Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Rice Krispies
0

31 posts in this topic

This morning I randomly woke up thinking about Rice Krispies and then I went online to look at the ingredients to see why I have not been eating them. I really don't see anything bad in them, however I am horrible at reading labels. Does anyone know if Rice Krispies are okay to eat? and if they aren't what the ingredient is that contains the gluten? Thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Something about the malt is not okay. I have Celiac and was told not to eat them. They could also be cross-contaminated int he factory.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice Krispies contain malt, which I believe is derived from barley...so it's not safe. There are gluten free brands of rice crisps available.

Michelle

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

barley malt :(

but yes Erewhon makes a great gluten-free rice crispy cereal it's even labeled gluten-free

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi guys, not to confuse things but I had the same issues and I rang Kellogs about it. They told me that the only cereals approved by the Celiac Association (I presume in the UK) were Rice Crispies and Coca Pops. Just thought Id mention it but Im not saying that they are correct - not contradicting the other people on the board, but thats what Kellogs told me.

Hope it doesnt just confuse you. Maybe Kellogs isnt the brand you get? Try ringing the manufacturer for their response.

Good luck.

Liz

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Hi guys, not to confuse things but I had the same issues and I rang Kellogs about it. They told me that the only cereals approved by the Celiac Association (I presume in the UK) were Rice Crispies and Coca Pops. Just thought Id mention it but Im not saying that they are correct - not contradicting the other people on the board, but thats what Kellogs told me.

Hope it doesnt just confuse you. Maybe Kellogs isnt the brand you get? Try ringing the manufacturer for their response.

Good luck.

Liz

Check out this notation from the Kellogg's UK website (it's from a page listing changes to their gluten free listings):

Please note that only the cereals listed above have been removed - although Kellogg Rice Krispies, Ricicles and Coco Pops contain malt flavouring they fall well within the international Codex Standard of 200ppm

All of those products contain malt, which has gluten. To my knowledge, the U.S. and Canada do not follow the Codex Standard and thus these cereals are not considered gluten free (or should that be "gluten safe?").

Michelle

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

not only Erewhon but nature's path, enviro kids and barbara's make rice crispy's. Erewhon makes several types.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let's make a distinction between the UK cereals and the USA made cereals.

This could be where the descrepancy lies. UK and USA formulas are not the same.

in USA most commercial cereals have malt (barley)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just wanted to relate my personal experience with Rice Krispies. What led me to realize that I couldn't have gluten was the very strict diet I was on while I was breastfeeding after my son was born due to his severe colic. I only realized two years later that I had felt so great not because of the hormonal changes of breastfeeding but because of the strict diet I was on that had inadvertantly eliminated gluten. It was hit or miss and I eliminated anything from my diet that seemed to trigger my son's colic and eczema. I was eating Rice Krispies every day, some times twice a day with rice milk and never felt any ill effects from them. (This was while we were still living in the US). I haven't tried them again since realizing I can't have gluten because I saw they had malt extract in them and after having had some corn flakes which also had malt extract and being realy ill as a result I thought I better stay away, but after what Kellog's has said and what I remember from my previous experience I think I might give them a try. I am a lot more sensitive to gluten now than I was before part of which comes from being pregnant so I'll just have to see. Good luck. It would be nice to be able to walk down the aisle at the grocery store and just pick up something "normal" off the shelf to eat :)

Melody

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Let's make a distinction between the UK cereals and the USA made cereals.

This could be where the descrepancy lies. UK and USA formulas are not the same.

in USA most commercial cereals have malt (barley)

The UK cereals have malt too (note my earlier post). Kelloggs is saying that the gluten level from the malt falls below the Codex Standard 200ppm, so is considered "safe" for European celiacs to eat.

Michelle

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, the difference is not the formula Kelloggs uses in UK and US, but the official definition of what is an acceptable level of gluten to call a product gluten free.

Personally I wouldn't eat Rice krispies no matter what they say....

Pauliina

in Holland

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is oat flour in Rice Krispies in Canada last time i checked (and the extract)....why dont you just buy the ones from Kinnikinnick? they are pure rice and...yum :)

~ lisa ~

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Check out this notation from the Kellogg's UK website (it's from a page listing changes to their gluten free listings):

Please note that only the cereals listed above have been removed - although Kellogg Rice Krispies, Ricicles and Coco Pops contain malt flavouring they fall well within the international Codex Standard of 200ppm

All of those products contain malt, which has gluten. To my knowledge, the U.S. and Canada do not follow the Codex Standard and thus these cereals are not considered gluten free (or should that be "gluten safe?").

Michelle

Ok, let me tell you my story - it's a little long but I hope to save people by relating my mistakes - I USED to eat cereals with malt - no ill effects I thought at the time. Then after years of this I noticed numbing in my face and when I would get out of bed it felt like I was walking on stumps. Peripheral neurapathy - scary as I'm not even 50 yet. And persistent brain fog - I had even forgotten how to run the software at work, the same program I had used for 5 Years!! So after I joined this forum I finally decided to really clean up my act and eliminated ALL gluten, and even remote cross-contaminations in my house. The numbess disappeared after several months, I have more brain activity and don't sleep away my weekends anymore. My conclusion is that while malt may be considered "safe" by some standards (and I'm not terribly sensitive to gluten in the overt ways) I believe that the effect is cumulative - like mercury in fish. My two cents, but I will never ever ingest malt knowingly again.

Annette

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

See I bought the organic rice crispies ... thking they were fine and saw the malt .... and now they are eaten by my soon to be gluten free children.

God I just wish that regular foods would go gluten free .

BUT FRUITY PEBBLES ARE OKAY >... right... :unsure:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

BUT FRUITY PEBBLES ARE OKAY >... right... :unsure:

I can't remember, but as always read all labels. I'm pretty darn sure they are, but I buy the malt-o-meal dyna-bites - much cheaper. But I do buy the coca pebbles when I want to take a dessert to a gathering. I use them to make Rice Krispy treats.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so the rice crisps arnt gluten-free i though only the treats arnt

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
so the rice crisps arnt gluten-free i though only the treats arnt

Anything with the word MALT is bad for us, (unless the malt is from a safe source which is rare. It would be stated on the label ie: rice malt). If the word MALT is byitself, it is made from barley.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://www.henryspink.org/celiac_disease.htm

Gluten free food and substances

A comprehensive list of foods to avoid may be viewed on the internet at:

http://www.fastlane.net/homepages/thodge/GFDIET.txt

Looking for gluten free products may not prove an easy task, it is recommended to read labels carefully. It is also advised to contact the manufacturers as gluten may represent such a tiny percentage that it may not appear on their ingredient list. Manufacturers also change the ingredients in their products from time to time.

Gluten is the protein in wheat, barley, rye, oats and their derivatives: malt, grain starches, hydrolysed vegetable/plant proteins, textured vegetable proteins, grain vinegar, grain alcohol, malt, modified food starch, caramel, maltodextrin, soy sauce, flavourings and the binders found in medication. Since the texture of gluten is elastic it also appears in many processed foods as well as in the gum substance on envelopes.

The gluten free list below may vary according to celiac organisations:

- Red and white meat (not bacon) - Lentils

- Fish - Sago

- Shellfish - Yam

- Vegetables - Corn

- Dried, canned or fresh fruits - Potatoes

- Juices (with no other ingredients) - Rice

- Fresh coffee - Flour (made from the above)

- Tea - Rice krispies

- Eggs - Plain crisps

- Soya - Nuts

- Rice - Oil (olive, walnut, sesame, soya,

- Potato sunflower, peanut, rapeseed, maize, cornflower)

- Corn - Pure spices

- Buckwheat - Herbs

- Chickpeas - Maize

- Lentils - Sugar

- Millet - Honey

- Peas - Jams or marmalade

- Beans - Yeast

- Quinoa - Almond

- Tapioca

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tried using some of the organic brands and didn't like them - not crispy enough. So I tried corn chex (dont know why I didnt try rice chex...) and they are honestly better than my regular rice crispies!

PS: I make them in the crockpot. Same ingred. just add the butter, top with marsh. and then add the cereal!

Way easier, supper yummy!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok so the malt flavoring when you see it in foods like rice krispie treats and things like that you should do more research before you believe it. I never listen to what other people have to say about foods because i have celiac disease to and i like eating a lot of different things. I go straight to the sites and read about them and if i cant find the info there i try to look for articles or things like that. Then i eventually listen to what other people are saying online if i cant find anything. Anyways you can eat rice krispie treats.. Here is a website you can check out if you dont believe me! :) Good luck.. And i hope from now on you follow my advice.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/331/1/The-Safety-of-Malt-for-Those-with-Celiac-Disease/Page1.html

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is a website you can check out if you dont believe me! :) Good luck.. And i hope from now on you follow my advice.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/331/1/The-Safety-of-Malt-for-Those-with-Celiac-Disease/Page1.html

Believe what you want, but that article is equivocal on the safety of barley malt for celiacs.

Incidentally, my suspicion is that there is not enough of the harmful peptides in Rice Krispies to cause harm to celiac patients, but for me it is only a suspicion in that I know of no experimental measurements or calculations in regard to the question and we still do not have a really solid indication of how little of the harmful proteins or peptides is OK for celiac patients on a daily basis.

His suspicion isn't enought for me, personally.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Believe what you want, but that article is equivocal on the safety of barley malt for celiacs.

His suspicion isn't enought for me, personally.

