Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Wine Barrel Contamination?
0

10 posts in this topic

Here's a link to a description of wine barrel making:

http://www.mastergardenproducts.com/barrelsmade.htm

Note the following toward the end:

"The cooper then finishes the assembly of his barrel. The body is set up and the heads fitted into the crozes that have been coated with a paste of wheat flour. Then comes the final hooping, put in place with a large mallet."

Anyone know if this matters? How could it not????

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I don't know anything about wine making, and never drink any wine (or other alcohol), because I simply hate the taste, and can't tolerate alcohol.

But it seems to me that it should matter that they coat the crozes (whatever those exactly are) with wheat flour, if it comes into direct contact with the wine.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I can reply with is that of all the celiacs I know who drink wine, none have ever suspected being glutened by it.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was warned of this by a wine maker. It was either Kendall Jackson or Robert Mondavi, I can't remember which. They explained it to me when I called inquiring whether their wines were gluten free. I, however, have never gotten sick from wine. Well, not gluten sick anyway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know that small home-grown wine makers in the US usually use stainless steel. I know the larger type wine makers use the barrels.I think I would be concerned if I was totally sensitive. This would be a good product to have checked out. We make & bottle our own wine so that way we have no issue with it. Winemaking is very simple...

mamaw

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




More likely wine contamination problems could come from fining agents or sulphites in wines. After I was diagnosed with egg and dairy allergies, I learned the winemakers use gelatin or skim milk (casein) or egg whites or inorganic substances to 'purify' their wines. Those 'fining' agents attract foreign bodies and then sink to the bottom of the barrel before wine is poured off. However those who are sensitive to eggs or dairy can still react to stray proteins in the wines. 'Fining' is an 'industry' standard and few wineries will reveal which agents they consistently use. Even nonalcoholic wine makers use fining agents. The Ariel company uses both egg white and/or casein on a wine by wine basis. Also people who are sensitive to sulphites may react to sulphites in some wines.

However there are sulphite free wines available. Also there are 'vegan' or 'unrefined' wines which do not use organic fining agents like dairy, eggs or gelatin. I found 3 unrefined wines at my local Whole Foods, but those were each $10-15. That's pricey if you drink wine every night. However I had resigned myself to drinking sparkling apple juices and really missed wine before I found vegan wines.

BURDEE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I react to small quantities of gluten, but have never had any problems with wine. I have not heard of any other celiacs having a gluten-related problem with wine. It is not something I worry about; I just consider wine a safe beverage choice.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am a frequent wine-drinker, and have no problems at all. In fact I worked for a winery for four years...I would think that the wheat-paste would not be a factor at all after the first fermentation....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am a frequent wine-drinker, and have no problems at all. In fact I worked for a winery for four years...I would think that the wheat-paste would not be a factor at all after the first fermentation....

Can you elaborate a little more on "after the first fermentation?" Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Can you elaborate a little more on "after the first fermentation?" Thanks!

Wine barrels are reused for years (and by years, I mean decades, if they can get that). IIRC from the wine tours I've been on*, There is a active market for *old* barrels that are still in good condition. Old = good in wine, and wine barrels. :P They do get replaced for age eventually, and for damage more often, but they are used for a long time.

*I'm not a big wine fan - I dislike most wines. But I know a bunch of budding wine connosieurs, and have had two "friend-of-an-aquaintance"s with their own small wineries which have gotten me tours. For someone who doesn't drink wine, doesn't tour wineries, and doesn't go sampling or reading about wine much, I've learned more than I'd ever though I would about the process. :rolleyes:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,115
    • Total Posts
      919,447
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
    • I'm glad I found these forums!  I will spend some more time this evening reading through them.  But I wanted to get my question out there just to see if anyone else might have answers quicker than I can sift through the forum for them.      I've been feeling terrible for about a year, and after an elimination diet last month, figured out that if nothing else, gluten/wheat is a problem.  After lots of research, I abandoned the elimination diet and added gluten back in, so that I could get tested for Celiac.   I was off gluten for 3 weeks, from mid-June until early July.  I've had it back in my diet for almost 3 weeks now.    My question is this: Since I was off gluten for 3 weeks, and now back on for almost 3, is that enough time on to yield a positive Celiac blood test, if that indeed is what I have?  All the research I've done says 4-6 weeks for a gluten challenge, but is that really necessary if I was only not eating it for 3 weeks?  I am desperate to get this testing done and over with.  I feel terrible all the time and getting through the day is a struggle.  My doctor ran allergy panels already and everything came back clear except for a mild wheat allergy.  So if nothing else, I'll have to give up wheat for sure at the end of all this.  I get the feeling she doesn't know a ton about Celiac though, so I'm doing a lot of the research on my own. Any advice or information would be so appreciated! 
    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
    • Finally, proof that non-celiac gluten sensitivity is real. ... for the 30 percent of consumers who choose to buy gluten-free products and the 41 percent of ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined