This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How Sensitive Is Everyone?

Nadtorious

Nadtorious Rookie

I've had celiac disease for a little while now-getting used to the diet and how to cope. I've determined that I'm pretty darn sensitive-I can't tolerate any of the pre-made gluten-free foods (breads, cookies, pastas, etc.). I've been doing a whole foods diet for a few months now-meat, potatoes, eggs, veggies, fruits, and am feeling great. I'm coming close to getting it down to nearly 100%-however, I've noticed lately that my morning breakfast of hardboiled eggs and a baked potato have been giving me small but noticeable reactions.

I know it's not from cross-contamination-I have a gluten-free kitchen. I don't put anything on either food-just plain eggs and potatoes. The only two things I can think of are the pot I boil my eggs in-it was a hand-me-down from my gluten-eating sister. I washed the pot three times in the dishwasher before even bringing it into my house-and it's stainless steel, which I've heard does not absorb gluten. The other consideration which my incredibly patient and supportive fiance brought up is the eggs-I don't wash them before I boil them. Could this be it?

I'm getting so frustrated-I'm almost positive it's nothing else-my toothpaste, soap, cosmetics, and all else are gluten-free, my job isn't causing it, and I'm not putting anything in my mouth besides my food. I'd love to hear everyone's opinion on how sensitive they are-I know personally I can't even walk into a grocery store without having a reaction.

Please help!!!!!!!

Nadia in Denver

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):