Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Hydrolized Corn Gluten


  • Please log in to reply

7 replies to this topic

#1 brbchaw

 
brbchaw

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 03 September 2004 - 11:15 AM

Does anyone know what this is or if it is safe for celiac?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 03 September 2004 - 11:27 AM

It's safe. Corn does have gluten but it is not a problem for people with celiac.

richard
  • 0

#3 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 03 September 2004 - 12:56 PM

Technically, gluten is a generic term for any protein in a grain. So, the protein that corn has, is *technically* called gluten. But we commonly use gluten (around here, particularly, to refer to wheat, rye, barley, and oat gluten specifically. Corn gluten is fine for celiacs (who don't also have a corn intolerance ;-) ).
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#4 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 03 September 2004 - 03:06 PM

Interesting.........that sort of confused me, too.......that a corn gluten could be gluten-free......I would've immediately thought that it was bad, kind of like one might think that buckwheat or maltodextrin is bad.
  • 0

#5 BRCoats

 
BRCoats

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
 

Posted 03 September 2004 - 08:27 PM

Yeah, welcome to the English language!! HA!! :lol:

Brenda
  • 0
~Brenda

Celiac, gastroparesis, PCOD, heart problems, pacemaker.

Diagnosed 7-12-04 via bloodwork. Never had a biopsy, doc didn't think it was necessary (said I would know just by going gluten-free).

gluten-free two weeks after diagnosis (and my last bag of Oreos). :-)

#6 kirst4588

 
kirst4588

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
 

Posted 05 September 2004 - 06:26 PM

some maltodextrine *is* bad, you have to check with the manufactorer to see if it is derived from wheat or corn - unless they have already voluntarilly adhered to the new legislation for labeling and put the source in parenthesis
  • 0

#7 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2004 - 01:47 AM

No, you're correct; it can be bad, it's just that you might incorreclty assume from the ingredient, whose name contains both malt (a gluten-containing ingredient) and dextrin (possibly a gluten-containing ingredient) that the actual ingredient contains either of those and therefore isn't gluten-free. Although maltodextrin can contain gluten, it can also be gluten-free......I was just using it as an example of one of those ingredients that you might think is bad from the name, sort of like the one discussed here, corn gluten.
  • 0

#8 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2004 - 01:54 AM

Oh, by the way, I just looked up maltodextrin on the site....I didn't realize this, but now (don't think it was this way before), it IS gluten-free for sure in the USA (don't know what is the deal in Canada) unless in vitamins....here is what I got from celiac.com:

8) Maltodextrin is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by partial hydrolysis of corn starch or potato starch with safe and suitable acids and enzymes. (1) Maltodextrin, when listed on food sold in the USA, must be (per FDA regulation) made from corn or potato. This rule does NOT apply to vitamin or mineral supplements and medications. (2) Donald Kasarda Ph.D., a research chemist specializing on grain proteins, of the United States Department of Agriculture, found that all maltodextrins in the USA are made from corn starch, using enzymes that are NOT derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats. On that basis he believes that celiacs need not be too concerned about maltodextrins, though he cautions that there is no guarantee that a manufacturer won't change their process to use wheat starch or a gluten-based enzyme in the future.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: