This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

homicidalknitter

homicidalknitter Newbie

Hello all! As the subject stated, I am new to Celiac/Gluten-free living. I've had intestinal troubles my whole life and can't remember not feeling terrible after eating a meal. I'd previously been diagnosed with IBS, but my family and I continued to research thankfully. When we came upon this, things started to make sense, from the fact that bowl of cereal would hurt my stomach (a seemingly benign food) to the fact that I am the shortest person in my family.

Like I said, I am very new to this, I've only been gluten-free for 3 days now and I have some questions that hopefully can be answered here.

First: I've noticed that in these three days, my stomach as definitly been better than I can ever remember, but still doesn't seem "normal." Does it usually take a while for your system to regulate and if so, on average how long?

Secondly: I woke up with a yeast infection this morning. I am just about to start my period (I know it's normal for women to sometimes get yeast infections right before their period), but also read somewhere about a link with Candida and Celiac, but I am a little confused on the subject. Should I be especially concerned? I'm used to dealing with them on my own, I don't have health insurance and have been getting yeast infections periodically since I was 12 years old (I'm 24 now).