Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Cornstarch?
0

11 posts in this topic

Hi-

Are all brands of cornstarch safe? Any I should look out for (stay away from)? I'm thinking about the gravy on Thanksgiving!!

Thanks

Cali

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Corn starch is safe. It is gluten free. If you have a problem with corn as some do, then it is not.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was informed that corn starch can have gluten in it. Same as spices they use it to keep it from clumping. I was told that the Argo brand corn starch is ok.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was informed that corn starch can have gluten in it. Same as spices they use it to keep it from clumping. I was told that the Argo brand corn starch is ok.

The best source, is the information listed on the ingredient label.

Pulled out of the pantry is Rumford, Naturals Corn Starch, lists........"made from genetically modified corn."

By law, if wheat is in the caking agent it is required to list it as "wheat". I find it unlikely that corn starch would have an anti-caking ingredient.

I hope this was helpful. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lisa's assessment is correct.

Also, the FDA mandates labeling laws, beyond just the 8 main allergens. If something is 100% pure, then it just says "Cornstarch" (Or, "SUGAR" or, "ROSEMARY") and can say it on the front, etc. It doesn't have to specifically say

Ingredients: Cornstarch.

But, once another ingredient is added, then they have to list them all, specifically. So, pure spices (made in America) have to be pure. Now, that may have been different years ago, which is how these things get passed around. but now, if it only says "Thyme," it is mandated to be Thyme.

here is the link to the fda: http://www.cfsan.fda.gov/~dms/fdnewlab.html

Ingredient Labeling

Ingredient declaration is required on all foods that have more than one ingredient.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I'm amazed that people still believe that wheat flour HAS to be listed in the ingredients list. The FDA is clear on this that wheat flour does NOT need to be listed even if it is used as an ingredient because of the Generally Recognized As Safe (GRAS) principle. In the eyes of the FDA, gluten is not a serious-enough allergen to warrant that all cases of gluten contamination during the manufacture of a food product has to been declared on the ingredients list. This is what celiacs have to put up with until the law is changed.

Right now the label 'gluten free' is a unregulated label and is more of a form of advertising than a guarantee (see BP Oil disaster for examples of companies policing themselves to guarantee safety at the cost of profits). The only thing celiacs have to be sure is trial and error and the reputation of the company that CLAIMS to be selling gluten-free products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

References? Yes, wheat must be disclosed on the ingredient label if it is an ingredient. Please do not make wild claims without evidence to back them up.

Take care,

Scott

I'm amazed that people still believe that wheat flour HAS to be listed in the ingredients list. The FDA is clear on this that wheat flour does NOT need to be listed even if it is used as an ingredient because of the Generally Recognized As Safe (GRAS) principle. In the eyes of the FDA, gluten is not a serious-enough allergen to warrant that all cases of gluten contamination during the manufacture of a food product has to been declared on the ingredients list. This is what celiacs have to put up with until the law is changed.

Right now the label 'gluten free' is a unregulated label and is more of a form of advertising than a guarantee (see BP Oil disaster for examples of companies policing themselves to guarantee safety at the cost of profits). The only thing celiacs have to be sure is trial and error and the reputation of the company that CLAIMS to be selling gluten-free products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

References? Yes, wheat must be disclosed on the ingredient label if it is an ingredient. Please do not make wild claims without evidence to back them up.

Take care,

Scott

Hi Scott,

Here is another person who also knows about the FDA's recognition as gluten being generally safe and therefore does not need to be listed in the ingredients: http://www.stopkillingmykids.com/should-you-be-eating-a-gluten-free-diet/ . I usually don't make 'wild claims'. I am just pointing out that our federal government does not require companies to list gluten as an ingredient if that company does not want to. This is something that all celiacs should be aware of.

Best Regards,

Nick

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And Stop Killing My Kids backs up your claim ????

Disclaimer:

StopKillingMyKids.com is a marketing and advertising agency only. The products and services discussed on this Website are for educational purposes only. The opinions expressed herein are those of the respective authors and are not necessarily the opinions of the site owner. Consult with a physician before use or discontinued use of any products listed on the site if you have a serious medical condition or use prescription medications. A Doctor

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It may have once been true, but the federal Food Allergy Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) requires wheat to be disclosed, using the word "wheat," for all foods packaged on or after January 1, 2006. That's not just an FDA regulation--it is an Act of Congress.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is the FDA's actual electronic document stating explicitly that gluten is Generally Recognized As Safe: http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=simple;c=ecfr;cc=ecfr;sid=0887266e8915b637c4837447af2e5a2a;region=DIV1;q1=gluten;rgn=div8;view=text;idno=21;node=21%3A3.0.1.1.14.2.1.90 .

As far as GRAS is concerned, from what I read in this document, there are no limits placed on the amount of gluten that can be present in any food substance. However, the FDA does not state whether it is required for a manufacturer to list a GRAS ingredient that may have been added to the cornstarch through cross-contamination. Since gluten is a GRAS substance and the manufacturer of the cornstarch may have gluten cross-contamination issues when manufacturing, then the manufacturer is not required to be concerned about the amount of gluten that may have come in contact with the cornstarch.

I believe that some new labeling laws will be in effect that state whether the manufacturer also processes wheat or gluten ingredients that are a known allergen. I have seen these labels on some foods, but I don't believe that this is a requirement yet.

Best Regards,

Nick

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,636
    • Total Posts
      921,533
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Did your doctor check for SIBO, H. pylori, ulcers, etc. when he was obtaining biopsies to check for celiac disease?  
    • Oh, and as I mentioned in my own post on pain, xanax. I swear. I tried it just to deal with the occasional panic I had at weird scary symptoms and clueless doctors. I am not a fan of long term use. But I recently found that .25 mg seems to aid with the neuropathic pain. It does not go away, but it helps. 
    • It does sound like a Glutening and you are just a few months into the diet.  It might help if you read our Newbie 101 thread under the "Coping" section.   Here is some information about rice milk: https://www.verywell.com/is-rice-dream-gluten-free-562354 Many, many celiacs are often lactose intolerant temorarily or permanently if you are naturally genetically inclined.  When I am glutened, I lose the ability to digest lactose for a while.   Salad?  Great but it can be rough on a sore gut!  Think soups, stews, easy-to-digest foods that you prepare yourself until you feel better.  Did your folks give you salad after a bout of flu?  Or did you stick with jello and broth?  I am intolerant still after three years to garlic and onions (the lactose resolved, thankfully).  You have a leaky gut (Google zonulin and Dr. Fasano who is a leading celiac researcher to verify that this is true) and that means you can become intolerant to anything (hopefully, just temporarily).   If you are 100% sure that you have had no access to gluten....did you eat out lately?.....then see your doctor.  Remember, celiac disease symptoms can change.  And here is the biggie.....it can take weeks, months or years to heal from celiac disease.  Two months in is nothing, really.  Why?  It takes time to figure out the diet and time for antibodies to come down.  celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder triggerEd by gluten.  once triggered it can go on and on damaging your gut especially with repeated glutenings (accidental or through cross contamination). I hope you feel better soon!  
    • I concur! I literally feel your pain as well. Like, at the moment, lol. Did you have an endo to see inflammation or damage? I am close to begging my GI for carafate or something to coat and protect. How about testing your antibodies to see if they are still rising? I read somewhere here rice milk may not be a good option.  Folks here have also suggested to me to stick with whole foods. Limit processed. Especially stuff that is not certified gluten-free, like chex. I think small amounts of gluten are in processed foids and can add up. I too reacted to lettuce the other day like I was ingesting glass. My sibling  had a food sensitivity panel done and it came back positive for a few things he had been eating a lot of. He can now eat them, but had to cut them out of his diet. Lettuce is probably on mine.  I have been drinking carrot and pomegranate juice,  dandelion root tea with hiney, aloe water, lots of squash, fish. Mild, no garlic, no onions or hot sauce. No coffee. It sucks.  Inflammation can tick off other organs, you mention a "Pain below". Not exactly sure which side, but certainly call your doc Monday. Sooner if the pain increases.
    • You should see a GI specialist before you go gluten free.  They should do a upper endoscopy to check for celiac damage.  Colonoscopy won't show anything related to celiac.  Also no you should not feel worse on gluten free, you should feel better.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,639
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    NickyW_UK
    Joined