Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Annatto
0

18 posts in this topic

I've heard many opinions on whether or not Annatto food coloring is gluten free. It's not on the forbidden list from this site, but it IS on the forbidden list my gastrointerologist gave me from the Celiac Disease Foundation. I was surprised that it was on one list and not the other, but it explained a lot since I have clearly reacted to it with my typical celiac disease symptoms. I looked into it further and found this:

"annatto color: A coloring agent derived from the seeds of the Achiote, also known as the Lipstick tree (Bixa orellana), it is often used in cheese but also in many other orange-colored foods. The seed itself is unlikely to contain any gluten, it is the processing of the seed into a colorant that causes concern as it appears to use alcohol in the process. There is also suspicion that caramel color may be included in the annatto colorant. Anecdotal evidence has some celiacs reacting to foods with annatto color in them but this may be a non-celiac reaction to the annatto itself."

Any comments on this? Has anyone else reacted to Annatto?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
I've heard many opinions on whether or not Annatto food coloring is gluten free. It's not on the forbidden list from this site, but it IS on the forbidden list my gastrointerologist gave me from the Celiac Disease Foundation. I was surprised that it was on one list and not the other, but it explained a lot since I have clearly reacted to it with my typical celiac disease symptoms. I looked into it further and found this:

"annatto color: A coloring agent derived from the seeds of the Achiote, also known as the Lipstick tree (Bixa orellana), it is often used in cheese but also in many other orange-colored foods. The seed itself is unlikely to contain any gluten, it is the processing of the seed into a colorant that causes concern as it appears to use alcohol in the process. There is also suspicion that caramel color may be included in the annatto colorant. Anecdotal evidence has some celiacs reacting to foods with annatto color in them but this may be a non-celiac reaction to the annatto itself."

Any comments on this? Has anyone else reacted to Annatto?

I'm new to this board and it's incredible how much I've already learned. I'm a US citizen but live in Mexico where they use "achiote" in many dishes. I thought my body responded badly to it but then again just chalked it up to maybe I didn't really like the flavor. Now seeing your post I'm convinced I probably was getting a signal from my gut that it did not agree with achiote/annatto.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have not reacted to Annato. I read the same conflicting evidence in the beginning and used to avoid annato, but I've found I don't have any issues with it, so I'm sticking with, it's ok!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Annatto is gluten-free. Without question.

I suspect your info came from CSA/USA, which for years put out bad information about ingredients based solely on guesses and suspicions. Read this part, "it is the processing of the seed into a colorant that causes concern as it appears to use alcohol in the process. There is also suspicion that caramel color may be included in the annatto colorant. Anecdotal evidence has some celiacs reacting to foods with annatto color in them but this may be a non-celiac reaction to the annatto itself."

Complete bunk.

It "appears" to use alcohol. They don't even know but just in case they'll scare you. And what if it does use alcohol? The alcohol is likely not from wheat and is distilled anyway.

"There is also suspicion that caramel color may be included in the annatto colorant." SUSPICION???? Well why didn't they find out before trying to frighten people. Caramel color in the U.S. (and probably pretty much the rest of the world) is gluten-free anyway.

And I won't even go into the anecdotal evidence sentence. Awful.

I'm sure CSA/USA did some good over the years, but their complete hysteria about certain ingredients has also done a lot of harm. I don't know that they actually still hand out this bad information, but others do, including doctors. You need to educate your physician.

Phew. Off my podium now.

Note that this harangue was NOT directed at rogue.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I actually do react to annatto and have avoided it since having a bad reaction

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




But I assume not a gluten reaction?

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i've been doing some deep investigating and the problem may lie in the oil soluble annatto:

i found that not only are there about 8 different kinds of annatto, but almost 100% of annatto coloring in the US is imported and extracted at the source- which means most of it is produced in peru and the carribbean regions. one of them is oil soluble annatto. to extract oil soluble annatto coloring, vegetable oils (sometimes containting mono and diglycerides) are used. oil soluble is used in products with a high oil content, like butter, margerine, etc. so it may be that water soluble annatto coloring (which uses soium or potassium hydroxide for extraction) may be okay, while oil soluble may not be.

my reactions have always seemingly been gluten reactions. they're fairly immediate and relative to how much i consume. i found out it was in my butter, and then realized why i was feeling ill after breakfast in the morning (i had been putting annatto-containing butter on my gluten free waffles) and why i had rampant diarrhea after i loaded something with butter that contained annatto. I'm fine with annatto-free butter.

the forbidden list that i received from my gastrointerologist came from the celiac disease foundation, not csa my gastro is the best doctor i've ever had and is completely brilliant- i doubt that he would consult with an organization that is anything less than he is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm very sensitive and don't eat many processed foods at all. One of the things I do eat are McCains 5 Minute Fries (yum)--they contain annatto, and I've never had a problem with them.

