Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Soybean Oil


  • Please log in to reply

7 replies to this topic

#1 newg

 
newg

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 29 posts
 

Posted 30 November 2006 - 07:59 AM

I am seeing Soybean oil in a lot of foods. It this ok to eat? I know that soy sauce is bad and soy is ok...HEL :blink: :blink: P I am so confused!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 gadgetgirl

 
gadgetgirl

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
 

Posted 30 November 2006 - 08:01 AM

I questioned the Enterolab folk about this as my test showed elevated antibodies to soy. They recommended I stay away from soybean oil as well. The only thing they said that might be okay is soy lecithin because it has been so heavily "distilled" (not sure if that is the right term).
  • 0

#3 KaitiUSA

 
KaitiUSA

    Be the change you wish to see in the world!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,583 posts
 

Posted 30 November 2006 - 08:13 AM

Soybean oil is ok from a gluten perspective
  • 0
Kaiti
Positive bloodwork
Gluten-free since January 2004
Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

#4 angel_jd1

 
angel_jd1

    Gluten Free Goddess

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,053 posts
 

Posted 30 November 2006 - 08:16 AM

I am seeing Soybean oil in a lot of foods. It this ok to eat? I know that soy sauce is bad and soy is ok...HEL :blink: :blink: P I am so confused!


In terms of having celiac disease there is nothing wrong with eating soy. The problem with soy sauces are that many contain wheat which IS a problem on the gluten free diet. San J makes a wheat free tamari soy sauce that is great. I believe wal-mart great value brand soy sauce is also gluten free (check the label for the words "gluten free").

Many people, both celiac and non celiac, have allergies to soy. If you happen to be one of those folks, then stay away from it. Otherwise on the gluten free diet it is fine.

-Jessica :rolleyes:
  • 0
Jessica
Gluten Free since 12-31-2002!!
Kansas

#5 Iniquity505

 
Iniquity505

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 04 April 2013 - 12:11 PM

I've read that soy itself is gluten free but is processed in the same facilities as wheat & has a high cross contamination risk. So unless it says gluten free on the product I wouldn't eat it. Here's a link http://celiacdisease...Gluten-Free.htm
  • 0

#6 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 04 April 2013 - 04:58 PM

Well, it is generally understood that oats and wheat are similar crops that are grown, harvested, shipped, processed and packaged in circumstances that lead to each grain being contaminated with the other.

 

The claims about soy being contaminated are quite new. Soybeans are legumes, not grains, and the growing conditions do not overlap with grains to the same degree that cereal grains do with each other. The processing has little overlap if any.

 

I am reactive to wheat. I eat products containing soy on a regular basis, and have been doing so for over twelve years. No problems here. A lot of people with celiac disease have an intolerance to soy. It is not celiac disease per se; like type 1 diabetes, it often occurs in conjunction with celiac disease.

 

This is an old topic about soybean oil. Oil is a highly refined product with no detectable protein, so is not a gluten concern in any event.


  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#7 Kamma

 
Kamma

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
 

Posted 06 April 2013 - 09:43 AM

In terms of soy bean flour I would proceed with caution as a fairly recent study showed cross contamination in various inherently gluten free grains.  Especially in the milled flour products of these grains.  Some flours tested above 20 ppm gluten and in one soy flour example, it tested in excess of 2000 ppm gluten.

 

Here is the abstract of the study here:

 

http://www.journals....0234-8/abstract

 

and an article on the same study here:

 

http://glutenfreecoo...Of-Revision.htm


  • 1

#8 dilettantesteph

 
dilettantesteph

    Advanced Community Member

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,035 posts
 

Posted 07 April 2013 - 06:15 AM

I know that I have reacted to soybean oil, though I don't react to soybeans when I buy edaname in the shell.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: