Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

"wheat Gluten Free"?


  • Please log in to reply

5 replies to this topic

#1 SharonF

 
SharonF

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts
 

Posted 02 September 2004 - 11:40 AM

I found some soup at SuperTarget under the name "Carb Tastic." The label looks pretty safe to me--it's broccoli cheese soup, and it looks like they used potato flakes as the thickening agent.

At the end it says "wheat gluten free." I don't know if I should be excited to find broccoli cheddar soup that's gluten free, or if it's "wheat" gluten free but it's packed with glutens from other sources.

I'm new at all this, and I appreciate all your help.
  • 0
Mom of 3
Diagnosed celiac August 2004

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 02 September 2004 - 11:58 AM

http://www.fantastic...refs.php#gluten

This website has a list of their gluten-free products. Unfortunately, the one you picked up isn't on the list. Maybe it has barley in the natural flavors?

Many more companies are starting to address gluten at their websites. Look for the nutrition page or the FAQ.

richard
  • 0

#3 SharonF

 
SharonF

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts
 

Posted 02 September 2004 - 12:07 PM

It's "broccoli cheddar", which, if the same as "creamy broccoli cheddar", IS on that list.

Thanks for the link!
  • 0
Mom of 3
Diagnosed celiac August 2004

#4 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 02 September 2004 - 02:13 PM

I would probably avoid it. It might still have barley gluten, rye gluten, or oat gluten. Of course, you can always try calling the company and finding out what they put in it!
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#5 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 02 September 2004 - 03:07 PM

Eiew.......I don't like the sound of wheat gluten free.........wheat/gluten free is a different story, but I think it's horribly sneaky to do that if it contains other glutens such as rye gluten, barley gluten, etc......if that is the case, that's a really malicious thing to do to people who NEED to avoid this stuff for health reasons. I hope that it really is gluten-free and they're not trying to pull the wool over your eyes.....
  • 0

#6 SharonF

 
SharonF

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2004 - 11:28 AM

Well, I tried it, and it was gross regardless of whether it has gluten or not. Guess it won't be a worry! :lol:
  • 0
Mom of 3
Diagnosed celiac August 2004




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: