Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Sweet Baby Ray's Barbecue Sauce
0

17 posts in this topic

Am I losing my mind, or did someone on the message board say that Sweet Baby Ray's is gluten free? I picked up a bottle (the original) while shopping on Friday and one of the ingredients is modified food starch. I thought this was an unsafe ingredient?

sign me confused,

Lily

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

modified food starch is only a questionable ingredient. it can be made from any of the safe grains (though most often corn, out of all the safe grains), but can also be made from "the bad grains" :P as well. you have to call the company and find out.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On the napervillegi list it says that as of 6/04 that Sweet Baby Ray's is gluten free. I sure hope that is right. Otherwise get Saz's sauce, that is gluten-free for sure, it says so right on the bottle. Barbara

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can (and generally should) double check with the company, but I am pretty sure it is still gluten-free. It is the only sauce I eat at home and have never had a reaction to it.

God bless,

Mariann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
:o I was pretty certain that I read Sweet Baby Rays is gluten free, also. I guess I'll try to contact the company tomorrow adn get a confirmation. I also thought I read somewhere, that if food is manufactures within the US and it states modified food startch, that is should be corn starch, unless it states otherwise. Did someone else read that? Or am I just going crazy? :blink:
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




:( I just got a call from a Rep for Sweet Baby Rays Sauce and they cannot guarantee that there is no gluten present, however no gluten is added to the sauce. So I guess that means there could be a chance for cross contamination.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What it means is some company lawyer told them to say that just in case sometime somehow one of their suppliers sends them a contaminated ingredient. The reality is that you take this chance every time you eat any processed product or eat at a restaurant. If you eat out you're taking a MUCH bigger chance than if you used SBR.

I know a number of people with celiac disease who use SBR and don't remember hearing any complaining about getting glutened.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've eaten it for supper the last two days. I think I'm okay! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

for anyone still wondering about this product, i stumbled upon this statement from them on another gluten free web site.

Our product is 100% gluten free. Sweet Baby Ray's does not contain protein from any of the following potential allergens: barley, crustaceans, eggs, fish, milk, oats, peanuts, rye, soybeans, tree nuts or wheat. The source of our modified food starch that is used in Sweet Baby Ray's Barbecue Sauce is corn. Also there are no dairy products or dairy product derivatives contained in Sweet Baby Ray's sauce."

i know its a little late but i hope this helps you!! sounds pretty safe to me :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

lilliexx I'm pretty sure this is their old statement. Then some lawyer told then to quit using it in case they get sued.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for your replies everyone. I still have problems sometimes from products who say they are gluten free. I guess I need to stay away from processed foods. Thanks!

Lily

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:) I have been using SBR sauce for the past two weekends, and I haven't had any problems :D . I think that I would like to make some taht is homemade, just to play it safe. Does anyone have a good recipe for BBQ sauce? I am a bit wipmy,and don't like anything too spicy. I would appreciate it.

Linda

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Linda,

For BBQ sauce (for chicken), I put one cup of Heinz ketchup, plus one can of Pepsi. Stir with a wisk, marinade overnight, and either fry or put on the grill. Makes a pretty tender, yummy tasting dish. Not to mention cheap! :D

Enjoy!

Brenda

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Am I losing my mind, or did someone on the message board say that Sweet Baby Ray's is gluten free? I picked up a bottle (the original) while shopping on Friday and one of the ingredients is modified food starch. I thought this was an unsafe ingredient?

sign me confused,

Lily

According to the website:

All products except for the meatballs with sauce are gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am very sensitive, and I use it without issue. Just used some last night!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We use it and haven't noticed anything bad.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just emailed the company yesterday. They responded today stating that all of their sauces are gluten free and they will be puting Gluten Free on the label soon! :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0