Me either. It isn't like there is nothing else to eat. I'll err on the side of caution & if it says barley and/ or malt, I won't eat it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anyways you can eat rice krispie treats.. Here is a website you can check out if you dont believe me! :) Good luck.. And i hope from now on you follow my advice.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/331/1/The-Safety-of-Malt-for-Those-with-Celiac-Disease/Page1.html

HA!!! I dont think I'll follow your advice at all. Rice Krispies are NOT gluten free. There are other cereals that are, but this isn't one of them! And I'm talking about the United States so can't speak for elsewhere. Also Kellogg's doesn't really make ANY gluten free cereals, do they? So the cross contamination chances are probably pretty large! I mean they make frosted mini WHEATS, and all BRAN, and raisin BRAN!! I can just see the wheat flying around the plant! I hope someone takes the time to call them and find out what else they make in the same plant with the rice krispies, LOL, cuz I'm not going to waste my time. Rice Chex make GREAT treats and General Mills has it's own area to make their gluten free cereals.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok so the malt flavoring when you see it in foods like rice krispie treats and things like that you should do more research before you believe it. I never listen to what other people have to say about foods because i have celiac disease to and i like eating a lot of different things. I go straight to the sites and read about them and if i cant find the info there i try to look for articles or things like that. Then i eventually listen to what other people are saying online if i cant find anything. Anyways you can eat rice krispie treats.. Here is a website you can check out if you dont believe me! :) Good luck.. And i hope from now on you follow my advice.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/331/1/The-Safety-of-Malt-for-Those-with-Celiac-Disease/Page1.html

I wouldn't touch them. If you want to take the risk fine.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi guys, not to confuse things but I had the same issues and I rang Kellogs about it. They told me that the only cereals approved by the Celiac Association (I presume in the UK) were Rice Crispies and Coca Pops. Just thought Id mention it but Im not saying that they are correct - not contradicting the other people on the board, but thats what Kellogs told me.

Hope it doesnt just confuse you. Maybe Kellogs isnt the brand you get? Try ringing the manufacturer for their response.

Good luck.

Liz

I called kelloges and they said there is malt in the rice krispies,they have no cearel that is gluren free
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,090
    • Total Posts
      920,307
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hi, No, I do not have celiac  disease. I have an ankylosing spondylitis which is an auto-immune disease provoking an inflammation of the joints. Under the advice and supervision of my doctor and the professor at the hospital I follow a gluten free & casein free diet, which is extremely successful in preventing inflammatory events. And I've been doing so, strictly, for more than 6 years. So I'm not Celiac, but I can tell you that I react strongly every time I take gluten even in small amounts. Even soya sauce, which according to this website has an almost zero dose of gluten, is a lot too much for me. Nevertheless I allow myself to eat food which has been processed in a factory which processes gluten. To conclude, I would say that when you are travelling, especially in a country where celiac disease is scarcely known, you should be twice as careful as when you're going out at home. In the end you can never guarantee that the cook has cleaned his pan after using soya sauce and so on... You can only bet
    • Along those lines, many Americans are now pursuing gluten-free eating. Gluten ... Diagnosis of celiac disease typically requires a history and physical ... View the full article
    • No!  Once you fill the tub, if you sit in it for 3 minutes or you stay for 10... It doesn't change the amount or cost of the water.  That's only relevant if you have 3 kids to cycle thru that same water.  Is your hub bathing in the same water after you? Lol  And even if you add some more hot and stay longer....well...it's much cheaper than perscription meds, vodka or a substance that is legal in a few states.     Of course this only pertains to those of use with running water.... If you make your hub haul water from the creek or well and heat it over a fire....
    • Whether it is bona fide dermatitis herpetiformis, or severe eczema or hives or what have you, we all want to know how to stop the incessant itching.  Through all my research, the solution comes down to one thing: a good long soak in the tub-- with baking soda or Epsom salts or some kind of herbal tea, followed by a rub down in thick expensive lotion.  I don't know about you, but I was brought up to "get in, get done get out."  A long soak in the bath was a frivolous luxury, and a waste of time and hot water.  So now I'm having this awful breakout from forgetting to read a label and got wheated.  And every night I've been soaking in a baking soda bath to relieve the itching and aid my recovery.  And it's been hard! (But it's been very helpful too)  It has been hard to reconcile this "frivolous luxury and waste of time" as medically necessary!  Fortunately I've had no judging, and only support from my husband, who has had a similar upbringing.  Does anyone else struggle with this?
    • His son, Eli, had been misdiagnosed with celiac disease, so the family tried some gluten-free foods. After adding quinoa (KEEN-wah) to their diet, ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • HappyMom623

      I have Tangled problem! I want all the things Rapunzel Related....including Flynn Rider 😂 but seriously. I have like 8 shirts I want.
      · 0 replies
    • AprilBeth2013

      RT @MarkDever: “But the work is God’s and we do not fear the final results. ‘The heathen shall be given to His Son for His inheritance,’ .…
      · 0 replies
    • silk

      I have celiac disease and have been gluten-free for almost 10 years.  I am extremely sensitive to gluten, noting that I react within 15 minutes of contact and in fact the doctor suspects that there may also be an actual wheat allergy at play but have never bothered to be tested since I avoid it like the plague!  I am curious to know if anyone else reacts to flax or inulin?  My symptoms with those two are almost identical to gluten so I have to really watch for that in gluten-free breads and baking and recently discovered after the fact that flax was in the juice I was drinking. I know that people with gluten issues can have other problems as well and in fact I also avoid milk products.  Even after 10 years, and although it has become a way of life, it's still frustrating to have to read every ingredient on every label.😞
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,114
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    3boymommy
    Joined