Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Modified Corn Starch
0

4 posts in this topic

I made rice crispy squares (gluten-free rice cereal) for my 3 1/2 year old Emmah and I used marshmellow that said modified corn starch...IS THAT BAD? Did I give her gluten by accident. OMG.

I wouldn't have ever relised it until I was reading a tread and the one lady said to watch out for mashmellows.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Modified corn starch is fine. It's modified wheat starch that's bad.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

vampella,

make sure you check out the lists of safe and forbidden ingredients on celiac.com. it should help you out!

but yes, modified corn starch is safe for celiacs!

laura

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

modified corn starch is made from corn. the one you have to worry about is modified food starch (unlabled 'food starch') but that, these days, should have a "contains wheat" statement in some fashion or another on the label due to the labeling laws.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.