This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

The First Few Signs....

Guest ~jules~

Guest ~jules~

I'm pretty sure I've been glutened, but not sure yet...If you know what I mean (D)....I feel really tired, -_- I have a headache, and the fog is coming on I can feel it....What are the first signs you have when you suspect a glutening? I'm relatively new to this (august), and have only been glutened a few times. Just morbidly curious I guess.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Nantzie Collaborator

For me, the first sign is usually irritability. If I get upset about things that didn't happen recently. Like rehashing things that don't effect my life now, I'm pretty sure the rest of the symptoms will be coming soon. The last time I got glutened, I started getting mad all over again about a fight I had had with someone a year ago. Which was resolved. But I'm still all of a sudden enFURIATED about it. BUT... ONLY when I'm glutened. When I'm not glutened, if it even crosses my mind, I don't put much importance or thought into it. It's totally over and done with and I get along great with her now.

For me the progression is usually -

Irritability/anger/obsessing about things that are over and done

Horrible headache w/sensitivity to sound and light

Sleepiness to the point I can barely keep my eyes open

Loss of appetite

Stomach irritation w/ cravings for sweets.

Slight brainfog

Most of the time when I get glutened it's just those. The next layer if I get glutened really bad is all of the above plus -

Stomach pain

Diarrhea

Nausea