Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Worcestershire Souce Substitute


  • Please log in to reply

46 replies to this topic

#16 2Boys4Me

 
2Boys4Me

    Ty & me

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
 

Posted 09 January 2007 - 03:14 PM

Wallflower - I'm not trying to be pushy either, but one of the first ingredients on Lea & Perrins in Canada is malt vinegar (at least it was in Dec. 2006).

I don't know how the company can say that it is safe. I'm emailing the company to try to straighten this out.

Huh. They don't even have email. They have a phone number which they will more than likely not answer because it's after 4pm Eastern.
  • 0
Linda, Mom to Ty (11 years old)
Ty was diagnosed by blood test June 7/05
biopsy Aug 11/05, diagnosis confirmed Aug 18/05
Mom, Dad and big brother Celiac-free.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#17 par18

 
par18

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 434 posts
 

Posted 09 January 2007 - 03:29 PM

I also e-mailed french's and they replied that their worcestershire sauce is gluten free.


I use French's also with no problems.

Tom
  • 0

#18 Michi8

 
Michi8

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
 

Posted 09 January 2007 - 03:30 PM

(I am not trying to be pushy- but I was really woried about it so I looked it up and called them)
CarrieFaith and Psawyer-- It it the same recepie in Canada and USA and safe for Celiac

Acording to the L&P web site Fiddle Faddle is correct--
http://www.leaperrin...acts.php#qsudan

Is the Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce sold in the US the same as the sauce sold in the rest of the world?
Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is made to the original recipe in two factories. The original factory in Worcester, and a sister factory in New Jersey USA. The New Jersey factory follows the same recipe as the Worcester factory, although some ingredients are sourced locally. Product sold in the rest of the world is manufactured and exported from our factory in Worcester, UK. (Worcester refers to the town itself, whilst Worcestershire indicates the 'shire' or county in which the town of Worcester is located).

Is Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce gluten free?
Lea & Perrins Worcestershire is suitable for a coeliac diet, for further information on Nutritional and Allergy queries please contact us.



Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce sold in Canada is from the UK. The UK follows the Codex Alimentarius for gluten free foods...which allows for gluten under a certain detectable level. So, there is gluten in their Worcestershire Sauce, but they can say it's "suitable for a coeliac diet." It's up to you to decide if the level is safe enough for you to consume. BTW, Rice Krispies are apparently safe to eat in the UK for this same reason, even though they have the same recipe as in North America. :)

Michelle
  • 0

#19 de caps

 
de caps

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
 

Posted 17 January 2007 - 08:34 AM

I haven't found French's in Canada either. I use a recipe I found on the internet.

Homemade Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon pepper
Place all ingredients in a medium saucepan and stir thoroughly.
Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Simmer 1 minute. Cool.
Store in the refrigerator.
Makes about 3/4 cup.
Shake well before using.



This sounds great. I thought SOY SAUCE WAS not gluten-free.
  • 0
Celiac Disease 08/05
Osteoporosis 08/05 (age 38 )
Fibromyalgia, Microscopic Colitis, Elevated ANA (1:1280) 09/07
Mom of three. Daughter with gene marker for Celiac. No signs of disease

Donna
Long Island, NY

#20 Fiddle-Faddle

 
Fiddle-Faddle

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,159 posts
 

Posted 17 January 2007 - 08:49 AM

La Choy soy sauce and San-J wheat-free tamari are both gluten-free. Read labels carefully, as San-J has several gluten-containing tamaris.
  • 0

#21 2Boys4Me

 
2Boys4Me

    Ty & me

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
 

Posted 17 January 2007 - 09:19 AM

As mentioned, it depends on the soy sauce. I'm in Canada, I use VH. I don't think that's available in the states, but Fiddle-Faddle has given you a couple of options.
  • 0
Linda, Mom to Ty (11 years old)
Ty was diagnosed by blood test June 7/05
biopsy Aug 11/05, diagnosis confirmed Aug 18/05
Mom, Dad and big brother Celiac-free.

#22 de caps

 
de caps

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
 

Posted 17 January 2007 - 10:57 AM

As mentioned, it depends on the soy sauce. I'm in Canada, I use VH. I don't think that's available in the states, but Fiddle-Faddle has given you a couple of options.



Thanks for the information. I never checked the labels because the nutrutionist that I saw when first diagnosed said it had gluten. This is also why I avoid most Chinese food. Thank you both so much for this information. I' m happy to put this back on my can have list.

Donna
  • 0
Celiac Disease 08/05
Osteoporosis 08/05 (age 38 )
Fibromyalgia, Microscopic Colitis, Elevated ANA (1:1280) 09/07
Mom of three. Daughter with gene marker for Celiac. No signs of disease

Donna
Long Island, NY

#23 Nancym

 
Nancym

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,026 posts
 

Posted 17 January 2007 - 04:38 PM

You can make malt from things other than barley, maybe they did that?
  • 0

#24 2Boys4Me

 
2Boys4Me

    Ty & me

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
 

Posted 17 January 2007 - 04:50 PM

I don't know. I always assume it's from barley and have never actually investigated it. (I'm talking about L&P, I think you are, too?)
  • 0
Linda, Mom to Ty (11 years old)
Ty was diagnosed by blood test June 7/05
biopsy Aug 11/05, diagnosis confirmed Aug 18/05
Mom, Dad and big brother Celiac-free.

#25 larry mac

 
larry mac

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,201 posts
 

Posted 17 January 2007 - 07:17 PM

I don't have a bottle of Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce right now (I'm so ashamed as it's undoubtably the very best, and I bought French's last time 'cause it was cheaper), but I'm pretty sure it contains both anchovies and tamarinds. Don't know about gluten. Here are the ingredients listed on a bottle of French's made in the USA from my fridge (should be listed by weight right?):

~ distilled vinegar
~ molasses
~ corn syrup
~ water
~ caramel color
~ sugar
~ spices ( aha! could be 2 or 100 )
~ anchovies
~ natural flavor ( just one?)
~ tamarind

Unless the gluten is from the secret natural flavor, I guess it's gluten-free. lm



I haven't found French's in Canada either. I use a recipe I found on the internet.

Homemade Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon pepper
Place all ingredients in a medium saucepan and stir thoroughly.
Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Simmer 1 minute. Cool.
Store in the refrigerator.
Makes about 3/4 cup.
Shake well before using.


  • 0

gluten-free 12-18-06

colonoscopy, upper GI
blood, urine, stool tests, prometheus panel
positive endoscopy/positive duodenal biopsies (severe villous atrophy, high intraepithelial lympocytes)
diagnosed celiac disease by Gastroenterologist Andrew R. Gottesman, 12-18-06

"Sobriety sucks. That's why they invented booze in the first place." Denis Leary - Rescue Me

Beware the chocolate of Chiapa


#26 ArtGirl

 
ArtGirl

    Winter Forest - watercolor

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 741 posts
 

Posted 17 January 2007 - 07:56 PM

Here are the ingredients listed on a bottle of French's made in the USA from my fridge (should be listed by weight right?):

~ distilled vinegar
~ molasses
~ corn syrup
~ water
~ caramel color
~ sugar
~ spices ( aha! could be 2 or 100 )
~ anchovies
~ natural flavor ( just one?)
~ tamarind


FYI - from http://www.crfg.org/...f/tamarind.html

Tamarinds are slow-growing, long-lived, evergreen trees that under optimum conditions can grow 80 feet high with a spread of 20 to 35 ft., in its native eastern Africa and Asia. However, in Southern California it seldom reaches more than 15 to 25 ft. in height.

The 3 - 8 inch long, brown, irregularly curved pods are borne in abundance along the new branches. As the pods mature, they fill out somewhat and the juicy, acidulous pulp turns brown or reddish-brown. When fully ripe, the shells are brittle and easily broken. The pulp dehydrates to a sticky paste enclosed by a few coarse stands of fiber. The pods may contain from 1 to 12 large, flat, glossy brown, obovate seeds embedded in the brown, edible pulp. The pulp has a pleasing sweet/sour flavor and is high in both acid and sugar. It is also rich in vitamin B and high in calcium. There are wide differences in fruit size and flavor in seedling trees. Indian types have longer pods with 6 - 12 seeds, while the West Indian types have shorter pods containing only 3 - 6 seeds. Most tamarinds in the Americas are of the shorter type

Tamarinds may be eaten fresh, but they area most commonly used with sugar and water in the American tropics to prepare a cooling drink. The pulp is used to flavor preserves and chutney, to make meat sauces ant to pickle fish. Candy can be made by mixing the pulp with dry sugar and molding it into desired shapes.


... I'd never heard of a tamarine so did a google search for it. :)
  • 0
Valda
Enterolab results: ...two genes for gluten intolerance ...casein intolerance
other sensitivities: corn, eggs, soy, potato, tapioca
Hypoglycemic
Sensitivity to high EMFs [electromagnetic frequency] (limits my time in front of the computer)
Living a healthier, happier life.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me.Psalm 139: 9,10

#27 sandib5

 
sandib5

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 01 June 2008 - 02:40 PM

Lee and Perrins does in fact have Malt Vinegar in it and Malt Vinegar is made from Barley and Barley has gluten -- therefore, Lee and Perrins is NOT Gluten Free. They have different standards in the UK and they send the concentrate here to their New Jersey plant and it also contains Malt Vinegar and is not safe for any Celiac to use.


Hello, Thanks for the prompt reply!
Isn't there malt vinegar in Lea and Perrins??

Thanks in advance,
MM


  • 0

#28 sandib5

 
sandib5

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 01 June 2008 - 02:44 PM

Make sure that Soy Sauce is also gluten free -- Most Soy Sauce made in the US contains wheat. Bragg's is gluten free and I found one in my local supermarket that is gluten free.

I don't have a bottle of Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce right now (I'm so ashamed as it's undoubtably the very best, and I bought French's last time 'cause it was cheaper), but I'm pretty sure it contains both anchovies and tamarinds. Don't know about gluten. Here are the ingredients listed on a bottle of French's made in the USA from my fridge (should be listed by weight right?):

~ distilled vinegar
~ molasses
~ corn syrup
~ water
~ caramel color
~ sugar
~ spices ( aha! could be 2 or 100 )
~ anchovies
~ natural flavor ( just one?)
~ tamarind

Unless the gluten is from the secret natural flavor, I guess it's gluten-free. lm


  • 0

#29 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 01 June 2008 - 05:00 PM

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce varies from country to country with respect to the vinegar: "Some ingredients are sourced locally." Here in Canada, the first ingredient listed is "Malt Vinegar (from barley)." In the United States, it is my understanding that the vinegar used is distilled, which would make it safe regardless of source (but it is not barley-- understand that it is corn). I can't use the L&P sold here, but I expect to be in the states next month and will pick some up gluten-free bottles and bring them back with me. I cannot speak to the UK formulation. The stuff sold in the US is made in the US. The stuff sold in Canada is made in Canada (under license by E.D.Smith).

As far as I know, French's is gluten-free, but I can't find it in any store.

Always read labels.

NOTE: This is an old thread, recently revived. The information in the early part of the thread may no longer be correct, as formulas change.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#30 Michi8

 
Michi8

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
 

Posted 02 June 2008 - 06:32 AM

My understanding is that it's not the vinegar, but the soy sauce ingredient that is the problem. I have found Heinz worcestershire sauce (in Canada) that has soy sauce without wheat...and there is no barley malts in the ingredients either.

Michelle

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce varies from country to country with respect to the vinegar: "Some ingredients are sourced locally." Here in Canada, the first ingredient listed is "Malt Vinegar (from barley)." In the United States, it is my understanding that the vinegar used is distilled, which would make it safe regardless of source (but it is not barley-- understand that it is corn). I can't use the L&P sold here, but I expect to be in the states next month and will pick some up gluten-free bottles and bring them back with me. I cannot speak to the UK formulation. The stuff sold in the US is made in the US. The stuff sold in Canada is made in Canada (under license by E.D.Smith).

As far as I know, French's is gluten-free, but I can't find it in any store.

Always read labels.

NOTE: This is an old thread, recently revived. The information in the early part of the thread may no longer be correct, as formulas change.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: