, but I read that they don't do that because they change their list all the time...which isn't a good thing.

Yummy...I love the sugar free iced vanilla skim latte.......ah big breath!!! thats alot to say for one little drink huh? Seriously though I would also like to know about the syrups they use..... ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to the Clan Thompson foodlist, Starbick blended frappucinos are gluten-free, with the exception of java chip, malt and vanilla bean. Their cappucino is gluten-free and their latte's, excluding gingerbread latte. I had a pumpkin latte a few weeks ago and have been dreaming of another one ever since. Hope this helps.

Kate

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can read their syrup bottles right in the store, I have. I've also had the syrups with no problem. The vanilla latte is just espresso, syrup and steamed milk. It's fine.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's difficult to ever be 100 percent certain, but I think you can assume they HAVE thought about malt etc. Your best indication is that lots of people with celiac drink their stuff.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




i have drunk lattees there on several occasions and never had a problem. all their syrups and stuff are supposed to be specifically gluten-free, so i think you have to worry about starbucks a lot less then other places. i think it's great, you don't have to worry about drinking stuff there, i say don't deprive yourself :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't have dairy in addition to the gluten so have to be very careful. I get soy lattes, and feel comfortable doing so and have never been sick from them. They use Silk Vanilla Soymilk which is gluten-free, and I see the bottle of the sugar-free syrups they use, so know those are gluten-free as well. By-the-way, I DO always watch them make my drink and which cartons/containers, etc. they pick up just in case.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
According to the Clan Thompson foodlist, Starbick blended frappucinos are gluten-free, with the exception of java chip, malt and vanilla bean. Their cappucino is gluten-free and their latte's, excluding gingerbread latte. I had a pumpkin latte a few weeks ago and have been dreaming of another one ever since. Hope this helps.

Kate

really?? The gingerbread isn't gluten-free???

:(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
really?? The gingerbread isn't gluten-free???

:(

I would double check. Someone along the lines may be making an assumption. They use the same syrup for the gingerbread as they do for the other lattes. If you like it, I'd definately research it better.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

just don't make the mistake I made... I drank the Double Chocolate Chip fraps. everyday for a week before I realized they had gluten in them! Dumb on my part.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I would double check. Someone along the lines may be making an assumption. They use the same syrup for the gingerbread as they do for the other lattes. If you like it, I'd definately research it better.

I definitely will - that one is my absolute fav - look forward to it every year!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I love Starbucks I have a toffeenut white mocha everyday... The vanilla is fine most of the syrups are as well. Anything blended I do not drink... I do check anything before I try it. You can ask to see the ingredients. They should be really cool about it.

I've read plenty of times that the only non-gluten-free drinks at Starbucks are:

"Any frappachino with "chips" (Java Chip and Double Chocolate Chip)

Vanilla Bean Cream

All other beverages are gluten free (as long as they don't have any of the "chips"). "

BUT...how do we know they don't look for the not so obvious things? Like malt, barley, flavorings (do they talk to their sources? As in the people they get ingredients from),...anything else I've not thought of...

Sorry, I'm just really paranoid, obviously. I hate getting sick, but I really want a NF Iced Vanilla Latte! I'd like for them to just send me the ingredients, but I read that they don't do that because they change their list all the time...which isn't a good thing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I get a NF Vanilla Latte (iced! yum) every morning, and haven't gotten sick. When I called they told me that one was gluten-free

does anyone know about their drinks in the cans/bottles? (like from the supermarket?)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
does anyone know about their drinks in the cans/bottles? (like from the supermarket?)

I need to know about this as well. :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yipes, I had read on here that ALL lattes are safe, then had a gingerbread one and was sick for a week....when I specifically search on gingerbread, there *were other warnings.

I've had no problems with the "grocery store" items, but when it's a new flavor, I just call the 1-800 and they've always known.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I never trust the chain cafes.

The only thing I have from there are the bottled drinks from other brands or americano.

By the looks of things, although the certain food & drinks do not contain gluten, they can ever so easily be cross contaminated by the looks of things.

