Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

"bush's Best"- Baked Beans - Safe
0

14 posts in this topic

I don't know if this was already posted or not, but I just bought a can of my favorite baked beans because the ingredients looked safe, but I emailed them just to be sure. Here is their response...

Thank you for contacting us.

As of this date, all of our BUSH'S BEST products are gluten-free with the exception of our BUSH'S BEST Chili Beans, our BUSH'S Chili Magic Chili Starter line, and our Bush's Homestyle Chili line.

We do use corn starch in some of our products, but it does not contain gliadin gluten from wheat, barley, oats, or rye grains which may cause adverse responses in persons suffering from Celiac Sprue. In addition, any vinegar used in our products is corn-based and distilled.

I hope this information is helpful. Please keep in mind that we are constantly expanding our product line and may add new products that contain potential allergens. Additional ingredient information can be found in the ingredients listing on the label or by checking the "Product Q&A" section of our web site. If you are still unsure, please email us via our web site: www.bushbeans.com.

Sincerely,

Teesee Moore

Consumer Relations Coordinator

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Thanks KrisT :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It may not be homemade, but they are good! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got the exact same, verbatim response from a Ms. Kenna Hess, Customer Relations Coordinator in June 2008.

Now go read the labels of Bush's Best Honey flavored beans along with the Boston Baked Beans flavor. You'll clearly note MODIFIED FOOD STARCH (not corn starch) as an ingredient. No corn specification is made and in more cases than not, that means flour or GLUTEN! In the Bush's response above, it's stated that they use corn starch in SOME of their products. They're not saying they use corn starch in all products other than the chili lines.

This suggests that Bush's Best representatives will send out their template rubber stamp response to anyone using the word "GLUTEN" without knowing their products or the facts. I pray I'm wrong, but in too many cases, modified food starch means flour, which means gluten.

So, it would appear that you have more to avoid than their Chili flavors and while we're at it... are they processing the gluten filled beans on the same line(s) as the alleged gluten free flavors?

If you are anywhere near a Wegman's, they have the guts to clearly state "Gluten Free" on their beans (labels) which, by the way, taste just as good (if not better) and cost less. You won't find modified food starch in their ingredients!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Modified Food Starch is safe for those with Celiac. The only instance it would not be is if it said "Modified Food Starch - Wheat".

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




WHAT!? You have to be kidding!

Modified Food Stach = FLOUR (as in wheat). I have heard about wheat being a "top 8 allergen" and some legal requirements to list allergens (as of recent legislation) but I have been warned that "modified food starch," at least as of now, meets that requirement because it is so vastly presumed to consist of wheat based flour.

Otherwise, I belive you have it backwards. Modified food starch is presumed to be wheat unless it's specified otherwise, i.e. if it's not wheat or flour, it might read, "modified corn starch."

If you can prove me wrong, I would actually be very happy and relieved. But I have been told by food manufacturers and doctors (and have seen plastered throughout this very website) that MFS = wheat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Modified food starch can be from any starch. Modified food starch itself does not equal wheat. Flour does not equal wheat.

wheat, potato, corn, tapioca, rice, (etc) are some examples.

The FDA Allergy Labeling Law requires that any of the 8 main allergens (wheat is one) be listed. If it says Modified Food Starch, and does not list wheat, then it is safe.

Here is some more info on the allergen labeling law that you may find useful : http://americanceliac.org/ACDA%20Food%20La...011-05Final.pdf

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Providing some more info, as there is a lot of outdated information ---- because laws and regulations change.

From the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness: http://www.celiaccentral.org/What_is_Celia.../67/vobId__216/

"Thankfully, new legislation requires that by the year 2006, manufacturers must clearly list wheat as an ingredient, even if it is in the form of another ingredient (e.g., modified food starch)."

Also:

From gluten free living magazine http://glutenfreeliving.com/ingredient.php#modifiedfood

"Modified food starch

An ingredient made from a variety of starches. Modified food starch is gluten free unless it is made from wheat. If modified food starch is made from wheat, "wheat" will appear on the label. Also, more and more companies are listing all sources of modified food starch voluntarily."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wheat is an allergen that can cause anaphylaxis and death. There is no minimum acceptable amount.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

006,

What you heard about MFS is outdated/incorrect information. Happygirl is absolutely right--if MFS is made from wheat, it would have to be listed as such on the label. If just "modified food starch" appears, you can rest assured that ingredient is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://www.celiaccentral.org/What_is_Celia...By/67/vobId__21 - sorry this link did not work, but I copied and pasted.

Modified Food Starch: Modified food starch can be derived from many sources: corn, tapioca, potato, wheat, or other starches. Most modified food starch in North America is derived from non-gluten-containing sources. It is still prudent, however, to check with the manufacturer, asking from what source the modified food starch is derived.

Laura posted some great information! I usually don't worry about MFS.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Under the US law effective January 1, 2006, wheat must be disclosed by the word "wheat." No other words are acceptable under the law. Even ordinary flour must be labeled as "wheat flour," "flour (wheat)" or a statement under the ingredients in the same size type stating "Contains: Wheat." There is no minimum which can be overlooked.

Rye, barley and oats can still be hidden legally, but many major companies voluntarily disclose all gluten sources. Kraft is one such company.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I spoke with a Director of Compliance at Bush Bros and he did guarantee me that all Bush's best flavors other than the Chili line is gluten free. He said his MFS is corn based. What a relief. Fair is fair so I felt very compelled to make this update and happily admit that I was wrong.

I can't let the response about flour not being wheat go, however. I think that respondant should get the point. The most popular all purpose flour out there is wheat based. Any grocery store isle will confirm that when you see the quantity of wheat derived flour dwarfing all other sources.

Nonetheless, I learned something here and it's encouraging. I am still going to question companies on MFS to be sure.

Thank you all for the replies!!

And, praises to Bush's Best for calling me and taking the time to provide assurances. I ate the Bush's Best black beans today!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I can't let the response about flour not being wheat go, however. I think that respondant should get the point. The most popular all purpose flour out there is wheat based. Any grocery store isle will confirm that when you see the quantity of wheat derived flour dwarfing all other sources.

There are two separate issues here--"flour" listed as an ingredient must be followed by the word "wheat" if it is indeed from wheat.

The fact that there is primarily wheat flour in the baking aisle in the supermarket is something else altogether. One has nothing to do with the other.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,918
    • Total Posts
      919,629
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Weird things people have said
      You are right Dania, you cannot have "mild Coelic" disease and you cannot eat "a bit of gluten here and there" if you've been gluten free for a while. Coelic disease is a lifetime commitment to being gluten free, even if you don't have symptoms, it is still damaging the villi in the gut, which can lead to more serious health problems, (not that Coelic disease is not serious, because it is).  Some people may question whether it is safe to use the same colander as those cooking gluten, but it depends how well it is washed up as it is quite easy to miss bits. Personally, I bought a new one and I would definitely not use the same sieve as the mesh is far too tight not to collect  small amounts of gluten. I'm not too surprised at doctors not knowing all they should know about Coelic disease, it's the same here in the UK where Coelic UK actually advise doctors on the disease. 
    • Depression / anxiety issues
      Hi Chris, haven't had a chance to read the whole conversation but regarding dairy, if you are suspicious of something, drop it for some time and see. You are still healing so maybe dairy is bothering you now. Also look at the nightshades, corn, dairy, soy, and eggs. I had a horrible time last year. I had muscle twitches, brain fog, pain, was tired,etc. I searched online and decided to drop all of those things I mentioned above. I am not sure what bothered me since I dropped them all at once but i slowly began feeling better. Now, i reintroduced eggs again and sometimes have lactose free milk with my coffee. I recommend eating salmon, tuna, bone broth soups, using olive oil and coconut oil and not eating much or not at all processed food even if it is marked gluten free.
    • Weird things people have said
      I've had people say strange things about celiac to me lately... Like someone said, "Oh I'm just a mild celiac so I don't have to worry about cross-contamination." And then someone else said that they're celiac but things have calmed down now so they can have a bit of gluten here and there. And I told my doctor that back in 2014 I thought I had been gluten free but I actually wasn't because I had been repeatedly glutening myself with an old colander. And he just looked at me like I was insane, like a colander?? Sure... I'm not crazy, right? Even if you have no symptoms you have to avoid cross-contamination because you can be doing damage internally right? You can never have 'just a bit'. And a colander is a big source of cross-contamination right?? I know all this but why do these other people not? Why does my doctor not know? So confusing and spreading misinformation... And then they look at me like *I'M* crazy.
    • fructose malabsorption and gluten intolerant
      Look up FODMAPS.   That might clarify things for you.  There really are a lot of diet recommendations so make sure you bring a list of questions regarding foods to your doctor's  and dietician's appointments.  
    • Recovery?
      Thank you for sharing those web sites. I will look at them. We have been gluten free since December so it's been a while. Once, he had a gluten free beer, the kind that they take the gluten out, and his legs felt very heavy and had a more difficult time walking. I really don't want to experiment.  Although I am very careful about what we eat, I am concerned that some of our medication could contain gluten. Is there any easier way to tell if medication has gluten. I did find a website which listed drugs and known gluten but every drug was on it or was determined to be gluten free
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • Jmg  »  admin

      Hello Admin!
      I don't know whether this is of interest to post on your articles feed:
      http://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/window-guts-brain
      Kind Regards,
      Matt
      · 2 replies
    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,963
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Tams67
    Joined