Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Where To Find Gluten Free Vanilla Extract
0

11 posts in this topic

My husband was recently diagnosed. For the holidays, I wanted to cook a cake for him, but the recipes say use gluten free vanilla extract. Does anyone know where to find any or what can be a susbstitute?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
My husband was recently diagnosed. For the holidays, I wanted to cook a cake for him, but the recipes say use gluten free vanilla extract. Does anyone know where to find any or what can be a susbstitute?

Hi and welcome!

I use McCormick Pure Vanilla Extract. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

McCormick's Vanilla is gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
McCormick's Vanilla is gluten free.

I also have been informed that the worry about Vanilla, is no longer an issue. The alcohol in vanillia is distilled and therefore, a non issue.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As Lisa says, there is not a problem with vanilla. It was once thought that the alcohol used to make the extract might be a gluten source, but we now know that to be false. No worries!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




We love McCormick's in our house....

(Many of their seaoning mixes are gluten free, too, by the way! They clearly list any offending ingredients, so if you read carefully, you will learn that many are safe! I have used their taco, enchilada, fajita, etc.)

Yes, I know that was off topic, I apologize. But, just wanted to add :P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
We love McCormick's in our house....

(Many of their seaoning mixes are gluten free, too, by the way! They clearly list any offending ingredients, so if you read carefully, you will learn that many are safe! I have used their taco, enchilada, fajita, etc.)

Yes, I know that was off topic, I apologize. But, just wanted to add :P

I still think that this "Vanilla Extract" has gluten in it stems from the "Madagascar Bourbon" name... I think a few people read the Bourbon and thought it was the alcohol that was being used and not the place it came from.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use both McCormick's Vanilla and Flavorganics Vanilla... Personally I prefer the Flavorganics one, it tastes better and they even lable the bottle gluten-free...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i use Rodelle Gourmet Vanilla. its labeled gluten free also and is the best vanilla i have tasted :) it makes anything yummy :) i can get it at whole foods, kroger and publix here in the area i live in.

~breann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Someone I know came back from a trip outside of the US with a bottle of pure vanilla. I know there's alcohol in it (I could understand that much of the label whihc is not in English). Any concerns with this pure vanilla?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.