Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Which Turkey's Are Gluten Free?
0

38 posts in this topic

Which popular turkey's are gluten free? i.e. Butterball, Perdue, etc. Does anyone know off hand?

Thanks in advance....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

This is a good project:

Try.......

www.butterball.com

www.purdue.com

I bet you will get an answer within 24 hours.

This is something that I have never done. I will do this tomorrow, but if someone beats me to it, please post. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know Butter Ball wasn't several years ago, they injected some gluteney juice stuff into them. Not sure any more. I usually just get a "natural" trukey to stay on the safe side.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I emailed Butterball last week and this was their response. I copied and pasted. ENJOY!! :D

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for contacting the Butterball Turkey Talk Line by email.

When there are dietary concerns, we advise purchasing Butterball Fresh Turkey and Butterball Fresh Breast of Turkey, which are all-natural and contain no added ingredients. The breast meat of Butterball Frozen Turkeys, including Butterball Frozen Stuffed Turkey, is deep basted with a patented recipe of ingredients to yield a more uniformly juicy and tender turkey after cooking. Individual ingredients (water, salt, sodium phosphate to retain natural juices, modified food starch [corn or potato source], dextrose and natural flavors -- no allergenic ingredients) are specified on the labels of all Butterball Frozen Turkeys and Butterball frozen line extension products. (Although wheat and rye gluten-free, the recipe does include 0.5 ppm corn protein.)

Because Butterball Frozen Stuffed Turkey (and Butterball Stuffed Frozen Breast of Turkey) is stuffed with a traditional bread stuffing, it does contain gluten. The gravy packets that come with some Butterball Turkey products also contain gluten.

If you have further questions regarding gluten in a Butterball product, please call Consumer Affairs (1-800-325-7424). When calling, please have available the UPC number of the product in question.

Don't hesitate to contact us again for additional information or advice. Enjoy the best of all from Butterball!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's the reply I got from Honeysuckle...I specifically asked about gluten, casein and soy:

Thank you for contacting Honeysuckle White.

Our fresh and frozen whole turkeys are injected with a basting solution

that contains turkey broth (turkey juice and water), salt, sodium

phosphate, sugar and a natural flavoring that is an allergen free, non-dairy

butter flavoring.

The product is MSG, gluten, soy and dairy/casien free.

I hope this helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




YAY! I was just wondering about this today in the store!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To find gluten-free turkey all you have to do is read the ingredients. USDA law REQUIRES that anything that adds nutrition -- which includes all grains -- be clearly listed. This is true for any plain raw meat.

I've never found a turkey that has gluten unless it was stuffed.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yesterday in the store a Norbest turkey wrapper said "Gluten Free" on it, right there in plain sight! Good for them!

I believe Jenny-o's are also gluten free, but double check on their website . . . they were gluten-free the last time I checked, but it's been a while.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My Honeysuckle turkey said free of gluten on the front! I decided to go with that one because it was cheaper than Butterball and they actually labeled their product.

Hez

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you all! :) Another addition is Shadybrook Farms has it on the front of their label too, No artificial, no MSG, Gluten Free.

KLS

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My mother in law told me yesterday that the safeway brand of turkey (can't remember the name) also says "gluten free" on the package . . . we're going there for Thanksgiving, so we're working together to make sure my daughter can eat, too!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is the response I received from Perdue.

Thank you for your interest in learning more about PERDUE® turkeys. Ourfresh, all natural turkeys are gluten free. We are continually introducing new products to the marketplace, andtherefore routinely update our list of gluten free items. We areforwarding you a copy of our current list by mail. This list is alsoavailable on our web site and can also be accessed at [url=http://www.perdue.com/products/gluten_free_products.html/url]

.Please feel free to contact a consumer representative toll free at1-800-4PERDUE® (1-800-473-7383) Monday through Friday 9:30 AM to 6:00 PMET, or email us at www.perdue.com®. Again, thank you for your interest in PERDUE® products. Mary Beth JamesConsumer Relations 000548816A

My hubby was even impressed....

Shelli

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gluten free or not I am leary of buying injected turkeys. The so-called natural injected turkeys are injected with sodium phosphate and broth. I have searched the web looking for something to indict this chemical. I found a Mother Earht Newa article June/July 2007

"Shocking News About Meat'' By Laura Sayre --- find it (for now) at:

http://www.motherearthnews.com/Whole-Foods...About-Meat.aspx

Anyway, organic meat is not allowed to have sodium phosphate injected in it. Elsewhere I found that sodium phosphate is used in homeophathy. If you know the theory behind homeophathy then you too would be a little leary of sodium phosphate. The homeophathic theory goes something like this: whatever substance causes a certain disease or pathology you take it in minute amounts to conteract that very pathology. It sor tof works that way with medicinal herbs as well-- the healing amounts are usually merely greater. If you overdose on an herb you are taking to fix a certain condition or pathology, it will make that condition worse.

Here is a list of homeopathic pathologies I found associated with sodicum phosphate:

Acidity

Colic

Indigestion

Diarrhea

Fatigue

Headaches

Muscleaches

Cramps

Heartburn

Joint pain

Back pain

Fatigue

I think there is too much sodium phosphate in injected turkeys to be healthy especially for someone with celiac disease. But in the end I have to conclude that injected turkeys just taste yucky and wrong to me, and that should be a good enough reason not to buy an injected turkey health reasons or not.

Last year Foster Farms turkeys were still injection free. More and more turkeys are turning up injected and I fear the worst. I haven't found a injection free turkey yet, but I haven't checked out this year's batch of Foster Farms. I am heartened by the fact that at one point the big chain grocery stores started injecting all the fresh pork and consumers rebelled. Now fresh pork is once again readily available with out being injected with weird salts.

Good luck Happy Thanksgiving

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Foster Farms is free of additives and preservatives but also $2.99/lb. The smallest I found was $16.50. Ouch!

I just bought a turkey at Safeway and it doesn't list any gluten or wheat but it also does not say gluten free. : (

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"I know Butter Ball wasn't several years ago, they injected some gluteney juice stuff into them."

Not true. I've been gluten-free more than 7 years and BB has been gluten-free that whole time.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting.

Eating gluten free and msg free is challenging because so many companies disguise msg with names such as "autolyzed yeast extract" and a myriad of other names. I still remember getting sick after eating a Thanksgiving meal at my mother's in the late 80s/early 90s and discovering later they were starting the injecting craze.

I also am leary about anything they inject because they have many ways to disguise msg and probably gluten also on the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"I also am leary about anything they inject because they have many ways to disguise msg and probably gluten also on the label."

True for MSG. But, once again, on meats like turkey, gluten CANNOT be hidden. It will be plainly listed. Period.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Which popular turkey's are gluten free? i.e. Butterball, Perdue, etc. Does anyone know off hand?

Thanks in advance....

Don't worry about the brand name, just look for an all natural turkey with no additives and no preservatives. That's the only way to know it's gluten free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Don't worry about the brand name, just look for an all natural turkey with no additives and no preservatives. That's the only way to know it's gluten free

That is one way. It is, however, not the ONLY way. In the US, as has been previously noted, if any grain product is present in any meat, it MUST be declared on the label. Gluten comes from certain grains, and therefore there is no way it can be hidden in another ingredient in a meat product in the US. Period.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Don't worry about the brand name, just look for an all natural turkey with no additives and no preservatives. That's the only way to know it's gluten free "

I'm sorry, but that is NOT the only way.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
"I also am leary about anything they inject because they have many ways to disguise msg and probably gluten also on the label."

True for MSG. But, once again, on meats like turkey, gluten CANNOT be hidden. It will be plainly listed. Period.

richard

Many turkeys have a broth added, that broth can contain barley hidden in natural flavors. It is true that if there is wheat in the broth that it will be listed but that is not the case for barley or malt which is the bigger risk.

If you go for a turkey that is not prebasted and does not have broth on the label you should be fine.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
"Don't worry about the brand name, just look for an all natural turkey with no additives and no preservatives. That's the only way to know it's gluten free "

I'm sorry, but that is NOT the only way.

richard

I agree heartily with this, natural flavors are one of the biggest risks on our labels and is where you may find barley hidden. Instead look for a turkey that is just that turkey with no broth or flavorings.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Richard not to be rude, but they did not used to be gluten-free. I know this for a fact. My mom called and confirmed after I spent Thanksgiving night in the ER due to the butterball turkey my grandma made for dinner. (back then we ate at 2 P.M. for holiday dinners, not sure why).

Either way I have been gluten-free for 21 years now. I believe this happened about 18-19 years ago. I have since avoided that brand. I said several years ago they weren't okay. I haven't looked into it since, was just stating that they weren't several years ago.

Just wanted to clear up my statement. :)

"I know Butter Ball wasn't several years ago, they injected some gluteney juice stuff into them."

Not true. I've been gluten-free more than 7 years and BB has been gluten-free that whole time.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Many turkeys have a broth added, that broth can contain barley hidden in natural flavors. It is true that if there is wheat in the broth that it will be listed but that is not the case for barley or malt which is the bigger risk.

If you go for a turkey that is not prebasted and does not have broth on the label you should be fine.

That is not the case for USDA meats, which states that any grains that are added to a meat product must be listed - so it does include other sources of gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi

We got our free Albertson Turkey and was trying to find on line if it is gluten free.

thought maybe some of you would know.

I know the one they gave out last year was and the jenni-o was.

Let's hope this 17#'r is

Judy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,115
    • Total Posts
      919,447
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
    • I'm glad I found these forums!  I will spend some more time this evening reading through them.  But I wanted to get my question out there just to see if anyone else might have answers quicker than I can sift through the forum for them.      I've been feeling terrible for about a year, and after an elimination diet last month, figured out that if nothing else, gluten/wheat is a problem.  After lots of research, I abandoned the elimination diet and added gluten back in, so that I could get tested for Celiac.   I was off gluten for 3 weeks, from mid-June until early July.  I've had it back in my diet for almost 3 weeks now.    My question is this: Since I was off gluten for 3 weeks, and now back on for almost 3, is that enough time on to yield a positive Celiac blood test, if that indeed is what I have?  All the research I've done says 4-6 weeks for a gluten challenge, but is that really necessary if I was only not eating it for 3 weeks?  I am desperate to get this testing done and over with.  I feel terrible all the time and getting through the day is a struggle.  My doctor ran allergy panels already and everything came back clear except for a mild wheat allergy.  So if nothing else, I'll have to give up wheat for sure at the end of all this.  I get the feeling she doesn't know a ton about Celiac though, so I'm doing a lot of the research on my own. Any advice or information would be so appreciated! 
    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
    • Finally, proof that non-celiac gluten sensitivity is real. ... for the 30 percent of consumers who choose to buy gluten-free products and the 41 percent of ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined