Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Is Oatstraw Okay?
0

6 posts in this topic

I thought I was doing really well at avoiding gluten . . . and suddenly while going to sleep last night I realized that the herbal tea I drank that day contained oatstraw. Does oatstraw contain gluten? (I'm not sure if I can tolerate oats. I was planning on being gluten free for a good long time before trying gluten-free oats)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

i googled it out of curiousity and came up with conflicting results. i would assume that it isn't, for the reason of oats being cross-contaminted in general. i wouldn't risk it - but i would also call the company if you can't part with your tea.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks---I decided to get rid of the tea. I woke up the next day not feeling that good . . . seasonal allergies were noticably worse and I felt kind of foggy and my stomach was off (D). But I'm not sure that it was the oatstraw----I noticed before that I reacted to that tea (and stayed away from it for awhile). I figured that it might be another ingredient--I react to legumes, and red clover is a legume. Last night I also ate a few canned mandarin oranges that made my throat itchy (I'm thinking the "sugar" used to preserve it was corn-based. I'm allergic to corn). And I also tried xanthan gum . . . which might not be okay because of the corn allergy. So who knows if it was the oatstraw or not.

I guess I was hoping it wasn't the oatstraw . . . because that would probably mean I won't be able to tolerate gluten free oats. (I bought the tea from a craft show---the oatstraw is grown on a family farm . . . I'm pretty sure they just grow herbs there so I doubt that there would be wheat.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't eat the gluten-free oats, but I'm glad you ditched it. I find that quinoa flakes work well as an alternative, and the 'rule of thumb' is to introduce the oats slowly, after a while. I'm sure in time you can! Right now, feel better :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks! I hope I can have oats too . . .but not a good idea right now as you say. Quinoa, unfortunately, is out for me :( I tend to have problems with seeds (allergies).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I stay away from oats..some people react to the protein in even pure oats. The protein called avenin is similar is structure to the protein in wheat and things we can't have. Anyhow, I am not ready to risk being sick for a long period of time. I would say you should probably avoid the oatstraw

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0