Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Taco Sauce
0

10 posts in this topic

Okay. I LOVE mexican food. I love Ortega Taco Sauce. I went to B&G foods, and their Ortega products ARE NOT listed in their gluten-free list (cheering for them for even having one!). BOOO HOOO!!!

My two faves are the Mild and the Chipotle ones....any suggestions for replacements?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Chi-Chi's Taco Sauce

Newman's Taco Sauce ...both gluten free

I am certain that there are many others, but just off the top of my head.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found this on their website:

Q. Do you have a gluten free list for Ortega products?

A. Ortega has been following a strict labeling policy with regard to any allergens in our foods and incoming ingredients.

We have insisted that our suppliers notify us if gluten is used in any of their ingredients and yet is not declared on their labeling. Thus, we believe we have uncovered any potential use of gluten containing ingredients.

Therefore, any Ortega product is fully labeled for any presence of gluten or gluten containing ingredients. We find that this statement is much easier than our trying to maintain a gluten free product list.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use Ortega all the time, no problems. I actually made Taco's last night.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most fresh salsa's are gluten-free. Add some Louisiana hot sauce... yum!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I use Ortega all the time, no problems. I actually made Taco's last night.

THANKS! Just after I posted I got the reply from B&G foods. IF you go on the website the Ortega products are not listed. BUT their customer service sent me an email that stated that ALL Ortega products are gluten free. ALL of them. There is not wheat, wheat derivitatives or "gluten" containing flours (ie. barley, rye, etc) used in ANY Ortega line. Including spice mixes!

Check me out! Doing a HAPPY DANCE!!!!

We are having Chipotle Creamed Chicken in Corn tortillas for dinner tomorrow night! YEEEEEHAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ortega is a brand that have a policy to clearly label gluten sources in the ingredient list on their products. You can read the label and know if the product is suitable for the gluten-free diet.

My list of companies/brands that can be relied upon to disclose gluten clearly has been posted many times here, but here it is again:

Arrowhead Mills, Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Bertoli, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, ConAgra, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Lawry's, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, Maxwell House, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Ragu, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Skippy, Smucker, Stokely's, Sunny Delight, T Marzetti, Tyson, Unilever, Wishbone, Yoplait, Zatarain's.

Most of these companies will not guarantee their products to be gluten-free, due to possible cross-contamination including ingredients that they buy from some other company. But I don't let that worry me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ortega is a brand that have a policy to clearly label gluten sources in the ingredient list on their products. You can read the label and know if the product is suitable for the gluten-free diet.

My list of companies/brands that can be relied upon to disclose gluten clearly has been posted many times here, but here it is again:

Arrowhead Mills, Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Bertoli, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, ConAgra, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hershey, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Lawry's, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, Maxwell House, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Ragu, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Skippy, Smucker, Stokely's, Sunny Delight, T Marzetti, Tyson, Unilever, Wishbone, Yoplait, Zatarain's.

The label will state "Gluten - Free"? I don't have to go through all the ingredients looking for things like edible starch or hydrolyzed wheat protein? Sorry if this questions been asked before - I'm new here. :rolleyes: Thanks!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hershey's in the U.S. has actually changed their policy -- they no longer claim that they disclose all gluten. So, you do need to verify particular products with them rather than rely on the ingredient list.

Cottage Soul -- if a compnay says that they will disclose all gluten in the ingredient list, the product does not necessarily say "gluten-free". You still need to read the ingredient label -- it generally means that these companies will indicate the presence of barley, rye or oats as an ingredient by using one of those words, instead of simply saying, for example, "natural flavors" (all companies now need to disclose wheat). For example, Jello is a Kraft company -- if you read the ingredient label of their pudding cup, and the words wheat, rye, barley or oats don't appear, then the product is not supposed to have a gluten containing ingredient in it. This does NOT mean that the products have been tested for their gluten levels, so depending on the product I suppose there could be potential cross contamination issues. For companies that don't claim to disclose all gluten, you do need to contact them to find out what ingredients such as "natural flavors" contain.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The label will state "Gluten - Free"? I don't have to go through all the ingredients looking for things like edible starch or hydrolyzed wheat protein? Sorry if this questions been asked before - I'm new here. :rolleyes: Thanks!!

No, the label will not say "gluten-free." However, these companies will use clear words to disclose gluten. Look for the words wheat, rye, barley and/or oats. If none of these words appear in the ingredient list, then there is no gluten in the product. These companies will not hide gluten with obscure or ambiguous words.

Most of these companies will not claim that they can guarantee the gluten-free status of anything. Too many lawsuits have left them gunshy.

I'm not sure about Hershey; they had a problem recently in Canada with a contaminated ingredient which may have made them even more reluctant to make any claims. (It wasn't gluten. It was salmonella.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,345
    • Total Posts
      920,488
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Karen, the iodine test was a test for DH used in the 'olden' days. Iodine would be swabbed onto a spot and then it would be covered with a bandage. If someone had DH the iodined area would break out in lesions. I don't know how but we do know iodine can activate the antibodies. That is why some of us with DH have to avoid iodine in foods until the antibodies have cleared the dermis. OP, if you haven't been tested for celiac you should be and if you have active lesions a biopsy done next to a lesion by a DH knowledgable dermatologist may help in diagnosis.
    • The gluten-free diet (GFD) is the only validated treatment for celiac disease (celiac disease), but despite strict adherence, complete mucosal recovery is rarely ... View the full article
    • What's an " iodine test"?  Haven't heard doctors doing that to diagnose DH.
    • Hello! I've just been given my blood results and told they are highly suggestive of coeliacs but will have to wait till next month to see the gastroenterologist and who knows how much longer for a biopsy. My igA, igG and tissuetrans igA were all over 250 and tissuetrans igG was the only one that was normal. These results don't mean much to me yet but I'm told they are very high. I'm now quite fearful of how much damage I've gone to myself. I've had stomach problems for 25 years (just turned 40) and have often steered clear of too much bread and pasta for how bloated it made me feel but the symptoms were always vague and inconsistent so I kept eating. I had a couple of boats of gastro in the past few months (thanks kids) which I took a lot longer than normal to recover from which looking back may have been related. Then last Friday I had a blowout with wine, cheese, crackers, pizza and chocolate cake. I'm sure I've probably had blowouts like that before but I have never felt so sick before and am still slowly recovering. This is what finally prompted me to go back to my GP after being fobbed off so many times over the years. So I guess my question and my concern is whether there is still  chance of a false positive with levels like this? I worry what else it might be if not coeliac. I'm also worried that I may have done so much damage to myself that I will have several disorders going on! I'm also still recovering from last Friday and wondering when I'm going to feel better. I've stayed off gluten and dairy since my blood result a couple of days ago but feel like I'm allergic to food in general.  Thankyou!!    
    • Here's what the Klondike Bar makers say on the FAQ page of their website (August 2016): Are your products gluten free? Nope. They are not. We have not validated for gluten free. We do not operate allergen-free manufacturing sites, however we do have allergen management programs in all our facilities. The intent of these programs is to avoid unintentional cross-contamination of allergens between products. Our product labels adhere to the FDA’s strict regulations regarding declaration of ingredients and allergens. We do not use the terms “Natural” or “Artificial Flavorings” to hide the existence of any allergens. RECIPES CAN CHANGE. We strongly recommend that allergic consumers refer to ingredient declarations EVERY TIME they purchase processed foods.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,415
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Ails123
    Joined