This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Coping With Celiac Disease Emotionally

Sissy

Sissy Rookie

Hi, I am a newbie on your board. I am anxiously waiting for my tests results to come back. I am having some problems with depression and coming to the realization that I have Celiac disease. I am almost positive that I do...I have had symtoms for several years and did not know what was wrong with me. My aunt lived with me when she was diagnosed in the '80s, but even with knowing what she went thru I just did not put it all together until a few weeks ago...I had been really sick for a few weeks...and one day I was having a really bad day running to the bathroom time after time and it hit me like a ton of bricks...I did not have the stomach flu, I did not have some weird exotic intestinal bacteria, I was not possessed, OMG, could it be Celiacs..why did I not realize this sooner. I should have put it all together much sooner I had all the yuckky symptoms...you know about your stools. Since my husband retired a few years ago we have gone on 2 or 3 cruises each year..about 3 or 4 days into a cruise after eating bread, bagels, pasta and desserts I would have to literally run to the bathroom after meals, I had horrible stomach distress, gas and I mean my tummy was blown up like a balloon from under my breasts all the way down, diarreah, and I felt exhausted. Normally I eat very little bread at home, pasta only occasionally and my dessert of choice is ice cream, so did not eat a gluten rich diet. I always thought the problems during the cruise was because I was in a different environment, drinking different water and eating rich foods an