17 replies to this topic

#1 pogirl1786

pogirl1786

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts

Posted 01 August 2004 - 06:55 AM

my church has gluten free wafers that i can take for communion, but i was wondering....if i dipped my gluten free wafer in the same juice as everyone else, wouldn't that get me some gluten? i don't know why i didn't think about it before, but i was wondering what anyone else did for communion...just not take anything, or what?
"It's not about the ending, it's about the journey."

"I don't care about the past, I believe in the power to reinvent yourself."

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 ravenwoodglass

ravenwoodglass

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,769 posts

Posted 01 August 2004 - 09:06 AM

I am not a expert by any means but I would not chance it. Perhaps youjr celebrant could bless a seperate small glass for the celiacs?
Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying
"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

celiac 49 years - Misdiagnosed for 45
Blood tested and repeatedly negative
Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002
Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis
All bold resoved or went into remission with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002
Some residual nerve damage remains as of 2006- this has continued to resolve after eliminating soy in 2007

Mother died of celiac related cancer at 56
Twin brother died as a result of autoimmune liver destruction at age 15

Children 2 with Ulcers, GERD, Depression, , 1 with DH, 1 with severe growth stunting (male adult 5 feet)both finally diagnosed Celiac through blood testing and 1 with endo 6 months after Mom