Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Worcestershire Souce Substitute


  • Please log in to reply

46 replies to this topic

#31 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,057 posts
 

Posted 02 June 2008 - 06:41 AM

My comments about ingredients were specific to the Lea & Perrins brand, which does not have soy sauce as an ingredient. With that brand, it is the malt vinegar that is the issue with the Canadian version.

I keep looking in stores, but all I ever seem to see is Lea & Perrins. I've never seen Heinz or French's. Soy sauce is a possible source of gluten since it frequently contains wheat, but it is not an ingredient in the L&P sauce.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#32 Michi8

 
Michi8

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
 

Posted 02 June 2008 - 07:14 AM

My comments about ingredients were specific to the Lea & Perrins brand, which does not have soy sauce as an ingredient. With that brand, it is the malt vinegar that is the issue with the Canadian version.

I keep looking in stores, but all I ever seem to see is Lea & Perrins. I've never seen Heinz or French's. Soy sauce is a possible source of gluten since it frequently contains wheat, but it is not an ingredient in the L&P sauce.


I know you were being specific to the Lea & Perrins brand. And you are correct, the offending ingredient is barley malt vinegar (I had to look it up online, because I threw out my bottle (Canadian) a long time ago.) In checking out the online info, I did find out that Heinz has owned Lea & Perrins since 2005. The Heinz worcestershire sauce contains white vinegar and soy sauce without wheat. As far as I can tell it is not available in the US market, but is available in Canada.

Michelle
  • 0

#33 Lynne B.

 
Lynne B.

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 07 January 2009 - 08:25 PM

Hi,

I'm newly diagnosed (living in Canada) and was unsure about Worcestershire sauce, so wrote to Lea & Perrins. I rec'd this reply 3 days ago:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. As per your inquiry, please be advised that the Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce distributed in Canada is not gluten free, due to the malt vinegar. However, the HP Sauce sold in Canada is indeed gluten free. Should you require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us further.

Sincerely,


Gina D. Woodside
Consumer Services Coordinator
H.J. Heinz Company of Canada Ltd

Hope this helps to avoid any confusion in Canada. Guess I'll have to get some from the U.S., as it would be hard to live without! :)
  • 0

#34 Tiffm

 
Tiffm

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 05 April 2011 - 09:33 AM

Hello,

I am brand new to this board so please tell me if this is in the wrong category.

I am looking for a gluten-free Worcestershire Sauce substitute.
Is there such a thing???

Thanks in advance, I am going to post like a madman on here now that I found this!

MM




The internet is a beautiful thing these days... if you are from Canada and want to order American Lea and Perrins just head over to Amazon and get it :)
  • 0

#35 love2travel

 
love2travel

    ńĆeznem da se u Hrvatskoj!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,847 posts
 

Posted 05 April 2011 - 01:59 PM

The internet is a beautiful thing these days... if you are from Canada and want to order American Lea and Perrins just head over to Amazon and get it :)



Or get someone from the US to bring it back! I requested a whole case of the stuff from my in-laws who spent the winter down south. When my husband travels on business he picks some up for me, too. :) Too bad he didn't have room in his luggage for Chex...
  • 0
<p>Confirmed celiac disease February 2011 from biopsies. Strictly gluten free March 18 2011.Diagnosed with fibromyalgia April 13 2011.3 herniated discs, myofascial pain syndrome, IT band syndrome, 2 rotator cuff injuries - from an accident Dec. 07 - resulting in chronic pain ever since. Degenerative disc disease.Osteoarthritis in back and hips.Chronic insomnia mostly due to chronic pain.Aspartame free May 2011.

When our lives are squeezed by pressure and pain, what comes out is what is inside.

#36 etta694

 
etta694

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 258 posts
 

Posted 05 April 2011 - 07:07 PM

http://www.mywholede...tershire-sauce/

and then there's Wizard's Gluten Free... which isn't as good as Lea and Perrins but I am quite happy with it for Caesar Salads.
  • 0
Anemia and IBS through my life
2005 Joint pain, exhaustion, general feeling of not being well 2006 Beginning of testing for everything but Celiac 2008 Bloating, more muscle stiffness, feeling sicker, more exhausted-testing 'normal' 2010 March insides begin to shut down, cough that won't go away 2010 June Colonoscopy, Endoscopy, biopsy - all show no problems
Self diagnosed gluten intolerant - went gluten free. Within 3 days feeling better.
After 5 days - insides began to move
Now - feel better than I have felt for 15 years (except when I gluten myself.. which I'm good at)

#37 DougE

 
DougE

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 86 posts
 

Posted 06 April 2011 - 01:18 PM

I just went to their US website http://www.leaperrin...nutrition.aspx. Nothing to worry about in the ingredients.

