#1 mastevano

mastevano

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 January 2007 - 12:02 PM

Hello Everyone!

I am newbie here! This is a wonderful forum w/tons of good info.

Anyway, about 2 years ago, I started feeling a lot of tightness in my lungs/chest area - almost a suffocating feeling. It felt like an elephant was always standing on my chest, or like someone stuffed my lungs with cotton balls. It took my a while to figure out what was wrong w/me. Eventually I found out it was a gluten intolerance.....but I'm still trying to figure it out.

I just came back from a 10 day trip to Argentina where I at bread with every meal....and had no issues! The day I got back I ate a bagel and felt HORRIBLE! That feeling in my chest came back and it didn't go away for a few days.

Does anyone know why I could eat bread in Argentina and not here in the US?? I'm starting to think that maybe it isn't a Gluten Intolerance but some sort of other intolerance (preservatives, or something like that). If anyone has any feedback it would be great!

Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lorka150

lorka150

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,476 posts

Posted 24 January 2007 - 09:19 PM

Could it be a different type of grain?
Have you been tested? You might get more luck in the Coping With category! Good luck.
Gluten-free, Vegan

#3 Nantzie

Nantzie

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,667 posts

Posted 24 January 2007 - 10:50 PM

I was thinking the same thing as Lorka. Wondering if it was a different type of grain; a no- or low-gluten grain maybe? I know a lot of people here have enjoyed Chebe bread, which is a tapioca (manioc) bread common in Brazil. www.chebe.com

Or maybe you're having an issue with more super-processed US baked goods rather than unprocessed homemade baked goods.