Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Maltodextrin?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 sallyrose

sallyrose

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 September 2004 - 04:14 PM

Does anyone know what maltodextrin and dextrose are made from? Are they gluten-free?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 celiac3270

celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts

Posted 06 September 2004 - 04:22 PM

From the celiac.com website:

8) Maltodextrin is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by partial hydrolysis of corn starch or potato starch with safe and suitable acids and enzymes. (1) Maltodextrin, when listed on food sold in the USA, must be (per FDA regulation) made from corn or potato. This rule does NOT apply to vitamin or mineral supplements and medications. (2) Donald Kasarda Ph.D., a research chemist specializing on grain proteins, of the United States Department of Agriculture, found that all maltodextrins in the USA are made from corn starch, using enzymes that are NOT derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats. On that basis he believes that celiacs need not be too concerned about maltodextrins, though he cautions that there is no guarantee that a manufacturer won't change their process to use wheat starch or a gluten-based enzyme in the future.



Here's another link, to the safe list of ingredients......dextrose is one of them, I know it's safe....I think it's sugar

Both are gluten-free
  • 0

#3 Kim

Kim

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts

Posted 09 September 2004 - 02:47 PM

For products manufactured outside the US, maltodextrin could be an issue and should be checked with the manufacturer.

Kim.
  • 0

#4 cojaro

cojaro

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 21 September 2004 - 07:30 AM

i always thought that it depended on what the product was, whether maltodextrin was gluten-free or not

just check and make sure for each product, doesnt hurt to call the manufacturer
  • 0

#5 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts

Posted 21 September 2004 - 07:50 AM

Food products with maltodextrin are not a problme. Medications could be. At
least that's my understanding.

richard
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: