Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

What Is Grain Alcohol Usually?


  • Please log in to reply

14 replies to this topic

#1 floridanative

 
floridanative

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,199 posts
 

Posted 24 October 2006 - 11:49 AM

I don't drink anything but corn or potato vodka but someone I know has been drinking a rock-gut vodka that says 'grain alcohol' on the bottle and it's from Albertson's who says they don't know what it's made of. Anyway, we were in the liquor store on Sat. and the guy there was showing me all the new vodkas made with grapes and even soy...very pricey to say the least. Anyway, he said that grain alcohol as it pertains to vodka is almost always made from rye. Anyone else ever heard this? The person drinking it has Celiac and has been on the gluten-free diet for over 7 months with much improvement but no weight loss. There seems to be a corelation between the grain vodka and being bloated so if it is made with rye, that makes sense now.
  • 0
Dx'd with anemia - March 2005
Positive blood tests - Sept. 2005
Positive biopsy - Jan. 2006
Gluten free since 1-23-06

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 elonwy

 
elonwy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,071 posts
 

Posted 24 October 2006 - 12:56 PM

Whiskey is made from rye. Vodka is usually made from Wheat. I have wheat allergy in addition to celiac and I have a reaction to grain alcohols made from wheat.
The soy vodka's I haven't liked as much. The potato and corn ones are good, I haven't ponied up for the grape versions yet.
Elonwy
  • 0
Positive Bloodwork 7/8/05
Inconclusive Biopsy 7/20/05
gluten-free since 7/23/05
Never felt better.


"So here's us, on the raggedy edge, come a day when there won't be room for naughty men like us to slip about at all. - Malcolm Reynolds"

#3 Corkdarrr

 
Corkdarrr

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts
 

Posted 24 October 2006 - 02:10 PM

That's a really good question...I hope someone on here knows the answer to it.
I found a minibottle of grain alcohol just the other day. Of course, being liquor they dont' have to print anything on it except not to drink while pregnant or drink and drive. <_<

Of course, this bottle also has a warning about how flammable it is...190 proof would do it!

Courtney
  • 0
Courtney - 25
Columbia, SC

Gluten-free since July 8, 2006
Casein-free since October 16, 2006
Went six weeks, and fell back into a deliciously painful world of cheese.
Casein-free (again and for serious this time) December 11, 2006
Stupid cheese addiction....2/07

Dx Hypothyroid in 1993
Dx Gluten & Casein Sensitive through Enterolab 10/06
Dx Adrenal *Exhaustion* 2/07




Originally from WI, I am still in denial over my newfound casein intolerance. I fear I will not be allowed back into the state if I can no longer eat cheese and drink milk. This could pose some trouble over holidays when I wish to visit my family. It also poses a problem involving the severe rage I feel when I have to throw away somebody's unfinished cheese sticks. That is so wrong.

#4 VegasCeliacBuckeye

 
VegasCeliacBuckeye

    Advanced Community Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,236 posts
 

Posted 24 October 2006 - 07:17 PM

Vodkas can be made from:

1. Neutral Grains (can be wheat, corn, rye, combis of each, etc) (Absolut, Stoli, Ketel One, etc)

2. Potatoes (Chopin, Luksusowa, Glacier Bay, etc)

3. Corn (Smirnoff)

4. Grapes (Ciroc)

5. Rye (Belvedere)

6. Sweet Potatoes

7. Other veggies (LOL)


It all depends on your senstivity. I can drink the grain vodkas without any symptoms. However, I usuallyu drink Smirnoff as it is cheap and just as good (and made from corn)
  • 0

#5 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 24 October 2006 - 07:29 PM

Distillation does not allow gluten to pass into the final process (though anything can be added back if the manufacturer so chooses), but grain-alcohol can be from any grain. Vodkas are usually wheat (these days, in the US) but are plenty often rye as well, and also plenty often potato.

Ciroq, the grape vodka, is, by the way, a FABULOUS vodka. The only one I'll drink. (Though I don't drink any more due to my migraine medication...)
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#6 MistressIsis

 
MistressIsis

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 126 posts
 

Posted 24 October 2006 - 09:56 PM

Don't forget my new fave Tito's Vodka (corn) There's some more but everything tasted like moonshine! I can't touch Smirnoff, gives me insta-headache
  • 0
Misdiagnosed with Duardinitis & Endometriosis
Diagnosed after 6 yrs & 4 Doc and every test known to man
Diagnosed October 2004

Anemic as a teen
Small Stature
Dental Issues
Constant Headaches
Joint Pain
Mood Swings
Lethargy

All those disappeared after eliminating Gluten

#7 debmidge

 
debmidge

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,566 posts
 

Posted 25 October 2006 - 01:35 AM

Vodka types:

can someone advise what "Blue Goose" is from?
and what brand is a sweet potato base?

Why is it that the wheat and rye vodkas do not take on a golden hue like whiskey does?
  • 0
Husband has Celiac Disease and
Husband misdiagnosed for 27 yrs -
The misdiagnosis was: IBS or colitis
Mis-diagnosed from 1977 to 2003 by various gastros including one of the largest,
most prestigious medical groups in northern NJ which constantly advertises themselves as
being the "best." This GI told him it was "all in his head."
Serious Depressive state ensued
Finally Diagnosed with celiac disease in 2003
Other food sensitivities: almost all fruits, vegetables, spices, eggs, nuts, yeast, fried foods, roughage, soy.
Needs to gain back at least 25 lbs. of the 40 lbs pounds he lost - lost a great amout of body fat and muscle
Developed neuropathy in 2005
Now has lymphadema 2006
It is my opinion that his subsequent disorders could have been avoided had he been diagnosed sooner by any of the dozen or so doctors he saw between 1977 to 2003

#8 floridanative

 
floridanative

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,199 posts
 

Posted 02 November 2006 - 08:59 AM

Thanks tarnalberry for telling us about Ciroq vodka. I only saw it recently when getting my fave vodka 'Iceberg' (corn) but now I'm curious to try Ciroq as a special treat!
  • 0
Dx'd with anemia - March 2005
Positive blood tests - Sept. 2005
Positive biopsy - Jan. 2006
Gluten free since 1-23-06

#9 VegasCeliacBuckeye

 
VegasCeliacBuckeye

    Advanced Community Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,236 posts
 

Posted 02 November 2006 - 10:39 AM

Vodka types:

can someone advise what "Blue Goose" is from?
and what brand is a sweet potato base?

Why is it that the wheat and rye vodkas do not take on a golden hue like whiskey does?


Debmidge,

Are you referring to "Grey Goose" ?? If so, it is a grain based vodka (wheat, etc)

The only sweet potato vodkas I have seen are Korean based or in Korean restaurants...
  • 0

#10 debmidge

 
debmidge

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,566 posts
 

Posted 05 November 2006 - 07:51 AM

yes, sorry I mean Grey Goose.
I went on their website and yes, they state wheat based.

I always mix this up with Blue Goose which is particular to my work

"The Honorable Order of the Blue Goose, International is a fraternal organization of men and women who work in the property and casualty insurance industry. As Ganders, we are members of Ponds located throughout the United States and Canada. There is fellowship, education, charity, and leadership in our organization.
We invite you to learn more through our website. You will find character, charity, and fellowship in abundance among a welcoming group of friends. A place has been saved for you. Please join us."
  • 0
Husband has Celiac Disease and
Husband misdiagnosed for 27 yrs -
The misdiagnosis was: IBS or colitis
Mis-diagnosed from 1977 to 2003 by various gastros including one of the largest,
most prestigious medical groups in northern NJ which constantly advertises themselves as
being the "best." This GI told him it was "all in his head."
Serious Depressive state ensued
Finally Diagnosed with celiac disease in 2003
Other food sensitivities: almost all fruits, vegetables, spices, eggs, nuts, yeast, fried foods, roughage, soy.
Needs to gain back at least 25 lbs. of the 40 lbs pounds he lost - lost a great amout of body fat and muscle
Developed neuropathy in 2005
Now has lymphadema 2006
It is my opinion that his subsequent disorders could have been avoided had he been diagnosed sooner by any of the dozen or so doctors he saw between 1977 to 2003

#11 IrishKelly

 
IrishKelly

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
 

Posted 05 November 2006 - 12:01 PM

ANYONE KNOW WHAT RUM IS MADE FROM?
  • 0
Gluten Free...negative blood results...absolutely positive diet results.
Dairy Free...absolutely positive diet results.
Egg Free...there goes another one...absolutely positive diet results.
Allergic to Codeine.


"Life is like a box of chocolates...you never know which ones may have gluten in them:)"

#12 penguin

 
penguin

    Chelsea

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,245 posts
 

Posted 05 November 2006 - 05:11 PM

Rum is made from sugar cane, and tequila from cactus (agave, if it's genuine)

Elonwy: I never thought about vodka and a wheat allergy. Crud.
  • 0
Alright, don't worry even if things end up a bit too heavy
We'll all float on, alright
Well we'll float on good news is on the way...

#13 up-late

 
up-late

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
 

Posted 06 November 2006 - 02:59 AM

Now I know why I'm sick from it some of the time not others.
Beware in pubs, most are honest but I used to work in one that topped up with the cheap stuff.
  • 0

#14 purplemom

 
purplemom

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 90 posts
 

Posted 06 November 2006 - 06:31 AM

I am so confused!! I thought I read a while back that all vodka was safe. My husband traded his Harpoon IPA for Vodka and Cranberry.
We recently bought Chopin potato vodka, a little pricey, but he likes it. I thought it might be gentler on his gut. Should I be steering him away from certain vodkas?
  • 0
Cali
Here to support and cook for:
Jared (Husband with Celiac.) diagnosed and gluten free since Nov.2005
Abby ( 6 yrs old) diagnosed with celiac and gluten free since Nov.2005
Griffin (4 yrs old) not diagnosed but gluten free since Nov. 2005

#15 Helena

 
Helena

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts
 

Posted 06 November 2006 - 07:33 AM

Well, there's a whole debate about whether distilled grain alcohol is safe. The Canadian celiac assn says yes, but several people on this website react.

I appreciate the list of different types of vodkas---I've had trouble with alcohol. I don't know whether it is the alcohol itself or the ingredients . . . . the last time I had one drink (vodka + orange juice), I felt kind of ill the whole night and the next morning couldn't hold any food down at all.

I would like to look into making my own vanilla flavouring----I'm not sure about potato vodka as I'm allergic to potatoes (and to corn and to soy). But I could maybe have vodka distilled from grapes . .. or sweet potatoes. Is it fairly rare to find sweet potato vodka? What brands are available?
  • 0
positive tTG and antigliadin blood tests for celiac (summer 2006)
positive dietary response

environmental and food allergies.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: