This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Corn Sensitivity?

monicacpht3641

monicacpht3641 Rookie

I've been eating gluten free for about 4 months now, and have shown pretty major sensitivity. I got sick from the shampoo I was using because it contained wheat protein. (Of course I stopped using it) The last month or so, I've been having increasingly worse reactions from corn as well. My dad is a celiac, and can't eat fresh corn, although he can tolerate things like corn chips and corn tortillas fairly well. I assumed that eventually I might have problems with corn as well, so it wasn't a big suprise. Last night my husband and I made some fried chicken wings using a gluten free chicken mix, kin of like shake and bake. This morning I had a full blown reaction, the whole nausea, abdominal cramping, diarrhea, extreme tiredness, lack of concentration thing. I know to stay away from corn, but has anyone had problems with corn syrup if they're sensitive to corn flour, corn meal, corn starch, etc? My doctor wants me to go in for an allergy test, but I haven't had time to, as I work full time and go to school. I suppose I'll stay away from everything corn from now on.....

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Simply-V Newbie