Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Other Words For Gluten?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jen2be2

jen2be2

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 29 December 2006 - 01:24 PM

Hi There!

We recently found out that 2 of our children have Celiac. We are trying to be good and have a gluten-free household.

Could you please give me a list of words of things that contain Gluten in them, but may not be obious to the newbie?

For example, malt. I would have never guessed that.... Please add others...

Thank you for your help~
  • 0
Jen

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Lisa

Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts

Posted 29 December 2006 - 01:26 PM

On this home page there is a list of safe and a list of forgidden. That will give you a good start, but it is overwhelming.

Nini, will post and you can click on her "Newbie Survival Kit", now that's invaluable.
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#3 Viola 1

Viola 1

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 610 posts

Posted 29 December 2006 - 02:48 PM

You don't say which country you are in. The Canadian Celiac Ass. has a 'pocket' size dictionary that you can take into the store. It has hundreds of things listed in alphabetical order, and will tell you if they are gluten free or not.
It's a wonderful tool
  • 0
Shirley


[Save the Earth, It's the only planet with chocolate and wine.

It isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...
It's about learning to dance in the rain.

Gluten free since 1989


West Kootenay.... British Columbia

#4 Lisa

Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts

Posted 29 December 2006 - 02:55 PM

Gluten is a protien contained in wheat, barley, malt, rye and most oats due to a high rate of cross-contamination.

They key to remaining gluten free is to learn to read lables. It's a tough ride for a while, but it gets better.

Gluten often plays hide and seek, as it can hide in envelope glue, soy sauce, some spices, lipsticks, lotion, shampoos

Here are a few starters:

Vann's waffles (have gluten free variety)
La Choy Soy Sauce
Jiff Peanut Butter
All of Mrs. Dash seasonings are gluten free
McCormick Spieces will list wheat on their ingred. list
Stick to fish, meats, chicken, rice, potatoes, and fresh veggies.

Processed food is to difficult to tackel at the moment.

Gluten free bread is awful, except for Angies (a forum member), but few have her gift.

As I mentioned before, do a members search for "Nini" and click below her signature and you will be able to down load several files that, at this time you can't live without.

Good luck, and feel free to PM me at any time.
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#5 AngelDreams19616

AngelDreams19616

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 August 2008 - 11:42 AM

i'm not sure if this will help or not but i have a book.. that has alot of info and recipes it's called Livin Gluten-Free for Dummies,i know soy sauce has gluten so i buy the gluten free soy sauce.. i also use gluten free peanut butter,and also i save my grocery bills as u can claim.. it on income tax ( certain percentage) certain meds have gluten i use gluten free vitamins..marinades .. sorry for all the babble, Triticale (a hybrid) of wheat n rye,anyhowz i found the book a very big help have had celiacs,, for almost 5 yrs now,
  • 0

#6 AngelDreams19616

AngelDreams19616

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 August 2008 - 10:43 AM

i'm not sure if this will help or not but i have a book.. that has alot of info and recipes it's called Livin Gluten-Free for Dummies,i know soy sauce has gluten so i buy the gluten free soy sauce.. i also use gluten free peanut butter,and also i save my grocery bills as u can claim.. it on income tax ( certain percentage) certain meds have gluten i use gluten free vitamins..marinades .. sorry for all the babble, Triticale (a hybrid) of wheat n rye,anyhowz i found the book a very big help have had celiacs,, for almost 5 yrs now,


  • 0

#7 spunky

spunky

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 325 posts

Posted 13 August 2008 - 11:02 AM

I would check on the safe and forbidden lists on this website, as someone else suggested.

Also, there are lists on the net of gluten-free candies and such, if you google something like gluten free candy lists... you can find them... important stuff to know for kids!

School / craft /art supplies are important to know about too... for instance, off the top of my head I know Play-Doh is bad, and so is tempura (or however it's spelled), powdered paint mix.

Crayons are supposed to be okay, and so is real clay and I believe I've read Silly Puddy is okay too. I'm sure there are lists of these children's supplies somewhere that could be googled and found, or possibly someone else here who knows can link you to them from here.

If you have pets... the children need to wash their hands after handling the pets' foods... most of them have gluten in them... I even saw it wheat middlings listed in rabbit chow. Most doggie treats, etc., have gluten in them too. So... these are additional things to keep in mind... that without realizing the potential for something to go into somebody's mouth or even just from being on their hands, could cause some trouble if you weren't aware of it.
  • 0

#8 GFqueen17

GFqueen17

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 114 posts

Posted 13 August 2008 - 11:16 AM

- Malt (like you said)
- MODIFIED FOOD STARCH
- Hydolyzed Vegtable Protein
- Textured Vegetable Protein
- Brown Rice Syrup

sometimes (it's hard to be sure unless it specifically says what its made from) :
- Maltodextrin
- Food Starch
- Natural Flavorings
- Artificial Flavorings

All soy sauces have it, most salad dressings that are not clear, many meat seasonings (like teryaki), and most soups and gravies. Also, most candies have gluten. Some candies that doesnt have gluten are reeses, yorks, M+Ms (not all types though!!), mr goodbar. Most gum and carmel have gluten. Most plain chocolate is safe but NOT ALL plain chocolate is gluten free. Also, one would assume that all corn chips are safe...which is not the case. Strangely, some corn chips do have wheat flour
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: