21 replies to this topic

#1 Kirian

Kirian

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 21 October 2006 - 06:00 PM

I made an awesome mac & cheese tonight using Tinkyada. My recipe calls for flour. I used Bob's Red Mill gluten-free All Purpose Baking Flour. It really tasted great, but my tounge/mouth feels funny now. I looked at the package and saw that it does contain tapicoa flour. I have read about people having this problem with that.

So, my question is does anyone have a reccomendation as to which flour/flours that may work well in this. I have a GREAT health food store and can get just about any flour in packages there.

Also as I am just starting out with gluten-free flours I really don't know which ones would work best in a recipe. Is there any really good guide as to how to combine and use some of them and when it is good to use certain flours? Looking at the flours on the shelve at my health food store leaves me overwhelmed! :blink:

THANKS! :D
Working on being gluten free again.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Fiddle-Faddle

Fiddle-Faddle

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,159 posts

Posted 21 October 2006 - 06:37 PM

Hi, Kirian,

Welcom abaoard!

I use plain old cornstarch with good results. I think potato starch would work just fine, too. Isn't Tinkyada great? I can't tell hte difference between it and the gluteny stuff!

For flour blends, it depends on what you are sensitive to. A lot of mixes call for tapioca starch, but there are some that don't. Roben Ryberg has a book out that calls for only cornstarch and potato starch for every recipe in the book!