But on the Canadian site http://www.leaperrin...Nutritional.jpg, The first ingredient is malt vinegar.
  • 0

#38 SMG25

 
SMG25

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 10 August 2011 - 08:17 AM

I'm new as well (just diagnosed 2 weeks ago...ugh!!)
Just wondering if worcestershire sauce has soy sauce in it because I noticed regular soy sauce has wheat in it....I'm soooo confused with all of this!!!!!
  • 0

#39 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 10 August 2011 - 08:30 AM

As you should be able to see from this thread, a lot can depend on where you live. Anyway, in the U.S. every worcestershire sauce I've seen has been gluten-free. IF you find a sauce that has soy sauce in it, then you have to continue reading the contents to see if that soy sauce has wheat. Some soy sauces do not have wheat. If the soy sauce does have wheat, the wheat will be clearly listed.

richard
  • 0

#40 geekfarmer

 
geekfarmer

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 25 November 2011 - 06:52 PM

(I am not trying to be pushy- but I was really woried about it so I looked it up and called them)


CarrieFaith and Psawyer-- It it the same recepie in Canada and USA and safe for Celiac

Acording to the L&P web site Fiddle Faddle is correct--
http://www.leaperrin...acts.php#qsudan

Is the Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce sold in the US the same as the sauce sold in the rest of the world?
Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is made to the original recipe in two factories. The original factory in Worcester, and a sister factory in New Jersey USA. The New Jersey factory follows the same recipe as the Worcester factory, although some ingredients are sourced locally. Product sold in the rest of the world is manufactured and exported from our factory in Worcester, UK. (Worcester refers to the town itself, whilst Worcestershire indicates the 'shire' or county in which the town of Worcester is located).

Is Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce gluten free?
Lea & Perrins Worcestershire is suitable for a coeliac diet, for further information on Nutritional and Allergy queries please contact us.


I am in oklahoma, just checked the bottle and it lists soy sauce which can have gluren.
  • 0

#41 kareng

 
kareng

    Gobble! Gobble!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,240 posts
 

Posted 25 November 2011 - 07:25 PM

I am in oklahoma, just checked the bottle and it lists soy sauce which can have gluren.


If you are talking about Lea & Perrins Worchestershire sauce in the US, it is most definitely gluten free. It states it on the bottle. Soy sauce is not even listed as an ingredient. If soy sauce were an ingredient, it would list, usually in ( )the ingredients of the soy sauce. There are soy sauces without wheat
  • 0

Thanksgiving dinners take 18 hours to prepare.  They are consumed in 12 minutes.  Half-times take 12 minutes.  This is not a coincidence.  - Emma Bombeck
 
dancing-turkey.gif
 
 
 
 

 


#42 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts
 

Posted 25 November 2011 - 07:29 PM

I am in oklahoma, just checked the bottle and it lists soy sauce which can have gluren.


Yes it CAN have gluten, but if it does not list wheat, it's not in there. Not all soy sauces contain wheat.

Please take note that the origin of this thread was four years ago.
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#43 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,057 posts
 

Posted 25 November 2011 - 07:48 PM

Another old topic brought back from the dead. :(

Lea & Perrins may be made to the same recipe in Canada and the US, but the ingredients are not the same. The "original recipe" apparently calls for "vinegar." :blink:

In the US, distilled vinegar is used by Heinz to make L&P--they own the brand. :)

In the United Kingdom, malt vinegar from barley is used. The product sold in Canada is imported from the UK. :(

So, gluten-free in the US, but not in Canada and the UK. :rolleyes:

If you are in Canada, you may be able to find gluten-free Heinz-branded Worcestershire sauce at a Wal-Mart Super Center. As far as I can tell, it is identical to the US version of L&P. Metro has a version under their house brand, Selection, which has different ingredients, but none of them contain gluten.

Neither the version of L&P sold in the US, nor the one sold in Canada and the UK, has soy sauce as an ingredient. :huh:
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#44 Beth Anastasia

 
Beth Anastasia

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 14 December 2011 - 02:02 PM

(I am not trying to be pushy- but I was really woried about it so I looked it up and called them)


CarrieFaith and Psawyer-- It it the same recepie in Canada and USA and safe for Celiac

Acording to the L&P web site Fiddle Faddle is correct--
http://www.leaperrin...acts.php#qsudan

Is the Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce sold in the US the same as the sauce sold in the rest of the world?
Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is made to the original recipe in two factories. The original factory in Worcester, and a sister factory in New Jersey USA. The New Jersey factory follows the same recipe as the Worcester factory, although some ingredients are sourced locally. Product sold in the rest of the world is manufactured and exported from our factory in Worcester, UK. (Worcester refers to the town itself, whilst Worcestershire indicates the 'shire' or county in which the town of Worcester is located).

Is Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce gluten free?
Lea & Perrins Worcestershire is suitable for a coeliac diet, for further information on Nutritional and Allergy queries please contact us.


Well, that seems strange, because I was just looking at the label yesterday, and it states Malt Vinegar (Made from Barley) ... So I wonder why they would put that if it is gluten free. I'm not going to take a chance though.

Next to that bottle there was a Worcestershire Sauce from Heinz. It didn't look like it had any gluten.. It did have a vinegar, and I think it was a malt, but I know that Malt vinegar can be from other sources other than Barley. Does anyone know about the Heinz one?
  • 0

#45 kareng

 
kareng

    Gobble! Gobble!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,240 posts
 

Posted 14 December 2011 - 03:02 PM

Well, that seems strange, because I was just looking at the label yesterday, and it states Malt Vinegar (Made from Barley) ... So I wonder why they would put that if it is gluten free. I'm not going to take a chance though.

Next to that bottle there was a Worcestershire Sauce from Heinz. It didn't look like it had any gluten.. It did have a vinegar, and I think it was a malt, but I know that Malt vinegar can be from other sources other than Barley. Does anyone know about the Heinz one?


What you are responding to is from 2007. Products change over time. Also, the ingredients may be different from country to country.

I am in the US. The Lea & Perrins in my fridge does not contain malt vinegar.
  • 0

Thanksgiving dinners take 18 hours to prepare.  They are consumed in 12 minutes.  Half-times take 12 minutes.  This is not a coincidence.  - Emma Bombeck
 
dancing-turkey.gif
 
 
 
 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: