Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Tim Hortons


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Ronnie

Ronnie

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 08 January 2007 - 11:02 AM

I hope this is the right place for this. tim hortons is sort of a restaurant.
Anyway, does anyone know if tim horton's yogurt and berries are gluten free?
It would be something i could get when i'm out and craving fast food. If it's gluten free that is.

  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 mtdawber

mtdawber

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 08 January 2007 - 07:37 PM

It's funny, I was wondering the same thing just yesterday while my husband and son wandered off to get a pizza slice across the road... I stuck to the coffee... if you find out, let us know!
  • 0
Tanya

Canadian eh and new to all of this!
DH Diagnosed December 20, 2006
Waiting on Gatro appt. until April!

#3 LL04

LL04

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 08 January 2007 - 09:48 PM

Okay, I just went to the Tim Horton's website and this is what they have to say:

If I have an allergy, can I eat any Tim Hortons products?
If you have a food allergy, please be aware that Tim Hortons products may contain, or have come into contact with, peanuts, nuts or other possible allergens. Tim Hortons is a bakery environment, serving baked goods that are not in sealed packages. Therefore, we unfortunately cannot guarantee a 100% allergy-free environment.

If you would like more information about ingredients or allergies, please call our customer assistance line at 1-888-601-1616 (Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time).

I would like a copy of the Nutrition Guide sent to me.
Our website gives you the option to print off a copy of our Nutrition Guide (Canada or U.S.) right away. Hard copies of our nutrition guides are not currently available in our stores.


That's it. I researched this almost 2 years ago and at that time their stated allergen policy was that if you had an intolerance or an allergy they actually said "please do not eat at any of our locations".

Okay so that being said, you'll have to download the PDF file online or contact them to find out if the yogurt is originally manufactured gluten free.

mtdawber-just remember that NO FOOD at any restaurant or from any manufacturer that is not cooked, processed, baked or otherwise made in a strictly gluten free environment, is gluten free-it is NOT. Only foods made in those specific environments can be called gluten free. Lots of restaurants and manufacturers like to say that their products are gluten free but they are made alongside, in the same area as and in most cases with the same equipment that is used for making gluten containing foods. This food is "gluten not intentionally added" because there is always the chance of cross contamination. They don't actually put gluten containing ingredients into the products, but they may end up in them unintentionally. So remember that when you are inquiring about mainstream products or you are planning on eating out. You will always take the risk of cross contamination.

That being said as well, you will find that many or most of the celiac disease and DH sufferers on this web-site dine out and eat mainstream "gluten not intentionally added products" and don't mind the risk involved. :rolleyes:

Have fun with the fruit and berries :lol:
  • 0
Lauralee
Diagnosed Celiac's March/05
Diagnosed Lyme Disease March/07
2 out of 4 children gluten intolerant
husband not tested
whole family gluten free

If it's not made in a dedicated gluten free environment, it's NOT gluten free...it's "gluten not intentionally added!!!"

#4 mtdawber

mtdawber

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 09 January 2007 - 07:17 AM

mtdawber-just remember that NO FOOD at any restaurant or from any manufacturer that is not cooked, processed, baked or otherwise made in a strictly gluten free environment, is gluten free-it is NOT. Only foods made in those specific environments can be called gluten free. Lots of restaurants and manufacturers like to say that their products are gluten free but they are made alongside, in the same area as and in most cases with the same equipment that is used for making gluten containing foods. This food is "gluten not intentionally added" because there is always the chance of cross contamination. They don't actually put gluten containing ingredients into the products, but they may end up in them unintentionally. So remember that when you are inquiring about mainstream products or you are planning on eating out. You will always take the risk of cross contamination.

That being said as well, you will find that many or most of the celiac disease and DH sufferers on this web-site dine out and eat mainstream "gluten not intentionally added products" and don't mind the risk involved. :rolleyes:

Have fun with the fruit and berries :lol:


Hi there, thanks for the information. It makes sense. I'm not sure I could give up my Tim Horton's.... if I don't feel better soon, I might have to! Today, I'm off to buy a new toaster that the rest of my family will not be allowed to use... :ph34r:
  • 0
Tanya

Canadian eh and new to all of this!
DH Diagnosed December 20, 2006
Waiting on Gatro appt. until April!

#5 LL04

LL04

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 10 January 2007 - 12:32 AM

Hi there, thanks for the information. It makes sense. I'm not sure I could give up my Tim Horton's.... if I don't feel better soon, I might have to! Today, I'm off to buy a new toaster that the rest of my family will not be allowed to use... :ph34r:


Don't forget a cutting board, use your own butter and any other food item that your family may feel like putting their own cutlery into after it's touched a piece of bread or other non gluten-free item (ex. jam, peanut butter, pickles, mayo, cheese etc....) I used to mark all my food but we found it just easier for me to take a door pocket in the fridge and use it exclusively for my stuff. It was easier for the kids to learn that they were not to touch anything that was in that pocket. Beware of cross contamination from dish cloths and tea towels that have been used to wipe crumbs from tables or counters. Also, check to make sure any soaps, shampoos, conditioners, body washes, makeup or other beauty products that you use do not contain gluten. I see you are very new to this so I'm not sure what kind of info you got at the beginning. If you're like me, you'd never heard of celiac disease or DH before you were diagnosed and the doctor told you to "avoid gluten" and promptly left without explaining how serious or how EXACTLY you are to go about avoiding it. So sorry if these are things you already know, I just want to make sure that you've got some info to go on before you accidently glutenize yourself because you didn't know.

By the way...did you come up with an answer for the yogurt question?
  • 0
Lauralee
Diagnosed Celiac's March/05
Diagnosed Lyme Disease March/07
2 out of 4 children gluten intolerant
husband not tested
whole family gluten free

If it's not made in a dedicated gluten free environment, it's NOT gluten free...it's "gluten not intentionally added!!!"

#6 mamatide

mamatide

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 230 posts

Posted 10 January 2007 - 05:17 AM

By the way...did you come up with an answer for the yogurt question?



For what it's worth, my Daughter was glutened eating Tim Horton's yogurt and fruit.

:-(
  • 0

#7 LL04

LL04

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 10 January 2007 - 11:17 AM

For what it's worth, my Daughter was glutened eating Tim Horton's yogurt and fruit.

:-(


Okay just for everyone's information I just called Tim Hortons and they said that the yogurt and berries is gluten free HOWEVER,she also said the product is shipped in bulk to each individual store where they open it and portion it out themselves into each individual container. SOOOOOOOOOO I would have to say that if you eat this product you take a VERY GOOD chance that it will be cross contaminated!! This is why Tim Hortons discourages people with allergies or intolerances from eating there.

What about McDonald's fruit and berries? I wonder if it's gluten not intentionally added and if it comes in bulk to each individual store or if it comes already preportioned?? Perhaps that could be a good substitute?
  • 0
Lauralee
Diagnosed Celiac's March/05
Diagnosed Lyme Disease March/07
2 out of 4 children gluten intolerant
husband not tested
whole family gluten free

If it's not made in a dedicated gluten free environment, it's NOT gluten free...it's "gluten not intentionally added!!!"

#8 Felidae

Felidae

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,098 posts

Posted 10 January 2007 - 11:50 AM

What about McDonald's fruit and berries? I wonder if it's gluten not intentionally added and if it comes in bulk to each individual store or if it comes already preportioned?? Perhaps that could be a good substitute?

The McDonalds one has granola on top. I don't know if the granola comes in a separate package.
  • 0
Tapioca intolerant
First cousin dx'd with Celiac Disease
Grandmother died of malnutrition b/c everything made her sick... sounds like celiac to me.
Gluten-free since June 2005
Dx with IBS February 2005
Blood tests both negative (or inconclusive?) for celiac (in 2002 and 2004)

#9 LL04

LL04

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 10 January 2007 - 08:55 PM

The McDonalds one has granola on top. I don't know if the granola comes in a separate package.


In Canada the granola is on top in a seperate, sealed container.
  • 0
Lauralee
Diagnosed Celiac's March/05
Diagnosed Lyme Disease March/07
2 out of 4 children gluten intolerant
husband not tested
whole family gluten free

If it's not made in a dedicated gluten free environment, it's NOT gluten free...it's "gluten not intentionally added!!!"

#10 2wheels4eyes

2wheels4eyes

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 46 posts

Posted 10 January 2007 - 09:19 PM

I hope this is the right place for this. tim hortons is sort of a restaurant.
Anyway, does anyone know if tim horton's yogurt and berries are gluten free?
It would be something i could get when i'm out and craving fast food. If it's gluten free that is.


I was in Canada over the holiday (I'm from Kitchener originally) and ended up in a car full of starving folks who decided to go through Tim's for lunch. My work around: ordering a "sandwich" minus the bread, and the sauces--and I asked for the cheese, etc. to still be individually wrapped, etc. so I could at least limit CC. I didn't realise the turkey wasn't real turkey (duh) but lunch meat so ended up just eating the cheese (don't know if it was gluten-free or not) and lettuce.

Of course--the drive-through person thought I was nuts, or joking with them. Ended up going up to the pick up counter and explaining the situation to them. They were very accommodating. However--I'd probably avoid eating a sandwichless sandwich again.

Coffee remains gluten-free!
  • 0

#11 Rusla

Rusla

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,350 posts

Posted 10 January 2007 - 10:07 PM

I talked to Tim Hortons. All drinks, including hot chocolate, all yogurt, chili and turkey and wild rice soups are gluten-free. Now I have had the chili and the soup it is excellent and I did not get poisoned. However, one has to be aware that the building is full of gluten so you could get some in it by accident.
  • 0
Rusla

Asthma-1969
wheat/ dairy allergies, lactose/casein intolerance-1980
Multiple food, environmental allergies
allergic to all antibiotics except sulpha
Rheumitoid arthritis,Migraine headaches,TMJ- 1975
fibromyalgia-1995
egg allergy-1997
msg allergy,gall bladder surgery-1972
Skin Biopsy positive DH-Dec.1 2005, confirmed celiac disease
gluten-free totally since Nov. 28, 2005
Hashimoto's Hypothyroidism- 2005
Pernicious Anemia 1999 (still anemic on and off.)
Osteoporosis Aug. 2006


Creative people need maids.

#12 Elaine Allen

Elaine Allen

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 28 May 2007 - 03:32 PM

I hope this is the right place for this. tim hortons is sort of a restaurant.
Anyway, does anyone know if tim horton's yogurt and berries are gluten free?
It would be something i could get when i'm out and craving fast food. If it's gluten free that is.



I have been told by the owner of Tim Horton's here in Ashland, Ky. that the yoguart with Berries is gluten free.
  • 0

#13 dally099

dally099

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts

Posted 28 May 2007 - 04:25 PM

hi there, i have had the yogurt at timmies often and never had a problem, i knew about the turkey and wild rice soup but the chili is gluten free as well! :D i just love the smell in there and to know that i can grab something hot when we are forced to eat out is awsome.
  • 0

Nadine
mom of 4 great kids - 2 diagnosed with autism and 2 typical kids (thank goodness)
all this started after my hysterectomy in March of 2006
G.F. since Feb 2007
Soy free since April 2007
Blood work was negatvie (after 2 weeks of being on the gluten-free diet)

entrolab results:
Antigliadin 9 (normal <10)
HLA-DQB1 Allele 1 - 0302
HLA-DQB2 Allele 2 - 0502
HLA-DQ 3,1 (subtype 8,5)
carrying one celiac gene and one gluten intolerant gene
nurse at entrolab figures i caught this early and dont eat gluten anymore


life is like a box of chocolates;sometimes you get stuck with the yukky coconut fillet one


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: