Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Is Wish Bone Italian Dressing Glutan Free?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Electra

Electra

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 308 posts

Posted 20 December 2006 - 07:10 AM

Here are the ingredients listed on the back.

water
soybean oil
distilled vinegar
high fructose corn syrup
salt
garlic
onion
red bell peppers
xanthan gum
spices
natural flavors (soy)
calcium disodium edta (used to protect quality)
lemon juice concentrate
caramel color
annatto extract (for color)
dehydrates

What do you think? Yay or Nay?
  • 0
~~Angie~~

DX'd With Narcolepsy In 1995
Dx'ed With Celiac On 12-18-06
Positive Biopsy On 2-1-07
DX'd With Pernicious Anemia 4-24-07
Daughter Has DH, so I suspect she also has Celiac!!

"If Alcoholism was Celiac Disease they would make us drink ourselves into kidney failure before they would admit we had the disease"

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 jerseyangel

jerseyangel

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,938 posts

Posted 20 December 2006 - 07:49 AM

Angie,

Wish Bone is a Unilever company. They are a company that will clearly list any gluten on the label. Since there is none listed, it looks to be just fine.
  • 0
Patti


"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

#3 RiceGuy

RiceGuy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,520 posts

Posted 20 December 2006 - 07:57 AM

Well, I'd say no way just based on the caramel coloring, which can be made from a gluten source. They also don't say what the dehydrates are of/from. I'm basically suspicious of all such pre-made items.

The way I see it though, now that you know the basic ingredients, you could make your own so you'd know it's safe :)
  • -1
A spherical meteorite 10 km in diameter traveling at 20 km/s has the kinetic energy equal to the calories in 550,000,000,000,000,000 Twinkies.

#4 jerseyangel

jerseyangel

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,938 posts

Posted 20 December 2006 - 08:37 AM

While it's possible for caramel coloring to be made from a gluten source, it would have to be listed on the label if that was the case. The vast majority of caramel coloring is not made from wheat, anyway--and again--if it were, it would, by law, have to listed as such. :)

Unilever is a company that is reliable in their listing of gluten, if present.

Of course, it's always possible for someone to react to any food or additive--but it wouldn't be from gluten in this case.
  • 0
Patti


"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

#5 happygirl

happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts

Posted 20 December 2006 - 09:46 AM

RiceGuy,
Caramel coloring, while it can be wheat derived, is very rarely wheat derived.

Also, because of the 2006 FDA food labeling law, it would be REQUIRED to list it it were wheat.

Plus, as Patti mentioned, it is from a company that takes it a step further and will list all gluten.

Please be cautious of information that you share, especially to new people, who are overwhelmed and learning!

Electra-yes, it is safe, I use it often!
Laura
  • 1

#6 Electra

Electra

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 308 posts

Posted 21 December 2006 - 07:35 AM

Wooooooooohoooooooooooooo I'm so excited I bought some Glutan Free rice pasta to make my favorite pasta salad with and Wish Bone is my all time favorite Italian dressing, so I'm psyched. Now the cheese is another story. Here are the ingredients. Now the corn starch and anti caking ingredients are what I'm hesitant about.

Pasteurized Milk
Cheese Culture
Salt
Enzymes
Annato (Vegetable Color)
Potato Starch
Corn Starch
Calcium Sulfate (added to prevent caking)
Natamycin (A Natural Mold Inhibitor)

Yay or Nay?
  • 0
~~Angie~~

DX'd With Narcolepsy In 1995
Dx'ed With Celiac On 12-18-06
Positive Biopsy On 2-1-07
DX'd With Pernicious Anemia 4-24-07
Daughter Has DH, so I suspect she also has Celiac!!

"If Alcoholism was Celiac Disease they would make us drink ourselves into kidney failure before they would admit we had the disease"

#7 happygirl

happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts

Posted 21 December 2006 - 07:50 AM

Safe :)

and Tinkyada brand rice pasta is by far the favorite of most people on this board!
  • 0

#8 Electra

Electra

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 308 posts

Posted 21 December 2006 - 09:33 AM

Safe :)

and Tinkyada brand rice pasta is by far the favorite of most people on this board!

Ok so the new law is that everything that has any kind of Gluten product in it needs to list it as "Wheat" in the label? I read the label to corn taco shells the other night and wasn't sure if the corn starch or anything like that were unsafe. There was no "Wheat" listed!!
  • 0
~~Angie~~

DX'd With Narcolepsy In 1995
Dx'ed With Celiac On 12-18-06
Positive Biopsy On 2-1-07
DX'd With Pernicious Anemia 4-24-07
Daughter Has DH, so I suspect she also has Celiac!!

"If Alcoholism was Celiac Disease they would make us drink ourselves into kidney failure before they would admit we had the disease"

#9 flagbabyds

flagbabyds

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,345 posts

Posted 21 December 2006 - 09:37 AM

Ok so the new law is that everything that has any kind of Gluten product in it needs to list it as "Wheat" in the label? I read the label to corn taco shells the other night and wasn't sure if the corn starch or anything like that were unsafe. There was no "Wheat" listed!!


not listing wheat however, does not mean that it is gluten free. there are some companies that will list if it contains gluten clearly on the label but do not rely on something saying wheat free to be gluten free.
  • 0
Molly

#10 zansu

zansu

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 235 posts

Posted 21 December 2006 - 09:43 AM

With the new labeling laws in the US, any _wheat_ is required to be listed. HOWEVER, rye, barley, and oat are _not_ required by law to be listed :huh: . Unilever and Kraft WILL list rye, barley or oat, because they have chosen to give us the information we need (good manufacturer! :D ). Other manufacturers will not necessarily list these. so, if the "natural flavors" on another manufacturer include barley malt, they won't necessarily tell you, :ph34r: that's why it's a red flag ingredient. Because your salad dressing is from a celiac-friendly manufacturer, it's safe unless it specifically lists one of the no-no grains.

Don't want to confuse, but don't want you messing up because the nice manufacturors spoiled you!
  • 0

#11 Electra

Electra

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 308 posts

Posted 21 December 2006 - 11:46 AM

With the new labeling laws in the US, any _wheat_ is required to be listed. HOWEVER, rye, barley, and oat are _not_ required by law to be listed :huh: . Unilever and Kraft WILL list rye, barley or oat, because they have chosen to give us the information we need (good manufacturer! :D ). Other manufacturers will not necessarily list these. so, if the "natural flavors" on another manufacturer include barley malt, they won't necessarily tell you, :ph34r: that's why it's a red flag ingredient. Because your salad dressing is from a celiac-friendly manufacturer, it's safe unless it specifically lists one of the no-no grains.

Don't want to confuse, but don't want you messing up because the nice manufacturors spoiled you!

Aha see that's what I was afraid of. Is there a list of "safe" manufacturers who we can trust to list the wheats and glutens as such? If so can someone direct me to it please ;-)!!
  • 0
~~Angie~~

DX'd With Narcolepsy In 1995
Dx'ed With Celiac On 12-18-06
Positive Biopsy On 2-1-07
DX'd With Pernicious Anemia 4-24-07
Daughter Has DH, so I suspect she also has Celiac!!

"If Alcoholism was Celiac Disease they would make us drink ourselves into kidney failure before they would admit we had the disease"

#12 Electra

Electra

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 308 posts

Posted 21 December 2006 - 11:48 AM

Does anyone know of a company that makes Gluten Free crackers like goldfish? My daughter absolutely LOVES those and I'm HATING the fact that I have to NEVER let her have them again!!
  • 0
~~Angie~~

DX'd With Narcolepsy In 1995
Dx'ed With Celiac On 12-18-06
Positive Biopsy On 2-1-07
DX'd With Pernicious Anemia 4-24-07
Daughter Has DH, so I suspect she also has Celiac!!

"If Alcoholism was Celiac Disease they would make us drink ourselves into kidney failure before they would admit we had the disease"

#13 happygirl

happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts

Posted 21 December 2006 - 11:53 AM

Miss Roben's makes a mix that you then bake yourself.

Corn starch is safe. Please look at the lists on celiac.com so that you can learn about some of the safe ingredients.All companies will list wheat.

Kraft and Unilever are two companies that always list any gluten source. McCormick is also good about it. There are more, though.
  • 0

#14 RiceGuy

RiceGuy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,520 posts

Posted 21 December 2006 - 12:46 PM

OK folks. I acknowledge that Unilever says they will list when something contains wheat. I guess what bothers me is when a package doesn't clearly state gluten-free on the label. I mean, sure THEY may not have added wheat/gluten, but suppose one of the ingredients they use already contains gluten? Maybe I'm a bit too careful. Maybe I go overboard about it, but the phrase "better safe than sorry" comes to mind whenever I have even the slightest doubt.

Some companies provide a list of their gluten-free products, but unfortunately Wish Bone currently doesn't have one that I can find. Perhaps a letter to them would prompt them to put something on their site.
  • 0
A spherical meteorite 10 km in diameter traveling at 20 km/s has the kinetic energy equal to the calories in 550,000,000,000,000,000 Twinkies.

#15 happygirl

happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts

Posted 21 December 2006 - 03:15 PM

Most labels of mainstream products that are gluten free do not say they are gluten free. There are no guidelines for saying something is gluten free. Labeling laws are there for a reason, and it doesn't matter how the wheat is there, if it is there it has to be listed! In time, I'm sure that more companies will begin to do that as Celiac awareness raises, but at this time, I don't think its a problem if:
1. All companies are required to list wheat, which is the most common source of gluten
2. Certain companies go as far as to make sure that any gluten source is clearly listed, so that we can make informed decisions.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: