Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Hydrolized Corn Gluten
0

8 posts in this topic

Does anyone know what this is or if it is safe for celiac?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

It's safe. Corn does have gluten but it is not a problem for people with celiac.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Technically, gluten is a generic term for any protein in a grain. So, the protein that corn has, is *technically* called gluten. But we commonly use gluten (around here, particularly, to refer to wheat, rye, barley, and oat gluten specifically. Corn gluten is fine for celiacs (who don't also have a corn intolerance ;-) ).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting.........that sort of confused me, too.......that a corn gluten could be gluten-free......I would've immediately thought that it was bad, kind of like one might think that buckwheat or maltodextrin is bad.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, welcome to the English language!! HA!! :lol:

Brenda

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




some maltodextrine *is* bad, you have to check with the manufactorer to see if it is derived from wheat or corn - unless they have already voluntarilly adhered to the new legislation for labeling and put the source in parenthesis

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, you're correct; it can be bad, it's just that you might incorreclty assume from the ingredient, whose name contains both malt (a gluten-containing ingredient) and dextrin (possibly a gluten-containing ingredient) that the actual ingredient contains either of those and therefore isn't gluten-free. Although maltodextrin can contain gluten, it can also be gluten-free......I was just using it as an example of one of those ingredients that you might think is bad from the name, sort of like the one discussed here, corn gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, by the way, I just looked up maltodextrin on the site....I didn't realize this, but now (don't think it was this way before), it IS gluten-free for sure in the USA (don't know what is the deal in Canada) unless in vitamins....here is what I got from celiac.com:

8) Maltodextrin is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by partial hydrolysis of corn starch or potato starch with safe and suitable acids and enzymes. (1) Maltodextrin, when listed on food sold in the USA, must be (per FDA regulation) made from corn or potato. This rule does NOT apply to vitamin or mineral supplements and medications. (2) Donald Kasarda Ph.D., a research chemist specializing on grain proteins, of the United States Department of Agriculture, found that all maltodextrins in the USA are made from corn starch, using enzymes that are NOT derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats. On that basis he believes that celiacs need not be too concerned about maltodextrins, though he cautions that there is no guarantee that a manufacturer won't change their process to use wheat starch or a gluten-based enzyme in the future.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0