This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newbie, Just Diagnosed...what Is Normal?

jlynn

jlynn Rookie

Hi everyone,

I was just diagnosed with Celiac Sprue just last week. Blood test was positive, so was edg. :( I am just beginning to get my kitchen de-glutened(sp?). I am using separate pans, utensils, cutting board, etc. But it seems that after everything I eat I feel naucious. I am only eating potatoes, fish, chicken, eggs, some brown rice, and gluten free bread. I just started to add in veggies that are roasted and then pureed to make sure I don't get sick.

My biggest complaint has been diahreah. I was diagnosed with Collagenous Colitis in 2004. I am just wondering with colitis and Sprue will I ever feel better?

Is there just a period when you feel icky?

I must say this sight has been wonderful. I have learned so much already.

thank you so much for any insight.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Lisa Mentor

Since the most doctors are not too familiar with Celiac, they often send us on our ways to fend for ourselves. I find this a terrible thing to do, but it does happen.

Going gluten free if totally overwhelming. Everyone here started at the beginning.

It will take some time for your intestines to heal and the longer you are on the diet the better you will feel.

Gluten hides everywhere. Please check your shampoos, lotions, toothpaste or anything that can get into your mouth.