I do want to add that anyone can react to anything, so I'm not minimizing anyone's reactions--just relating my experience.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Many Celiacs react to annatto along with other ingredients. I reacted to annatto for at least a year on the gluten free diet. I can now tolerate it. We have questions about once a month about distilled vinegar too (gluten free, but a lot of Celiacs have problems with it) Keep a food journal to figure out what other ingredients you are sensitive to.

Thank you so much for sharing your information about annatto.

L.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've heard many opinions on whether or not Annatto food coloring is gluten free. It's not on the forbidden list from this site, but it IS on the forbidden list my gastrointerologist gave me from the Celiac Disease Foundation. I was surprised that it was on one list and not the other, but it explained a lot since I have clearly reacted to it with my typical celiac disease symptoms. I looked into it further and found this:

"annatto color: A coloring agent derived from the seeds of the Achiote, also known as the Lipstick tree (Bixa orellana), it is often used in cheese but also in many other orange-colored foods. The seed itself is unlikely to contain any gluten, it is the processing of the seed into a colorant that causes concern as it appears to use alcohol in the process. There is also suspicion that caramel color may be included in the annatto colorant. Anecdotal evidence has some celiacs reacting to foods with annatto color in them but this may be a non-celiac reaction to the annatto itself."

Any comments on this? Has anyone else reacted to Annatto?

My boyfriend, we think, reacts to annatto so we are careful to avoid it. We did just find out that Yoplait Light Harvest Peach Yogurt contains annatto.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This thread is four years old, so some information may be out-of-date.

Annatto, alcohol, and caramel color are all gluten-free. If you are reacting to annatto, it could be that you are sensitive to Achiote. There is no gluten in there to react to.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have never had a reaction to annatto but I grown and process my own. When its in other processed products I've never had a problem either. Suspect that those with a reaction have it to the seed itself and its not celiac related.

This thread is four years old, so some information may be out-of-date.

Annatto, alcohol, and caramel color are all gluten-free. If you are reacting to annatto, it could be that you are sensitive to Achiote. There is no gluten in there to react to.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My boyfriend, we think, reacts to annatto so we are careful to avoid it. We did just find out that Yoplait Light Harvest Peach Yogurt contains annatto.

Friendly's vanilla icecream has annatto and I think I reacted to it and have done in the past. If it is gluten free, maybe it is just hard to handle with a damaged gut.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was diagnosed with gluten intolerance a year ago, never used to be allergic to anything..and i had a reaction to annatto the other day, in velveeta cheese, and never had a problem with annatto until i became gluten sensitive.....sorry, but, it IS a little weird...something has to be going on with it...i believe its linked together somewhere..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd like to add a comment about my own experiences with annatto. I have been gluten-free for about 3 1/2 years now & have much less trouble than before. But I still react to things that I don't yet know what they are. Hives, swelling of fingers, palms, wrist, soles of my feet. But worst is when my tongue suddenly swells up, which happens a lot.

I have kept a food diary & have had suspicions about certain flavored syrups as well as eggnog & the margarine I use. I have finally narrowed it all down to the common ingredient of annatto.

The reaction is usually about 2 hours later. It is probably a true allergy & not an intolerance in the way the celiac thing is. I have found a margarine that has beta-carotene as a coloring agent & am going to try that out. Looking forward to a breakfast of gluten-free muffins, annatto-free margarine, & NO tongue-swelling.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

could be your allergic to the lipstick tree -

Bixa orellana.

its a relative of chocolate, Kola, Okra and cotton. In itself the tree is gluten free. what some companies might do to it is another story.

Annatto that is making you sick might be for another reason.

good luck

I'd like to add a comment about my own experiences with annatto. I have been gluten-free for about 3 1/2 years now & have much less trouble than before. But I still react to things that I don't yet know what they are. Hives, swelling of fingers, palms, wrist, soles of my feet. But worst is when my tongue suddenly swells up, which happens a lot.

I have kept a food diary & have had suspicions about certain flavored syrups as well as eggnog & the margarine I use. I have finally narrowed it all down to the common ingredient of annatto.

The reaction is usually about 2 hours later. It is probably a true allergy & not an intolerance in the way the celiac thing is. I have found a margarine that has beta-carotene as a coloring agent & am going to try that out. Looking forward to a breakfast of gluten-free muffins, annatto-free margarine, & NO tongue-swelling.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

could be your allergic to the lipstick tree -

Bixa orellana.

its a relative of chocolate, Kola, Okra and cotton. In itself the tree is gluten free. what some companies might do to it is another story.

Annatto that is making you sick might be for another reason.

good luck

Thanks for that info! I had a hard time finding this thread again to find your reply. It's interesting that the tree is related to chocolate, since I am also allergic to chocolate.

There are SO MANY booby-traps! I just now read the list of ingredients on a bottle of pop I was drinking. Fanta orange soda in the glass bottle: contains modified food starch.................

Beth P.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just now read the list of ingredients on a bottle of pop I was drinking. Fanta orange soda in the glass bottle: contains modified food starch.................

Modified food starch is usually tapioca or corn. If it was wheat--which I have never seen to be the case in North America--it would have to be stated as such using the word "wheat." Some very old lists contain it since prior to 2006 it could be undisclosed wheat. It is no longer a concern.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,654
    • Total Posts
      921,618
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Yes please, that'd be awesome Having a fun time trying to reply on my phone due to broken screen but will be back on tomorrow after results of doctor appointment to get to the bottom of why they've given me seemingly wrong advice re: next steps. Yup I'll admit to pity, anger, frustration and outright fear, been through the mill of emotions in this first week that's for sure. One thing before I go for that; back when I was self-diagnosing I wanted a full thyroid panel (T3, T4 etc.) and also ESR & CRP checks for vasculitis and similar maladies. Now it seems from my reading they can often follow celiac so my worry level of those has gone up a notch, more blood tests ahoy it seems? Main reason for worrying about those is the nearly constant tight / tender head I have at the moment. Top and sides of scalp. Could be the stress tensing the shoulders and occipital muscles at back of head but after the celiac diagnosis being missed I'm fearful of anything else being missed. Did anyone else have this tight head feeling at the start? Feels like the skin is being pulled inwards, sometimes goes down for a few minutes here and there and gets worse when sitting I think. I see the term "brain fog" a lot but luckily don't seem to have too much of that at present, this is more a physical sensation.
    • I don't have a lot of faith in the allergy testing naturalpaths do. I had them done, but really it wasn't very helpful. Foods that were okay on the blood work- I was still having obvious reactions to. Skin testing through an allergist didn't show up food allergies either. I agree the food elimination diet is a better way to go and doesn't cost a bunch of money. I did a whole 30 diet a while back that could have been helpful if the foods I reacted to were corn, dairy,  soy, grains and sugar- but I react to more than that.  I do need to do a major elimination diet- just haven't gotten up the willpower yet.   
    • Quick search gave too many responses to TGI Fridays but none to TGI Fridays Buns (or similar) so... I was talking with my sister-in-law (Gluten Intolerant) and she spoke highly of a pre-packaged bun from Fridays. I was hesitant but she gave me one (apparently you can buy them from the restaurant?) and I tried it. Since I'm slow to react I won't know about gluten for a bit but I can definitely say it is the closest to "real" I've had in years! Spongy, doesn't crumble while eating a sandwich and tastes good. Color me impressed! I tried to determine the manufacturer or if Fridays actually makes them but I can't locate anything worth pursuing. Anyone have information on this? Thanks in advance.
    • Thanks cyclinglady! I will!
    • You could ask the allergist to give you a starting point for an elimination diet. You would start out with 5 or so foods and then add in one new food a week to see if you react. If you react you of course drop that food. It is a bit of a pain as everything has to be basically single ingredient to start.  My allergist felt that was the best way to go and more accurate than blood testing.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,654
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    bentcreekmom
    Joined