This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Italian Celiac In The Us

Brigno83

Brigno83 Newbie

Hello everybody,

I am Andrea and I have been an exchange student since August 2006 at University of Florida in Gainesville.

I brought many gluten free product from Italy when I first came since the health system provide them for free in my country and because I was not sure to find them here.

After 3 months I am running out of food and I would also like to travel throughout the US without carrying tons of food everywhere I go.

I would like to ask you if you can give me a list of restaurant in this area and in NY and possibly, if you have one, a list of certified gluten free product I can find in the normal grocery store.

Thank you very much in advance..I would appreciate any help!!

Andrea

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Guest nini

since you are in Florida now I'm assuming you have a Publix near you, if so you can contact their Corporate Office and request that they send you the 9 page list of their Publix brand products that are verified gluten-free. Is there a Whole Foods near you? They generally have a good selection of gluten-free foods.

My mom just came back from Italy and she brought me some Schar biscottinos and Bi-Aglut and Schar pasta. I was very impressed with the flavor of those... You can order them from some online sources if you wanted to.

If you want to travel to the Atlanta area, let me know and I can suggest some resto's here.

debmidge Rising Star

There are a good number of New Yorkers on the board. They will probably give you some resource info for NYC area.