Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Smirnoff Vodka
0

18 posts in this topic

smirnof vodka is on a lot of the gluten free lists i have looked at, but when i went to buy it today the bottle said it was from grain alchohol. i ended up getting monopolowa, but it was a bit pricier then smirnof. I also love that smirnoff makes different flavors!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

ALL Smirnoff vodka (except the malt drink Smirnoff Ice) is gluten-free. The grain it's made from is corn.

In reality, ALL distilling alcohol is gluten-free unless gluten is added after the distilling. Distliing takes out the harmful proteins. I know several extremely sensitive people who drink wheat- or rye-based liquors.

richard

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

drink whisky! i found out right before i started going to this site that it was gXf. also drink cider - all US brands i've seen except for hornsby's are ok.

for whisky i recomend bushmill's.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I emailed Smirnoff and they said their Vodkas are gluten-free (but they did not tell me what grains). Smirnoff Ice is not gluten-free. I thought I kept the email but I can not find it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just had two mixed drinks this week using Smirnoff and OJ. I got really sick the next morning. I was in and out of the bathroom probably 20 times. I'm going to stay away from hard alcohol;my stomach can't take it. Has anyone else gotten really sick after drinking a small quanity of alcohol? Just wandering if I'm the only one this has happened to.

Thanks

LBear

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I used to drink all my buddies under the table pre-diagnosis days (all 100 lbs. of me back then). Now, 30 lbs. later and with a healed gut, I'll have two drinks and feel drunk as a skunk. I've had lots of problems with wine lately (perhaps the sulfites?) but I'm also EXTREMELY sensitive-I haven't found a juice yet that I can tolerate-but I did have Smirnoff Triple Distilled 2 days ago-straight-and had no problems with it. Smirnoff is distilled from corn-I saw the grain thing on the back of the bottle and freaked after I bought it-but my boyfriend checked their website.

As for getting drunk easier, I've read that we absorb lots more alcohol now that we're healed (hence the getting drunk quicker thing).

Also-Ramapo Valley gluten-free beer is GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good luck-

Nadia

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

could someone suggest a good red wine that they haven't had any problems with? I bought one bottle recently, and the company told me they use regular flour in the processing of their wine, which turned me off to trying it. any suggestions?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Flour in the processing of wine? Somebody there doesn't know what they're talking about. I've never, ever heard of a wine that wasn't gluten-free.

richard

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The lady I spoke to said they use flour to "hold together the barrels that they then pour the wine into, and some of the flour could have seeped into the wine in the barrel." I know it probably isn't a big deal anyway, but I'm so sensitive to even traces of gluten I got freaked out by her answer. Everything I've been reading says wines are ok, though, so I guess I should relax! Now if only I could get a straight answer on whether cigarettes are, in fact, gluten-free! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

shiraz is a good red wine, about $12 a bottle, and it's served in outback, everyone's fave restaurant!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Falesco Vitiano

Umbria (Italy) 2000 - about $10-$15 a bottle

(I think the last post was recommending Rosemount Estate Shiraz - also very good for the $$, but the other is my favorite!)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gillian, Which winery said they use flour? Husband is very gluten senstitive and we would have to avoid them.

Thanks, Debbie

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The wine I'd stay away from is Woodbridge by Robert Mondavi, since they told me about the flour used in the barrels.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My family owns a vineyard in tuscany and I've never heard of flour being used at any point of any process. if that helps.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I stumbled upon your site by accident, as I was trying to find out about Smirnoff.

Good to know that it is G,F.

If anyone is coming to New Zealand on vacation, there is G,F beer here too (only found 1 so far)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I stumbled upon your site by accident, as I was trying to find out about Smirnoff.

Good to know that it is G,F.

If anyone is coming to New Zealand on vacation, there is G,F beer here too (only found 1 so far)

Which one? O'Briens?? There is another but I forget the name, not being a great beer drinker (and Yes!, I am a Kiwi can you believe?) but I believe it is better than O'Briens.

By the way, welcome to the forum. You will find lots of helpful stuff here, even Down Under stuff :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

drink whisky! i found out right before i started going to this site that it was gXf. also drink cider - all US brands i've seen except for hornsby's are ok.

for whisky i recomend bushmill's.

I know it has been quite some time since you posted this, but just wanted to say, I just bought Hornsby's for the first time last saturday and it now says on the box "gluten free".  And....it was pretty good.  I really like the Bold Rock, but the Hornsby's was sweeter, so if you like wine go for that one.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know it has been quite some time since you posted this, but just wanted to say, I just bought Hornsby's for the first time last saturday and it now says on the box "gluten free".  And....it was pretty good.  I really like the Bold Rock, but the Hornsby's was sweeter, so if you like wine go for that one.

 

Hon, the person you are replying to posted back in 2004. I sincerely doubt she will see it. Just so you know.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.