Plus the ingredients are basically powders and chemicals of artificial kinds..you never know what is in them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got this from them:

Contain gluten:

Dulce De Leche

Frappuccino Chip

Graham Crunch Topping

International Bev chip

Malt

Pie Crust Topping

Shortbread Cookie Topping

Shortbread Syrup

Universal Beverage Chip

Universal Chocolate Chip

Eggnog

Vanilla Bean Powder

I have had the Cinnamon Dolce there a couple of times and it made me very nauseated. I asked about the ingredients in that and it seemed like it should be fine, however, so I'm not sure what caused the problem. But everything else I've had has been fine. I go there pretty often.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just had a caramel non-fat steamed milk, I am in agony and have gone up about 3 pant sizes!

About an hour ago I was just admiring how even though it is 'that time of the month', I was so non-bloated.

I don't know if it was cross contaminated or what, but it's killing me.

(I should mention I did also have a kahlua chocolate, but the ingredients on that were a-ok as far as I could tell)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Miss Christy: Gobbie say's it all really.

I never trust the chain cafes.

The only thing I have from there are the bottled drinks from other brands or americano.

By the looks of things, although the certain food & drinks do not contain gluten, they can ever so easily be cross contaminated by the looks of things.

Plus the ingredients are basically powders and chemicals of artificial kinds..you never know what is in them.

Do the same simple test as Starbuck's legal council....

If you get ill after what can you claim/sue for?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am a big fan of the Vanilla Rooibos herbal tea, and I asked Starbucks via email about it's gluten free status, due to it being from an African bush. I received a response very quickly.

Thank you for your interest.

Yes, the Vanilla Rooibos Loose Leaf Herbal Tea by Tazo Tea is gluten free.

If we can be of any further assistance, please reply to this email, or call us toll-free at (800) 571-7289. For callers outside of the US and Canada, please call (310) 450-3270. Our Customer Service hours are Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. PT, Saturday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. PT.

Chelsia

Customer Service

StarbucksStore.com

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I get an Awake Tea Latte a couple of times a week, at least. Nary a problem :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Restaurants are required by law to provide you with an ingredient list if requested. They can't say no in the actual store. Go to starbucks and ask for an ingredient list for the latte you want.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since we are on the topic of Starbucks....Does anyone get light headed or dizzy from any of their drinks? Everytime I get a decaf white chocolate mocha with soy milk, I get the dizzies and light headed. I stopped drinking regular coffee as it gave me the D, but no dizzies or light headed with the same drink only caffinated. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wonder if the caramel syrup is coloured? Doesn't caramel colour have gluten?

I had a white mocha steamed milk and didn't have a reaction.

This is all so overwhelming! Even after talking to a chef I got sick, pretty sure it was via cross-contact, but he said his girlfriend has celiac's so how the hell do they do that? Found out after that pizza is their specialty :rolleyes: , maybe I'm more sensitive then I first thought...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To the original poster...don't feel bad about being paranoid. That's how one has to be if they wanna stay gluten-free! I'm definitely on the paranoid side with this diet too. It's like, every unknown food is a potential bomb in my digestive system. Don't want that...high alert!

Anyway I drink the coffee and mocha frappucino's fine. I never ask them to clean the blender or any of that. I do try to keep on eye on when they blend (and they do usually rinse etc.)

I also drink the hot chocolate fine. But due to my paranoia, I ask for it without whip cream although I think that's safe too. Eh, not worth the risk.

Oh to answer another question...and I've drank (drunk? drunken?) those bottles you get in grocery stores before (again, only coffee and mocha) and have been fine.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,358
    • Total Posts
      920,531
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Here's another thing.  Feeling deprived?  Order two of the same item.  I was hungry by the time dinner arrived! 
    • The doctors just made me feel like I was crazy because they did not have a clue of what was wrong with me. I did a stool test (positive) and I did a genes test (positive for two gluten sensitive genes, one in each chromosome).  Blood test are not so foolproof, if you read the comments/experiences in such topic you will see the problems. Biopsy can give a false negative if taken from an undamaged area. If you have medical problems that go away once on a gluten free diet then gluten is the problem. The medical establishment profit from managing your medical problems and big pharma makes money by pushing pills so we need to be careful because they won't benefit if a gluten-free diet solve your problems. Since I started a Gluten free diet I have been free of the following: (all related to Celiac)  Irregularity, Intestinal noise, Irregular stool, Tooth enamel defects, Rash in upper arms, Abdominal swelling, depression, fatigue, irritability, lactose intolerance, 
      loss of memory, dandruff, uncontrollable bladder, suicidal thoughts, unable to sleep, Canker sores/ Mouth ulcers, high blood pressure, and probably others that I did not realize. I was at the end of my rope, thanks to Google and the people that are able to talk about this I was able to get my life back. I am passionate about this because I know how bad its can get. 
    • Well, I have never cruised on Carnival, but I am sure they can accommodate you.  I assume that you have already alerted them that you require gluten free meals.  If not, please contact Carnival immediately. Here are my own tips.  Some folks eat off the buffet line, but not me or hubby except for coffee/drinks and baked potatoes (jacketed) and fruit that we wash in the restroom (people touch everything!)  Okay, I am OCD, but my last glutening which occurred the previous summer made me sick for three months (GI tested my antibodies to prove it).   When we board, I go to the buffet restaurant ASAP and ask to speak to the Head Waiter (they are usually there greeting customers and often trying to up sell to specialty restaurants.   Let them know you have celiac disease and must be gluten free.  They may try to tell you that each dish is clearly marked gluten free, but really?  Who's to say that some other passenger is not going to switch spoons (or I have seen passengers wandering around with serving spoons...I kid you not!  The staff usually will  go downstairs and fetch a gluten free meal for me from the main dining room's kitchen as there is usually a dedicated area for allergies.  We have to wait up to 20 minutes or so but it is worth it.  Starving?  Get a baked potato wrapped in foil until your gluten-free meal arrives.  Now, do not do this every single time.  Those folks have to go down several levels to fetch food and you don't want to be a pain.  But if the main dining area is closed, they need to make an effort to keep you safe.  On our last cruise, we were advised not to eat anywhere but the main dining room and that included room service (they are not trained to handled allergies).  My headwaiters have sent goodies (prepackaged gluten free rolls and cookies for us to keep in our room.  We can always grab whole fruit (I wash it first) to snack on.  I bring gluten-free non-perishable items with me to eat while at port in case we can't find anything (which can be often).  Again, when we get back to our ship, we contact our headwaiter and he/she can prepare some snacks until we have dinner.   Be grateful and not picky.   We eat all meals in the dining room (or at least as much as possible).  Our headwaiter had a few other celiacs on our cruise this summer, so they prepared some gluten-free waffles, etc. for our breakfast!  What a treat!  At breakfast, we'd have different waiters, so our headwaiter would always instruct our waiters each and every time!  They even let me tour the kitchen and showed me the allergy section.   The only time I did not feel safe was at the buffet.  We once ordered gluten-free pizza and I realized (I watched) that that restaurant didn't really have the gluten-free thing down), do I called him on it.  Got the manager etc.  So, be careful.  Other cruises made us frozen Udi"s which was just fine with us.  They covered it up in foil so that we would not get any cross contamination from their pizza oven. So, have fun!   Tipping?  We prepaid our gratuities, but we gave our headwaiter an extra $200.00 for his time.  For us, it was well worth the service and safety of our food.  It does not hurt to slip some of the tip ahead of time (like after your first meal!)   Oh, I checked your ship.  You must eat in the diningroom if you have special dietary needs.
    • French Celiac / Coeliac Gluten Free Restaurant Card <strong>What is ... What to know about celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and gluten-free diets. View the full article
    • <strong>Celiac Disease & Gluten-free Diet Information at Celiac.com. Gluten Free Diabetes ::The 3 Step Trick that Reverses Diabetes Permanently in ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,432
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    rbeckler60
    Joined