Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Annatto
0

18 posts in this topic

I've heard many opinions on whether or not Annatto food coloring is gluten free. It's not on the forbidden list from this site, but it IS on the forbidden list my gastrointerologist gave me from the Celiac Disease Foundation. I was surprised that it was on one list and not the other, but it explained a lot since I have clearly reacted to it with my typical celiac disease symptoms. I looked into it further and found this:

"annatto color: A coloring agent derived from the seeds of the Achiote, also known as the Lipstick tree (Bixa orellana), it is often used in cheese but also in many other orange-colored foods. The seed itself is unlikely to contain any gluten, it is the processing of the seed into a colorant that causes concern as it appears to use alcohol in the process. There is also suspicion that caramel color may be included in the annatto colorant. Anecdotal evidence has some celiacs reacting to foods with annatto color in them but this may be a non-celiac reaction to the annatto itself."

Any comments on this? Has anyone else reacted to Annatto?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
I've heard many opinions on whether or not Annatto food coloring is gluten free. It's not on the forbidden list from this site, but it IS on the forbidden list my gastrointerologist gave me from the Celiac Disease Foundation. I was surprised that it was on one list and not the other, but it explained a lot since I have clearly reacted to it with my typical celiac disease symptoms. I looked into it further and found this:

"annatto color: A coloring agent derived from the seeds of the Achiote, also known as the Lipstick tree (Bixa orellana), it is often used in cheese but also in many other orange-colored foods. The seed itself is unlikely to contain any gluten, it is the processing of the seed into a colorant that causes concern as it appears to use alcohol in the process. There is also suspicion that caramel color may be included in the annatto colorant. Anecdotal evidence has some celiacs reacting to foods with annatto color in them but this may be a non-celiac reaction to the annatto itself."

Any comments on this? Has anyone else reacted to Annatto?

I'm new to this board and it's incredible how much I've already learned. I'm a US citizen but live in Mexico where they use "achiote" in many dishes. I thought my body responded badly to it but then again just chalked it up to maybe I didn't really like the flavor. Now seeing your post I'm convinced I probably was getting a signal from my gut that it did not agree with achiote/annatto.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have not reacted to Annato. I read the same conflicting evidence in the beginning and used to avoid annato, but I've found I don't have any issues with it, so I'm sticking with, it's ok!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Annatto is gluten-free. Without question.

I suspect your info came from CSA/USA, which for years put out bad information about ingredients based solely on guesses and suspicions. Read this part, "it is the processing of the seed into a colorant that causes concern as it appears to use alcohol in the process. There is also suspicion that caramel color may be included in the annatto colorant. Anecdotal evidence has some celiacs reacting to foods with annatto color in them but this may be a non-celiac reaction to the annatto itself."

Complete bunk.

It "appears" to use alcohol. They don't even know but just in case they'll scare you. And what if it does use alcohol? The alcohol is likely not from wheat and is distilled anyway.

"There is also suspicion that caramel color may be included in the annatto colorant." SUSPICION???? Well why didn't they find out before trying to frighten people. Caramel color in the U.S. (and probably pretty much the rest of the world) is gluten-free anyway.

And I won't even go into the anecdotal evidence sentence. Awful.

I'm sure CSA/USA did some good over the years, but their complete hysteria about certain ingredients has also done a lot of harm. I don't know that they actually still hand out this bad information, but others do, including doctors. You need to educate your physician.

Phew. Off my podium now.

Note that this harangue was NOT directed at rogue.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I actually do react to annatto and have avoided it since having a bad reaction

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




But I assume not a gluten reaction?

