Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Worcestershire Souce Substitute
0

47 posts in this topic

Here are the ingredients listed on a bottle of French's made in the USA from my fridge (should be listed by weight right?):

~ distilled vinegar

~ molasses

~ corn syrup

~ water

~ caramel color

~ sugar

~ spices ( aha! could be 2 or 100 )

~ anchovies

~ natural flavor ( just one?)

~ tamarind

FYI - from http://www.crfg.org/pubs/ff/tamarind.html

Tamarinds are slow-growing, long-lived, evergreen trees that under optimum conditions can grow 80 feet high with a spread of 20 to 35 ft., in its native eastern Africa and Asia. However, in Southern California it seldom reaches more than 15 to 25 ft. in height.

The 3 - 8 inch long, brown, irregularly curved pods are borne in abundance along the new branches. As the pods mature, they fill out somewhat and the juicy, acidulous pulp turns brown or reddish-brown. When fully ripe, the shells are brittle and easily broken. The pulp dehydrates to a sticky paste enclosed by a few coarse stands of fiber. The pods may contain from 1 to 12 large, flat, glossy brown, obovate seeds embedded in the brown, edible pulp. The pulp has a pleasing sweet/sour flavor and is high in both acid and sugar. It is also rich in vitamin B and high in calcium. There are wide differences in fruit size and flavor in seedling trees. Indian types have longer pods with 6 - 12 seeds, while the West Indian types have shorter pods containing only 3 - 6 seeds. Most tamarinds in the Americas are of the shorter type

Tamarinds may be eaten fresh, but they area most commonly used with sugar and water in the American tropics to prepare a cooling drink. The pulp is used to flavor preserves and chutney, to make meat sauces ant to pickle fish. Candy can be made by mixing the pulp with dry sugar and molding it into desired shapes.

... I'd never heard of a tamarine so did a google search for it. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Lee and Perrins does in fact have Malt Vinegar in it and Malt Vinegar is made from Barley and Barley has gluten -- therefore, Lee and Perrins is NOT Gluten Free. They have different standards in the UK and they send the concentrate here to their New Jersey plant and it also contains Malt Vinegar and is not safe for any Celiac to use.

Hello, Thanks for the prompt reply!

Isn't there malt vinegar in Lea and Perrins??

Thanks in advance,

MM

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Make sure that Soy Sauce is also gluten free -- Most Soy Sauce made in the US contains wheat. Bragg's is gluten free and I found one in my local supermarket that is gluten free.

I don't have a bottle of Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce right now (I'm so ashamed as it's undoubtably the very best, and I bought French's last time 'cause it was cheaper), but I'm pretty sure it contains both anchovies and tamarinds. Don't know about gluten. Here are the ingredients listed on a bottle of French's made in the USA from my fridge (should be listed by weight right?):

~ distilled vinegar

~ molasses

~ corn syrup

~ water

~ caramel color

~ sugar

~ spices ( aha! could be 2 or 100 )

~ anchovies

~ natural flavor ( just one?)

~ tamarind

Unless the gluten is from the secret natural flavor, I guess it's gluten-free. lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce varies from country to country with respect to the vinegar: "Some ingredients are sourced locally." Here in Canada, the first ingredient listed is "Malt Vinegar (from barley)." In the United States, it is my understanding that the vinegar used is distilled, which would make it safe regardless of source (but it is not barley-- understand that it is corn). I can't use the L&P sold here, but I expect to be in the states next month and will pick some up gluten-free bottles and bring them back with me. I cannot speak to the UK formulation. The stuff sold in the US is made in the US. The stuff sold in Canada is made in Canada (under license by E.D.Smith).

As far as I know, French's is gluten-free, but I can't find it in any store.

Always read labels.

NOTE: This is an old thread, recently revived. The information in the early part of the thread may no longer be correct, as formulas change.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My understanding is that it's not the vinegar, but the soy sauce ingredient that is the problem. I have found Heinz worcestershire sauce (in Canada) that has soy sauce without wheat...and there is no barley malts in the ingredients either.

Michelle

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce varies from country to country with respect to the vinegar: "Some ingredients are sourced locally." Here in Canada, the first ingredient listed is "Malt Vinegar (from barley)." In the United States, it is my understanding that the vinegar used is distilled, which would make it safe regardless of source (but it is not barley-- understand that it is corn). I can't use the L&P sold here, but I expect to be in the states next month and will pick some up gluten-free bottles and bring them back with me. I cannot speak to the UK formulation. The stuff sold in the US is made in the US. The stuff sold in Canada is made in Canada (under license by E.D.Smith).

As far as I know, French's is gluten-free, but I can't find it in any store.

Always read labels.

NOTE: This is an old thread, recently revived. The information in the early part of the thread may no longer be correct, as formulas change.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




My comments about ingredients were specific to the Lea & Perrins brand, which does not have soy sauce as an ingredient. With that brand, it is the malt vinegar that is the issue with the Canadian version.

I keep looking in stores, but all I ever seem to see is Lea & Perrins. I've never seen Heinz or French's. Soy sauce is a possible source of gluten since it frequently contains wheat, but it is not an ingredient in the L&P sauce.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
My comments about ingredients were specific to the Lea & Perrins brand, which does not have soy sauce as an ingredient. With that brand, it is the malt vinegar that is the issue with the Canadian version.

I keep looking in stores, but all I ever seem to see is Lea & Perrins. I've never seen Heinz or French's. Soy sauce is a possible source of gluten since it frequently contains wheat, but it is not an ingredient in the L&P sauce.

I know you were being specific to the Lea & Perrins brand. And you are correct, the offending ingredient is barley malt vinegar (I had to look it up online, because I threw out my bottle (Canadian) a long time ago.) In checking out the online info, I did find out that Heinz has owned Lea & Perrins since 2005. The Heinz worcestershire sauce contains white vinegar and soy sauce without wheat. As far as I can tell it is not available in the US market, but is available in Canada.

Michelle

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

I'm newly diagnosed (living in Canada) and was unsure about Worcestershire sauce, so wrote to Lea & Perrins. I rec'd this reply 3 days ago:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. As per your inquiry, please be advised that the Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce distributed in Canada is not gluten free, due to the malt vinegar. However, the HP Sauce sold in Canada is indeed gluten free. Should you require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us further.

Sincerely,

Gina D. Woodside

Consumer Services Coordinator

H.J. Heinz Company of Canada Ltd

Hope this helps to avoid any confusion in Canada. Guess I'll have to get some from the U.S., as it would be hard to live without! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello,

I am brand new to this board so please tell me if this is in the wrong category.

I am looking for a gluten-free Worcestershire Sauce substitute.

Is there such a thing???

Thanks in advance, I am going to post like a madman on here now that I found this!

MM

The internet is a beautiful thing these days... if you are from Canada and want to order American Lea and Perrins just head over to Amazon and get it :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The internet is a beautiful thing these days... if you are from Canada and want to order American Lea and Perrins just head over to Amazon and get it :)

Or get someone from the US to bring it back! I requested a whole case of the stuff from my in-laws who spent the winter down south. When my husband travels on business he picks some up for me, too. :) Too bad he didn't have room in his luggage for Chex...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just went to their US website http://www.leaperrins.com/products/thick-classic-worcestershire-sauce/nutrition.aspx. Nothing to worry about in the ingredients.

But on the Canadian site http://www.leaperrins.ca/images/products/73_Nutritional.jpg, The first ingredient is malt vinegar.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm new as well (just diagnosed 2 weeks ago...ugh!!)

Just wondering if worcestershire sauce has soy sauce in it because I noticed regular soy sauce has wheat in it....I'm soooo confused with all of this!!!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As you should be able to see from this thread, a lot can depend on where you live. Anyway, in the U.S. every worcestershire sauce I've seen has been gluten-free. IF you find a sauce that has soy sauce in it, then you have to continue reading the contents to see if that soy sauce has wheat. Some soy sauces do not have wheat. If the soy sauce does have wheat, the wheat will be clearly listed.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(I am not trying to be pushy- but I was really woried about it so I looked it up and called them)

CarrieFaith and Psawyer-- It it the same recepie in Canada and USA and safe for Celiac

Acording to the L&P web site Fiddle Faddle is correct--

http://www.leaperrins.com/contacts.php#qsudan

Is the Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce sold in the US the same as the sauce sold in the rest of the world?

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is made to the original recipe in two factories. The original factory in Worcester, and a sister factory in New Jersey USA. The New Jersey factory follows the same recipe as the Worcester factory, although some ingredients are sourced locally. Product sold in the rest of the world is manufactured and exported from our factory in Worcester, UK. (Worcester refers to the town itself, whilst Worcestershire indicates the 'shire' or county in which the town of Worcester is located).

Is Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce gluten free?

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire is suitable for a coeliac diet, for further information on Nutritional and Allergy queries please contact us.

I am in oklahoma, just checked the bottle and it lists soy sauce which can have gluren.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am in oklahoma, just checked the bottle and it lists soy sauce which can have gluren.

If you are talking about Lea & Perrins Worchestershire sauce in the US, it is most definitely gluten free. It states it on the bottle. Soy sauce is not even listed as an ingredient. If soy sauce were an ingredient, it would list, usually in ( )the ingredients of the soy sauce. There are soy sauces without wheat

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am in oklahoma, just checked the bottle and it lists soy sauce which can have gluren.

Yes it CAN have gluten, but if it does not list wheat, it's not in there. Not all soy sauces contain wheat.

Please take note that the origin of this thread was four years ago.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another old topic brought back from the dead. :(

Lea & Perrins may be made to the same recipe in Canada and the US, but the ingredients are not the same. The "original recipe" apparently calls for "vinegar." :blink:

In the US, distilled vinegar is used by Heinz to make L&P--they own the brand. :)

In the United Kingdom, malt vinegar from barley is used. The product sold in Canada is imported from the UK. :(

So, gluten-free in the US, but not in Canada and the UK. :rolleyes:

If you are in Canada, you may be able to find gluten-free Heinz-branded Worcestershire sauce at a Wal-Mart Super Center. As far as I can tell, it is identical to the US version of L&P. Metro has a version under their house brand, Selection, which has different ingredients, but none of them contain gluten.

Neither the version of L&P sold in the US, nor the one sold in Canada and the UK, has soy sauce as an ingredient. :huh:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(I am not trying to be pushy- but I was really woried about it so I looked it up and called them)

CarrieFaith and Psawyer-- It it the same recepie in Canada and USA and safe for Celiac

Acording to the L&P web site Fiddle Faddle is correct--

http://www.leaperrins.com/contacts.php#qsudan

Is the Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce sold in the US the same as the sauce sold in the rest of the world?

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is made to the original recipe in two factories. The original factory in Worcester, and a sister factory in New Jersey USA. The New Jersey factory follows the same recipe as the Worcester factory, although some ingredients are sourced locally. Product sold in the rest of the world is manufactured and exported from our factory in Worcester, UK. (Worcester refers to the town itself, whilst Worcestershire indicates the 'shire' or county in which the town of Worcester is located).

Is Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce gluten free?

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire is suitable for a coeliac diet, for further information on Nutritional and Allergy queries please contact us.

Well, that seems strange, because I was just looking at the label yesterday, and it states Malt Vinegar (Made from Barley) ... So I wonder why they would put that if it is gluten free. I'm not going to take a chance though.

Next to that bottle there was a Worcestershire Sauce from Heinz. It didn't look like it had any gluten.. It did have a vinegar, and I think it was a malt, but I know that Malt vinegar can be from other sources other than Barley. Does anyone know about the Heinz one?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, that seems strange, because I was just looking at the label yesterday, and it states Malt Vinegar (Made from Barley) ... So I wonder why they would put that if it is gluten free. I'm not going to take a chance though.

Next to that bottle there was a Worcestershire Sauce from Heinz. It didn't look like it had any gluten.. It did have a vinegar, and I think it was a malt, but I know that Malt vinegar can be from other sources other than Barley. Does anyone know about the Heinz one?

What you are responding to is from 2007. Products change over time. Also, the ingredients may be different from country to country.

I am in the US. The Lea & Perrins in my fridge does not contain malt vinegar.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What you are responding to is from 2007. Products change over time. Also, the ingredients may be different from country to country.

I am in the US. The Lea & Perrins in my fridge does not contain malt vinegar.

I believe it still does in Canada.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Beth, please see my post immediately above yours.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,096
    • Total Posts
      920,333
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I've had a range of symptoms in the last 2 months and in the past few weeks I have discovered that my TTG abs (igA) levels were 41 (my igA tests were fine). The doctor said that he is pretty much certain that it is celiac disease and I am awaiting an endoscopy to confirm it.  Before I found out that my TTG abs (igA) levels were high, I noticed that my body was reacting really badly to dairy products. I went on an elimination diet and stopped all gluten and dairy products and felt much better. I carried this on after my results and thought that I must have developed a dairy intolerance due to my celiac. 2 days ago I accidentally consumed a glass of wine which I thought was dairy free but it contained Milk. I have not had any gluten.  I am currently in the middle of a flare up. All of a sudden rashes have started to appear on my hands and my anxiety has returned (usually not a anxious person). No diarhhoea, vomiting or digestive issues. I am currently suffering from muscle twitching, rashes predominantly on hands and feet, brain fog, pins and needles/numbness on hands, feet and arms. However, I have been tested for milk allergy and this came back negative. Is it possible that it is dairy that is causing my symptoms/autoimmune reaction and could this be a reason for elevetated TTG abs (igA) levels. Or has the doctor only picked up my celiac and missing something else. If it was dairy intolerance then I would have digestive issues but I don't seem to have any. Could it be the casein protein?  Anyone been in a similar situation or can anyone provide some insight? 
    • Hello Everyone, This is my first post here and I am writing to seek help from experienced people here. I have been suffering for over 4 years now and still no where close to having a solution/ satisfactory diagnosis of my problem. My problems started in Mar 2012 with sudden diarrhea which would not go away for days. At first, I was given general antibiotics medication which would help bring down the frequency for some days and then it would come back. Since then it has been going on. I am giving a time line and the series of tests and procedures I have gone through. Would like opinion from experienced and experts here. I can send the scans and reports if required. Would really appreciate the help. Male, Indian origin Mar 2012 - onset of symptoms - multiple bouts diarrhea - spaced 3-4 weeks, bloating, weight loss (to start with I was 74 Kgs), GP managed with antibitocs and loperamide for months Dec 2012 - consulted a GI doc towards end of 2012, Colonoscopy done - conclusion was "IBS" - was advised to manage stress. use Rifaximin and immodium Jan 2013 - Aug 2013 kept moderately fine for 3-4 months ..again started getting frequent diarrhea + weight loss (was around 70 Kgs) Oct 2013 - Consulted another doc, MD - stool and blood test - Ecoli and high Eosinophil Count, medication done for 5-6 months, montinored eosinophil from nov - Mar: always kept high.. came down but then again shot up in a month Mar 2014 - Consulted another GI expert - Endoscopy and duodenal biopsy done - H Pylori and Unremarkable Villious pattern, (weight 68 Kgs) - On and Off diarrhea continued. Given: Ivermectin July 2014 - again same doc - Blood test done: High Eosinophil count,  Colonoscopy and Ileum biopsy - preserved villous architecture, features of eosinophilic enteritis; Endoscopy  + duodenal biospy again - numerous H pylori bacteria, Preserved villous crypt ratio, features of eosinophilic enteritis > conclusion: I have eosinophilic enteritis. Started on Prednisolone (steroids) Aug 2014 - 3-4 days of severe diarrhea> weight came down to 65 Kgs. Hospitalised for 3 days - continued on Prednisolonerios Sep 2014 - After 10 days only again a serious bout of diarrhea - hospitalized again - put on IV fluid for 8 days - weight 59 Kgs. Colonoscopy + biopsy done: features of superimposed c. difficile colitis, non-specific mild colitis > c. difficle test came out negative. CT Enterolysis +Scan done: mesenteric lymphadenopathy > nothing wrong acc to docs. IgA deficiency found - diagnosed Celiac - advised for Gluten free diet.   Sep 14 - May 16: continued gluten-free diet, gained weight upto 63 Kg in Jan 16, but then started losing again and came to 59 Kgs in May. No signficant diarrhea. Minor issues. June 16 onwards: Again diarrhea started, still on gluten-free diet, weight lost - 54 Kgs now. hospitalised again under same GI doc - blood test - eosinophil high, CT Enterolysis done: Showing mucosal thickening in Jejunum and Ileum; Enteroscopy (going in jejunum) + jejunal biopsy - jejunal erosions + villous blunting, marked atrophic with V:C ratio of 0.5: 1 to 0:1. HttG blood test done - Came out negative> Conclusion : No gluten exposure (how?) + Refractory Celiac disease. June - July - have been suffering from continuous diarrhea (goes off for 5-6 days and comes back, bloating, trappings in abdomen - waiting for I don't know what. On Rifaximin + Ivermectin + Codeine Sulphate (for diarrhea) I am very depressed and have no clarity on what's going on. If it is celiac, why am I not doing better on gluten-free diet. If the villous damage is still there in small intestine, then why did I kept fine for Sep - May period? HTTG - negative now but was NOT taken in Sep when I was first diagnosed with celiac. Can we trust negative HTTG now and conclude that it has come down? I am 20 kgs down from my ideal weight and still going down. Have no clue what NOT to eat to stop this. Why is eosinophil always high. Can any of you expert help me to put my case to docs in other countries? With lots of hope, Alok          
    • So, I know I'm obsessing but...... University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center website says any total IgA result over 20 won't affect the celiac test.   If this is so,  I'm still confused as to what a weak positive ttg iga means even though her result was barely in this category.  Why bother having a weak positive anyway?   I just don't get it and our doc is on vacation so I won't know what he'll recommend for another week.  I'll be finding out this week if we can see a GI without a referral. Our lyme doc (she's had lyme, may still have it, like I said it's a long story) is having her do an IgG wheat test but I don't think that has any bearing on celiac does it?    
    • Hi!  I've had good luck at the Minnesota state fair because most food booths are only doing one thing so there is no cross-contamination. For example: french fries or chocolate covered bacon or Indian kebabs.   But I live in California and I am heading to the state fair today! Does anybody have any great food suggestions that are definitely gluten-free there? Thanks, Celiac C.
    • Hi.  I have been reading your post and thinking about how my pain was around diagnosis.  It was above the belly button, I think where you are describing.  At the time I assumed I had a stomach ulcer.   I had been taking Neurofen for an ear problem and assumed it was the NSAID that had caused my stomach ulcer (which I actually didn't have, when I had an endoscopy a few weeks later my stomach was looking great! My small intestine was not!).   Going back to the pain, it was a burning feeling.   My doctor prescribed Omeprazole but it didn't touch it.   In fact I ended up with bad D. which eventually lead to me having all the tests for Celiac Disease.   I still get that pain if I eat oats (pure oats) that are supposed to be OK for most Celiacs.     I get various pains in different places in my digestive tract from time to time, but that burning pain is something I won't forget. The other thing I had that you mention was that pain between the shoulder blades.  I had that - I felt almost like someone was pushing my shoulders down.  So odd. I get palpitations when I am anemic.    I hope you get some answers soon.  It is pretty tough having to keep going from one doctor to another, but sometimes it is the only way.   
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,132
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Feralgurl
    Joined