Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Cornstarch?
0

11 posts in this topic

Hi-

Are all brands of cornstarch safe? Any I should look out for (stay away from)? I'm thinking about the gravy on Thanksgiving!!

Thanks

Cali

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Corn starch is safe. It is gluten free. If you have a problem with corn as some do, then it is not.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was informed that corn starch can have gluten in it. Same as spices they use it to keep it from clumping. I was told that the Argo brand corn starch is ok.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was informed that corn starch can have gluten in it. Same as spices they use it to keep it from clumping. I was told that the Argo brand corn starch is ok.

The best source, is the information listed on the ingredient label.

Pulled out of the pantry is Rumford, Naturals Corn Starch, lists........"made from genetically modified corn."

By law, if wheat is in the caking agent it is required to list it as "wheat". I find it unlikely that corn starch would have an anti-caking ingredient.

I hope this was helpful. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lisa's assessment is correct.

Also, the FDA mandates labeling laws, beyond just the 8 main allergens. If something is 100% pure, then it just says "Cornstarch" (Or, "SUGAR" or, "ROSEMARY") and can say it on the front, etc. It doesn't have to specifically say

Ingredients: Cornstarch.

But, once another ingredient is added, then they have to list them all, specifically. So, pure spices (made in America) have to be pure. Now, that may have been different years ago, which is how these things get passed around. but now, if it only says "Thyme," it is mandated to be Thyme.

here is the link to the fda: http://www.cfsan.fda.gov/~dms/fdnewlab.html

Ingredient Labeling

Ingredient declaration is required on all foods that have more than one ingredient.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I'm amazed that people still believe that wheat flour HAS to be listed in the ingredients list. The FDA is clear on this that wheat flour does NOT need to be listed even if it is used as an ingredient because of the Generally Recognized As Safe (GRAS) principle. In the eyes of the FDA, gluten is not a serious-enough allergen to warrant that all cases of gluten contamination during the manufacture of a food product has to been declared on the ingredients list. This is what celiacs have to put up with until the law is changed.

Right now the label 'gluten free' is a unregulated label and is more of a form of advertising than a guarantee (see BP Oil disaster for examples of companies policing themselves to guarantee safety at the cost of profits). The only thing celiacs have to be sure is trial and error and the reputation of the company that CLAIMS to be selling gluten-free products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

References? Yes, wheat must be disclosed on the ingredient label if it is an ingredient. Please do not make wild claims without evidence to back them up.

Take care,

Scott

I'm amazed that people still believe that wheat flour HAS to be listed in the ingredients list. The FDA is clear on this that wheat flour does NOT need to be listed even if it is used as an ingredient because of the Generally Recognized As Safe (GRAS) principle. In the eyes of the FDA, gluten is not a serious-enough allergen to warrant that all cases of gluten contamination during the manufacture of a food product has to been declared on the ingredients list. This is what celiacs have to put up with until the law is changed.

Right now the label 'gluten free' is a unregulated label and is more of a form of advertising than a guarantee (see BP Oil disaster for examples of companies policing themselves to guarantee safety at the cost of profits). The only thing celiacs have to be sure is trial and error and the reputation of the company that CLAIMS to be selling gluten-free products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

References? Yes, wheat must be disclosed on the ingredient label if it is an ingredient. Please do not make wild claims without evidence to back them up.

Take care,

Scott

Hi Scott,

Here is another person who also knows about the FDA's recognition as gluten being generally safe and therefore does not need to be listed in the ingredients: http://www.stopkillingmykids.com/should-you-be-eating-a-gluten-free-diet/ . I usually don't make 'wild claims'. I am just pointing out that our federal government does not require companies to list gluten as an ingredient if that company does not want to. This is something that all celiacs should be aware of.

Best Regards,

Nick

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And Stop Killing My Kids backs up your claim ????

Disclaimer:

StopKillingMyKids.com is a marketing and advertising agency only. The products and services discussed on this Website are for educational purposes only. The opinions expressed herein are those of the respective authors and are not necessarily the opinions of the site owner. Consult with a physician before use or discontinued use of any products listed on the site if you have a serious medical condition or use prescription medications. A Doctor

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It may have once been true, but the federal Food Allergy Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) requires wheat to be disclosed, using the word "wheat," for all foods packaged on or after January 1, 2006. That's not just an FDA regulation--it is an Act of Congress.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is the FDA's actual electronic document stating explicitly that gluten is Generally Recognized As Safe: http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=0887266e8915b637c4837447af2e5a2a;region=DIV1;q1=gluten;rgn=div8;view=text;idno=21;node=21%3A3.0.1.1.14.2.1.90 .

As far as GRAS is concerned, from what I read in this document, there are no limits placed on the amount of gluten that can be present in any food substance. However, the FDA does not state whether it is required for a manufacturer to list a GRAS ingredient that may have been added to the cornstarch through cross-contamination. Since gluten is a GRAS substance and the manufacturer of the cornstarch may have gluten cross-contamination issues when manufacturing, then the manufacturer is not required to be concerned about the amount of gluten that may have come in contact with the cornstarch.

I believe that some new labeling laws will be in effect that state whether the manufacturer also processes wheat or gluten ingredients that are a known allergen. I have seen these labels on some foods, but I don't believe that this is a requirement yet.

Best Regards,

Nick

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,641
    • Total Posts
      921,553
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Welcome to the board. Celiac is not a death sentence by any means. I was undiagnosed from age 4 to age 46. Words can not describe the hell of the last 15 years before I was finally diagnosed. I am alive and healthier than I have ever been. There are others who also went years and are now doing well. There are some who had complications of cuorse but not everyone does. Thankfully it sounds like your doctors have found this relatively early. You should recover in time. Do be sure to read that Newbie thread and if you can get the others you live with to read it also. You can live safely in a mixed house but you to have to take precautions to be safe. As the others stated you do need to get back on gluten until all celiac related testing is done.  You don't have to eat a lot but if your going to get biopsies done you do have to have some daily. Most of all try to relax. Having celiac does take some getting used to but you will be okay.
    • Hi Kasia2016, Yes, celiac disease symptoms can vary widely.  Some people have no symptoms, we call that silent celiac.  Other have difficulty walking (gluten ataxia), skin rashes (dermatitis herpetiformis), and thyroid disease (Hashimoto's thyroiditis).  The list goes on and on.  GI symptoms can vary widely too, from mild symptoms at times to severe symptoms.
    • Hi egs1707, Welcome to the forum! Irene is right, you should not be gluten-free until all testing is completed.  The celiac disease tests are checking for immune system reactions and damage, and when you go gluten-free that starts to decline.  So the tests may not show the true immune reaction that is going on or the normal damage.  They may not show any damage in fact and you could get a false negative diagnosis.  You body starts healing and out the window go the test results.  Your doctor gets an "F" grade if they told you to go gluten-free now. But you aren't alone in having a doctor who doesn't understand the celiac disease testing process.  Many of them are woefully ignorant of proper testing for celiac disease.  That why the current estimate is somewhere in the range of 85% of celiacs in the USA are undiagnosed.  It doesn't help when doctors screw up the testing themselves.  Or refuse to test people.  Which is also far too common. I was vegetarian for 5 years.  I am not anymore and don't recommend it.  It is hard enough living gluten-free and finding safe food to eat and adequate nutrition for healing a damaged body.  I used to eat a lot of soy products when I Was vegetarian, but now soy makes me physically sick.  We can sometimes develop reactions to foods we eat a lot of while our guts are inflamed IMHO.  Soy is not a healthy food anyway from my reading. I can't do dairy now but may people who start out lactose intolerant end up being able to eat dairy after they have recovered. The best advice I can give is to avoid as much processed food as you can, and eat mostly whole foods you cook yourself at home.  When you do cook, cook big, and freeze the leftovers.  That way you can quickly take a small portion of food out of the freezer and reheat it.  Being celiac it is more important to learn how to cook.  Unless you are wealthy all those gluten-free processed foods add up quick.  Plus gluten-free processed foods often are lacking in fiber and vitamins. You'll want to watch out for vitamin deficiencies also.  Since celiac disease damages the villi in the small intestine, the vitamins and minerals etc are not digested and absorbed well.  So celiacs can be low on vitamin D, calcium,  and one other one I forget.  Vitamin B-12 may be low also ( it is important for nerve health).  Then there are some vitamins that vegetarians tend to have problems getting enough of also to consider. Adjusting to living with celiac disease means adjusting to a new diet and some lifestyle changes.  There's lots of us that make that change every year though, it's not impossible.  You will most likely end up eating better, more nutritious food than many of your peers.  And you will avoid a pletora of additional health concerns that can come along with untreated celiac disease. Learning to cook can be an adventure and you may enjoy it once you start.  you may find your taste in foods changes once you have been gluten-free for a while too. Recovery from celiac disease can take some months.  The immune system is very serious about protecting us and doesn't give up quickly.  Also it always remembers so it will react to even small amounts of gluten.  I live with gluten eaters at home and I do fine.  I just am careful about rinsing dishes off and so forth before using them. There is a Newbie 101 thread at the top of the coping with forum subsection.  It may provide some helpful info.  
    • That's great to hear you are feeling better Nightsky.  I really think when our GI systems are in distress already that it doesn't take much to set off symptoms.  Once I eliminated the other foods that cause me symptoms that helped a lot too.  And added some extra vitamin D to my diet and selenium. Many of us have developed reactions to other foods besides gluten and need to avoid them to keep symptoms at bay.  For me nightshades, carrots, soy, dairy, and celery all cause symptoms.  It took me awhile to figure out all those food culprits, but it made a big difference getting them out of my diet. But we are all individuals, and our bodies react individually.  So you may or may not have additional food intolerances develop. Celiac is one of those life journey things and we learn as we go.  Just keep the bottle of aspirin handy!
    • Pastry chain goes gluten-free, using mangoes ... But gluten is also believed to cause celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and wheat allergy, ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,644
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Jross69
    Joined