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i've been doing some deep investigating and the problem may lie in the oil soluble annatto:

i found that not only are there about 8 different kinds of annatto, but almost 100% of annatto coloring in the US is imported and extracted at the source- which means most of it is produced in peru and the carribbean regions. one of them is oil soluble annatto. to extract oil soluble annatto coloring, vegetable oils (sometimes containting mono and diglycerides) are used. oil soluble is used in products with a high oil content, like butter, margerine, etc. so it may be that water soluble annatto coloring (which uses soium or potassium hydroxide for extraction) may be okay, while oil soluble may not be.

my reactions have always seemingly been gluten reactions. they're fairly immediate and relative to how much i consume. i found out it was in my butter, and then realized why i was feeling ill after breakfast in the morning (i had been putting annatto-containing butter on my gluten free waffles) and why i had rampant diarrhea after i loaded something with butter that contained annatto. I'm fine with annatto-free butter.

the forbidden list that i received from my gastrointerologist came from the celiac disease foundation, not csa my gastro is the best doctor i've ever had and is completely brilliant- i doubt that he would consult with an organization that is anything less than he is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm very sensitive and don't eat many processed foods at all. One of the things I do eat are McCains 5 Minute Fries (yum)--they contain annatto, and I've never had a problem with them.

I do want to add that anyone can react to anything, so I'm not minimizing anyone's reactions--just relating my experience.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Many Celiacs react to annatto along with other ingredients. I reacted to annatto for at least a year on the gluten free diet. I can now tolerate it. We have questions about once a month about distilled vinegar too (gluten free, but a lot of Celiacs have problems with it) Keep a food journal to figure out what other ingredients you are sensitive to.

Thank you so much for sharing your information about annatto.

L.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've heard many opinions on whether or not Annatto food coloring is gluten free. It's not on the forbidden list from this site, but it IS on the forbidden list my gastrointerologist gave me from the Celiac Disease Foundation. I was surprised that it was on one list and not the other, but it explained a lot since I have clearly reacted to it with my typical celiac disease symptoms. I looked into it further and found this:

"annatto color: A coloring agent derived from the seeds of the Achiote, also known as the Lipstick tree (Bixa orellana), it is often used in cheese but also in many other orange-colored foods. The seed itself is unlikely to contain any gluten, it is the processing of the seed into a colorant that causes concern as it appears to use alcohol in the process. There is also suspicion that caramel color may be included in the annatto colorant. Anecdotal evidence has some celiacs reacting to foods with annatto color in them but this may be a non-celiac reaction to the annatto itself."

Any comments on this? Has anyone else reacted to Annatto?

My boyfriend, we think, reacts to annatto so we are careful to avoid it. We did just find out that Yoplait Light Harvest Peach Yogurt contains annatto.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This thread is four years old, so some information may be out-of-date.

Annatto, alcohol, and caramel color are all gluten-free. If you are reacting to annatto, it could be that you are sensitive to Achiote. There is no gluten in there to react to.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have never had a reaction to annatto but I grown and process my own. When its in other processed products I've never had a problem either. Suspect that those with a reaction have it to the seed itself and its not celiac related.

This thread is four years old, so some information may be out-of-date.

Annatto, alcohol, and caramel color are all gluten-free. If you are reacting to annatto, it could be that you are sensitive to Achiote. There is no gluten in there to react to.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My boyfriend, we think, reacts to annatto so we are careful to avoid it. We did just find out that Yoplait Light Harvest Peach Yogurt contains annatto.

Friendly's vanilla icecream has annatto and I think I reacted to it and have done in the past. If it is gluten free, maybe it is just hard to handle with a damaged gut.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was diagnosed with gluten intolerance a year ago, never used to be allergic to anything..and i had a reaction to annatto the other day, in velveeta cheese, and never had a problem with annatto until i became gluten sensitive.....sorry, but, it IS a little weird...something has to be going on with it...i believe its linked together somewhere..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd like to add a comment about my own experiences with annatto. I have been gluten-free for about 3 1/2 years now & have much less trouble than before. But I still react to things that I don't yet know what they are. Hives, swelling of fingers, palms, wrist, soles of my feet. But worst is when my tongue suddenly swells up, which happens a lot.

I have kept a food diary & have had suspicions about certain flavored syrups as well as eggnog & the margarine I use. I have finally narrowed it all down to the common ingredient of annatto.

The reaction is usually about 2 hours later. It is probably a true allergy & not an intolerance in the way the celiac thing is. I have found a margarine that has beta-carotene as a coloring agent & am going to try that out. Looking forward to a breakfast of gluten-free muffins, annatto-free margarine, & NO tongue-swelling.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

could be your allergic to the lipstick tree -

Bixa orellana.

its a relative of chocolate, Kola, Okra and cotton. In itself the tree is gluten free. what some companies might do to it is another story.

Annatto that is making you sick might be for another reason.

good luck

I'd like to add a comment about my own experiences with annatto. I have been gluten-free for about 3 1/2 years now & have much less trouble than before. But I still react to things that I don't yet know what they are. Hives, swelling of fingers, palms, wrist, soles of my feet. But worst is when my tongue suddenly swells up, which happens a lot.

I have kept a food diary & have had suspicions about certain flavored syrups as well as eggnog & the margarine I use. I have finally narrowed it all down to the common ingredient of annatto.

The reaction is usually about 2 hours later. It is probably a true allergy & not an intolerance in the way the celiac thing is. I have found a margarine that has beta-carotene as a coloring agent & am going to try that out. Looking forward to a breakfast of gluten-free muffins, annatto-free margarine, & NO tongue-swelling.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

could be your allergic to the lipstick tree -

Bixa orellana.

its a relative of chocolate, Kola, Okra and cotton. In itself the tree is gluten free. what some companies might do to it is another story.

Annatto that is making you sick might be for another reason.

good luck

Thanks for that info! I had a hard time finding this thread again to find your reply. It's interesting that the tree is related to chocolate, since I am also allergic to chocolate.

There are SO MANY booby-traps! I just now read the list of ingredients on a bottle of pop I was drinking. Fanta orange soda in the glass bottle: contains modified food starch.................

Beth P.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just now read the list of ingredients on a bottle of pop I was drinking. Fanta orange soda in the glass bottle: contains modified food starch.................

Modified food starch is usually tapioca or corn. If it was wheat--which I have never seen to be the case in North America--it would have to be stated as such using the word "wheat." Some very old lists contain it since prior to 2006 it could be undisclosed wheat. It is no longer a concern.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,096
    • Total Posts
      920,334
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Awok, Welcome to the forum.  Have you considered trace gluten?  Here is a study on the topic: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3598839/pdf/1471-230X-13-40.pdf It could explain why you felt good for a while.  I personally was glutened badly last summer.  I have no idea what got me.  I suspect either a prescription medication or one gluten free product (not certified).  I ended up on a whole foods diet and avoided even certified processed gluten-free foods including grains until I was healed (three to six months).  
    • I've had a range of symptoms in the last 2 months and in the past few weeks I have discovered that my TTG abs (igA) levels were 41 (my igA tests were fine). The doctor said that he is pretty much certain that it is celiac disease and I am awaiting an endoscopy to confirm it.  Before I found out that my TTG abs (igA) levels were high, I noticed that my body was reacting really badly to dairy products. I went on an elimination diet and stopped all gluten and dairy products and felt much better. I carried this on after my results and thought that I must have developed a dairy intolerance due to my celiac. 2 days ago I accidentally consumed a glass of wine which I thought was dairy free but it contained Milk. I have not had any gluten.  I am currently in the middle of a flare up. All of a sudden rashes have started to appear on my hands and my anxiety has returned (usually not a anxious person). No diarhhoea, vomiting or digestive issues. I am currently suffering from muscle twitching, rashes predominantly on hands and feet, brain fog, pins and needles/numbness on hands, feet and arms. However, I have been tested for milk allergy and this came back negative. Is it possible that it is dairy that is causing my symptoms/autoimmune reaction and could this be a reason for elevetated TTG abs (igA) levels. Or has the doctor only picked up my celiac and missing something else. If it was dairy intolerance then I would have digestive issues but I don't seem to have any. Could it be the casein protein?  Anyone been in a similar situation or can anyone provide some insight? 
    • Hello Everyone, This is my first post here and I am writing to seek help from experienced people here. I have been suffering for over 4 years now and still no where close to having a solution/ satisfactory diagnosis of my problem. My problems started in Mar 2012 with sudden diarrhea which would not go away for days. At first, I was given general antibiotics medication which would help bring down the frequency for some days and then it would come back. Since then it has been going on. I am giving a time line and the series of tests and procedures I have gone through. Would like opinion from experienced and experts here. I can send the scans and reports if required. Would really appreciate the help. Male, Indian origin Mar 2012 - onset of symptoms - multiple bouts diarrhea - spaced 3-4 weeks, bloating, weight loss (to start with I was 74 Kgs), GP managed with antibitocs and loperamide for months Dec 2012 - consulted a GI doc towards end of 2012, Colonoscopy done - conclusion was "IBS" - was advised to manage stress. use Rifaximin and immodium Jan 2013 - Aug 2013 kept moderately fine for 3-4 months ..again started getting frequent diarrhea + weight loss (was around 70 Kgs) Oct 2013 - Consulted another doc, MD - stool and blood test - Ecoli and high Eosinophil Count, medication done for 5-6 months, montinored eosinophil from nov - Mar: always kept high.. came down but then again shot up in a month Mar 2014 - Consulted another GI expert - Endoscopy and duodenal biopsy done - H Pylori and Unremarkable Villious pattern, (weight 68 Kgs) - On and Off diarrhea continued. Given: Ivermectin July 2014 - again same doc - Blood test done: High Eosinophil count,  Colonoscopy and Ileum biopsy - preserved villous architecture, features of eosinophilic enteritis; Endoscopy  + duodenal biospy again - numerous H pylori bacteria, Preserved villous crypt ratio, features of eosinophilic enteritis > conclusion: I have eosinophilic enteritis. Started on Prednisolone (steroids) Aug 2014 - 3-4 days of severe diarrhea> weight came down to 65 Kgs. Hospitalised for 3 days - continued on Prednisolonerios Sep 2014 - After 10 days only again a serious bout of diarrhea - hospitalized again - put on IV fluid for 8 days - weight 59 Kgs. Colonoscopy + biopsy done: features of superimposed c. difficile colitis, non-specific mild colitis > c. difficle test came out negative. CT Enterolysis +Scan done: mesenteric lymphadenopathy > nothing wrong acc to docs. IgA deficiency found - diagnosed Celiac - advised for Gluten free diet.   Sep 14 - May 16: continued gluten-free diet, gained weight upto 63 Kg in Jan 16, but then started losing again and came to 59 Kgs in May. No signficant diarrhea. Minor issues. June 16 onwards: Again diarrhea started, still on gluten-free diet, weight lost - 54 Kgs now. hospitalised again under same GI doc - blood test - eosinophil high, CT Enterolysis done: Showing mucosal thickening in Jejunum and Ileum; Enteroscopy (going in jejunum) + jejunal biopsy - jejunal erosions + villous blunting, marked atrophic with V:C ratio of 0.5: 1 to 0:1. HttG blood test done - Came out negative> Conclusion : No gluten exposure (how?) + Refractory Celiac disease. June - July - have been suffering from continuous diarrhea (goes off for 5-6 days and comes back, bloating, trappings in abdomen - waiting for I don't know what. On Rifaximin + Ivermectin + Codeine Sulphate (for diarrhea) I am very depressed and have no clarity on what's going on. If it is celiac, why am I not doing better on gluten-free diet. If the villous damage is still there in small intestine, then why did I kept fine for Sep - May period? HTTG - negative now but was NOT taken in Sep when I was first diagnosed with celiac. Can we trust negative HTTG now and conclude that it has come down? I am 20 kgs down from my ideal weight and still going down. Have no clue what NOT to eat to stop this. Why is eosinophil always high. Can any of you expert help me to put my case to docs in other countries? With lots of hope, Alok          
    • So, I know I'm obsessing but...... University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center website says any total IgA result over 20 won't affect the celiac test.   If this is so,  I'm still confused as to what a weak positive ttg iga means even though her result was barely in this category.  Why bother having a weak positive anyway?   I just don't get it and our doc is on vacation so I won't know what he'll recommend for another week.  I'll be finding out this week if we can see a GI without a referral. Our lyme doc (she's had lyme, may still have it, like I said it's a long story) is having her do an IgG wheat test but I don't think that has any bearing on celiac does it?    
    • Hi!  I've had good luck at the Minnesota state fair because most food booths are only doing one thing so there is no cross-contamination. For example: french fries or chocolate covered bacon or Indian kebabs.   But I live in California and I am heading to the state fair today! Does anybody have any great food suggestions that are definitely gluten-free there? Thanks, Celiac C.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,131
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Feralgurl
    Joined