Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Lindt Chocolate
0

10 posts in this topic

Is Lindt 70% chocolate gluten free ? I made a cake last night with it, and seemed to get a reaction.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Well, I just ate practically an entire bar of Lindt 70% dark chocolate and besides getting all shakey and dizzy from the caffine and the sugar I didn't have any reactions LOL. I have it right here in front of me and it does say "may contain traces of soy lecithin, milk hazelnuts and almonds." I really don't seem to have any gluten, dairy or soy type reactions from it though (I'll admitt I've had my fair share of the stuff since I've been in this country :ph34r: ). I would think it would have to clearly state "gluten" on the label if there was actually gluten in it? It says "cocoa mass, sugar, coca butter, vanilla."

...That's my long winded way of saying I think the chocolate is okay gluten-wise, but there might be some other issues with it (soy, nuts etc.) Hope your reaction doesn't last long.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks. Perhaps it was just the wine ! :D

Well, I just ate practically an entire bar of Lindt 70% dark chocolate and besides getting all shakey and dizzy from the caffine and the sugar I didn't have any reactions LOL. I have it right here in front of me and it does say "may contain traces of soy lecithin, milk hazelnuts and almonds." I really don't seem to have any gluten, dairy or soy type reactions from it though (I'll admitt I've had my fair share of the stuff since I've been in this country :ph34r: ). I would think it would have to clearly state "gluten" on the label if there was actually gluten in it? It says "cocoa mass, sugar, coca butter, vanilla."

...That's my long winded way of saying I think the chocolate is okay gluten-wise, but there might be some other issues with it (soy, nuts etc.) Hope your reaction doesn't last long.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Is Lindt 70% chocolate gluten free ? I made a cake last night with it, and seemed to get a reaction.

I had a lindt truffle (or, rather, started to have one) and then read the label on the plastic baggie, and it said wheat starch....I can't remember the flavor, but I remember thinking "Ok, no lindt for me". So.....just wanted to let you know, incase it WAS in your Chocolate.....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was quite certain I've read on here that Lindt is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




By law in Australia the label would have to say "gluten" if there was gluten in it though. The label on mine doesn't indicate gluten, just a risk of nuts and soy :huh: I dunno...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lindt truffles have barley malt in them (at least the milk chocolate ones do), but I'm not sure about the rest of their products . . . . It looks like the ingredients were okay . .. but there might have been cross contamination. OR, it could have been the wine . . .

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I had a lindt truffle (or, rather, started to have one) and then read the label on the plastic baggie, and it said wheat starch....I can't remember the flavor, but I remember thinking "Ok, no lindt for me". So.....just wanted to let you know, incase it WAS in your Chocolate.....

Most Lindt truffles have barley in them (I've never seen wheat starch on a Lindt truffle label in the USA). The white chocolate truffles and mint truffles are free of barley and should be gluten-free, except for possible cross-contamination.

I think that the only issue with the plain chocolate bars (or chocolate with nuts) would be cross-contamination.

Ken

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Most Lindt truffles have barley in them (I've never seen wheat starch on a Lindt truffle label in the USA). The white chocolate truffles and mint truffles are free of barley and should be gluten-free, except for possible cross-contamination.

I think that the only issue with the plain chocolate bars (or chocolate with nuts) would be cross-contamination.

Ken

Yeah, thats what it was, barley malt. I double checked at the store today. I wanted to post to make sure that you got the info, georgie, to make sure you look for barley in your Lindt!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've found some Ghiradelli chocolate is safe. Used to be diehard Lindt but all my favorites have gluten so I just avoid it now. I did do the 70% for awhile but it's not the flavor I like so...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0