Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Vanillin


  • Please log in to reply

6 replies to this topic

#1 lilliexx

 
lilliexx

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 141 posts
 

Posted 12 August 2004 - 05:35 PM

i have noticed vanillin being on some gluten-free lists but i have also seen it on NOT safe lists. hershey's syrup is on the gluten free list and does have vanillin so i'm thinking it may be ok? i love chocholate and a lot of it has vanillin so i really need to find out for sure if it is gluten-free.
  • 0
Gluten free since July 2004

I have made it one year and feel much much better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 catfish

 
catfish

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts
 

Posted 12 August 2004 - 10:30 PM

Vanillin is a by-product of the paper making industry. Yes, that's right, paper. Pretty wierd, huh? They used to just dump it until they noticed it had a negative effect on the ecology, and then someone brilliant found that by tweaking it slightly chemically it could be made into a valuable commodity. Vanillin occurs naturally in vanilla and is the most notable flavor of over 400 that comprise the vanilla profile. Pure vanillin should be gluten free, but if it is in an alcohol solution there is a chance that it is a grain alcohol which could theoretically have gluten in it. The chances are slim, and if there was any it would be a very small amount, but when in doubt it is probably best to contact the manufacturer.
  • 0

#3 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 13 August 2004 - 05:43 AM

Never found vanillin with gluten. I'ts not an ingredient I question any more. Hershey clearly lists gluten in the ingredients.

richard
  • 0

#4 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 13 August 2004 - 01:50 PM

The Hershey's syrup is fine and vanillin is fine.....
  • 0

#5 kbtoyssni

 
kbtoyssni

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,682 posts
 

Posted 07 January 2008 - 07:48 PM

This site http://www.enabling....iac/gfdiet.html says that vanillin *could* contain gluten if it's made from a grain-based alcohol. Is this like all grain-based alcohols; if it's distilled it's most likely ok, but very, very sensitive celiacs may react?
  • 0
Gluten-Free since September 15, 2005.
Peanut-Free since July 2006.

#6 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 08 January 2008 - 07:29 PM

It's gluten-free.

richard
  • 0

#7 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 08 January 2008 - 07:35 PM

This site http://www.enabling....iac/gfdiet.html says that vanillin *could* contain gluten if it's made from a grain-based alcohol. Is this like all grain-based alcohols; if it's distilled it's most likely ok, but very, very sensitive celiacs may react?


This list has tons and tons of old information. For instance (just one), tuna with vegetable broth is without exception all gluten-free. Never found one that isn't. It's simply made from vegetables (and sometimes rosemary).

Vanillin is unquestionably gluten-free.

richard
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: